POV-Ray : Newsgroups : povray.macintosh : Povray 3.6 in Mac OS X 10.4.1 Server Time
25 Oct 2021 21:43:00 EDT (-0400)
  Povray 3.6 in Mac OS X 10.4.1 (Message 1 to 10 of 12)  
Goto Latest 10 Messages Next 2 Messages >>>
From: Schwaighofer Clemens
Subject: Povray 3.6 in Mac OS X 10.4.1
Date: 31 May 2005 10:35:23
Message: <gullevek-61457B.23352331052005@news.povray.org>
Hi,

has anyboday already tried to run Povray 3.6 in Tiger? I tried to start 
it, but nothing happens at all.

I also tried MegaPOV and that starts fine. 
lg, Clemens


Post a reply to this message

From: Yvo Smellenbergh
Subject: Re: Povray 3.6 in Mac OS X 10.4.1
Date: 31 May 2005 11:42:30
Message: <1gxft09.1n2d05f18jpulyN%yvo.s@gmx.net>
Schwaighofer Clemens <gul### [at] gullevekorg> wrote:

> has anyboday already tried to run Povray 3.6 in Tiger? I tried to start
> it, but nothing happens at all.
No problem running 3.6 Build 0197 on tiger 10.4.1.
Always useful to try is to trash the preferences and try again. If it
doesn't work either, you can always move the old preferences back.

> 
> I also tried MegaPOV and that starts fine. 
Of course ;-)

Yvo

-----------------------------------
MegaPOV at:  http://megapov.inetart.net
MacMegaPOV at:  http://users.skynet.be/smellenbergh
E-mail: yvo### [at] gmxnet


Post a reply to this message

From: Clemens Schwaighofer
Subject: Re: Povray 3.6 in Mac OS X 10.4.1
Date: 1 Jun 2005 21:02:39
Message: <gullevek-BFAE70.10023902062005@news.povray.org>
In article <1gxft09.1n2d05f18jpulyN%yvo.s@gmx.net>,
 yvo### [at] gmxnet (Yvo Smellenbergh) wrote:

> Schwaighofer Clemens <gul### [at] gullevekorg> wrote:
> 
> > has anyboday already tried to run Povray 3.6 in Tiger? I tried to start
> > it, but nothing happens at all.
> No problem running 3.6 Build 0197 on tiger 10.4.1.
> Always useful to try is to trash the preferences and try again. If it
> doesn't work either, you can always move the old preferences back.

hmm, I did a fresh install, double clicked on the POV-Ray Icon but it 
just loaded the script editor, so I changed it to use the Application 
Loader, but when I double click it, nothing happens.

Do I need some special libs installed? or set special paths in my 
enviroment?

> > 
> > I also tried MegaPOV and that starts fine. 
> Of course ;-)

Well, after POV-Ray doesn't run, and doesn't show anything, I wasn't so 
sure that it runs :)

lg, clemens


Post a reply to this message

From: Thorsten Froehlich
Subject: Re: Povray 3.6 in Mac OS X 10.4.1
Date: 2 Jun 2005 03:00:54
Message: <429eaea6$1@news.povray.org>
Clemens Schwaighofer wrote:
>>No problem running 3.6 Build 0197 on tiger 10.4.1.
>>Always useful to try is to trash the preferences and try again. If it
>>doesn't work either, you can always move the old preferences back.
> 
> hmm, I did a fresh install, double clicked on the POV-Ray Icon but it 
> just loaded the script editor, so I changed it to use the Application 
> Loader, but when I double click it, nothing happens.

What you say makes no sense at all assuming you are talking about the 
official POV-Ray for Mac version.  First of all, there is no installer. 
Second, there is no way that you can change a Mac application "to use the 
Application Loader" as there is no such thing as an "Application Loader", 
whatever that is supposed to be.

So whatever you are doing does simply not make any sense!  At least assuming 
you are really talking about the official Mac version here...

	Thorsten


Post a reply to this message

From: Patrick Elliott
Subject: Re: Povray 3.6 in Mac OS X 10.4.1
Date: 2 Jun 2005 22:25:49
Message: <MPG.1d096ce859549e13989d72@news.povray.org>
In article <gullevek-BFAE70.10023902062005@news.povray.org>, 
gul### [at] gullevekorg says...
> In article <1gxft09.1n2d05f18jpulyN%yvo.s@gmx.net>,
>  yvo### [at] gmxnet (Yvo Smellenbergh) wrote:
> 
> > Schwaighofer Clemens <gul### [at] gullevekorg> wrote:
> > 
> > > has anyboday already tried to run Povray 3.6 in Tiger? I tried to start
> > > it, but nothing happens at all.
> > No problem running 3.6 Build 0197 on tiger 10.4.1.
> > Always useful to try is to trash the preferences and try again. If it
> > doesn't work either, you can always move the old preferences back.
> 
> hmm, I did a fresh install, double clicked on the POV-Ray Icon but it 
> just loaded the script editor, so I changed it to use the Application 
> Loader, but when I double click it, nothing happens.
> 
I think you are confused. POVRay is not a modeller. It has a script 
editing portion and a render engine that takes the script, parses it and 
generates an image from it. The only graphical modelling interfaces, 
which is what 'most' 3D apps have, are third party applications. I have 
no idea which one is the best for the MAC though.

-- 
void main () {

    call functional_code()
  else
    call crash_windows();
}


Post a reply to this message

From: Clemens Schwaighofer
Subject: Re: Povray 3.6 in Mac OS X 10.4.1
Date: 2 Jun 2005 22:41:34
Message: <gullevek-8D0058.11413403062005@news.povray.org>
In article <429eaea6$1@news.povray.org>,
 Thorsten Froehlich <tho### [at] trfde> wrote:

> Clemens Schwaighofer wrote:
> >>No problem running 3.6 Build 0197 on tiger 10.4.1.
> >>Always useful to try is to trash the preferences and try again. If it
> >>doesn't work either, you can always move the old preferences back.
> > 
> > hmm, I did a fresh install, double clicked on the POV-Ray Icon but it 
> > just loaded the script editor, so I changed it to use the Application 
> > Loader, but when I double click it, nothing happens.
> 
> What you say makes no sense at all assuming you are talking about the 
> official POV-Ray for Mac version.  First of all, there is no installer. 
> Second, there is no way that you can change a Mac application "to use the 
> Application Loader" as there is no such thing as an "Application Loader", 
> whatever that is supposed to be.
> 
> So whatever you are doing does simply not make any sense!  At least assuming 
> you are really talking about the official Mac version here...

ctrl+click on the binary "POV-Ray Mac 3.6" and choose "open with".

Anyway, I know it is not an "application" where you write code, but I 
tried to run it in the shell to get some output like I do in Linux.

Well, I have now MegaPov running, and from there I can render pictures.

I am sorry if I confuse people, but thats just, because I am confused. I 
have no idea how I should start rendering picture with Pov Ray in Mac.

I couldn't find any quick help description for it.

lg, clemens


Post a reply to this message

From: Clemens Schwaighofer
Subject: Re: Povray 3.6 in Mac OS X 10.4.1
Date: 2 Jun 2005 22:43:05
Message: <gullevek-F7DF5E.11430503062005@news.povray.org>
In article <MPG.1d096ce859549e13989d72@news.povray.org>,
 Patrick Elliott <sha### [at] hotmailcom> wrote:

> In article <gullevek-BFAE70.10023902062005@news.povray.org>, 
> gul### [at] gullevekorg says...
> > In article <1gxft09.1n2d05f18jpulyN%yvo.s@gmx.net>,
> >  yvo### [at] gmxnet (Yvo Smellenbergh) wrote:
> > 
> > > Schwaighofer Clemens <gul### [at] gullevekorg> wrote:
> > > 
> > > > has anyboday already tried to run Povray 3.6 in Tiger? I tried to start
> > > > it, but nothing happens at all.
> > > No problem running 3.6 Build 0197 on tiger 10.4.1.
> > > Always useful to try is to trash the preferences and try again. If it
> > > doesn't work either, you can always move the old preferences back.
> > 
> > hmm, I did a fresh install, double clicked on the POV-Ray Icon but it 
> > just loaded the script editor, so I changed it to use the Application 
> > Loader, but when I double click it, nothing happens.
> > 
> I think you are confused. POVRay is not a modeller. It has a script 
> editing portion and a render engine that takes the script, parses it and 
> generates an image from it. The only graphical modelling interfaces, 
> which is what 'most' 3D apps have, are third party applications. I have 
> no idea which one is the best for the MAC though.

I know, I know. My issues is, that I have no idea how to start rendering 
something on Mac. Should I just drop a pov-ray text file on the app?

There is no "first steps for mac" readme.

So, can someone point me out how to use POV-ray in Mac?

lg, clemens


Post a reply to this message

From: Christian Walther
Subject: Re: Povray 3.6 in Mac OS X 10.4.1
Date: 3 Jun 2005 02:09:34
Message: <429ff41e@news.povray.org>
Clemens Schwaighofer wrote:
>>Clemens Schwaighofer wrote:
>>>hmm, I did a fresh install, double clicked on the POV-Ray Icon but it 
>>>just loaded the script editor, so I changed it to use the Application 
>>>Loader, but when I double click it, nothing happens.
> 
> ctrl+click on the binary "POV-Ray Mac 3.6" and choose "open with".

Something seems wrong here. The "open with" submenu shouldn't even 
appear for applications. At least it doesn't here on Panther, I don't 
know about Tiger.

> Anyway, I know it is not an "application" where you write code, but I 
> tried to run it in the shell to get some output like I do in Linux.

You can't do that with the Mac version (well, you can start it from a 
shell, but that's no different than doubleclicking it in the Finder). If 
you want to do that, install the Unix version - compile from source, or 
install a binary from a place like Fink (http://fink.sf.net/) (I think 
they don't have 3.6 yet, though).

> I couldn't find any quick help description for it.

That's because there's supposed to be no need for it. If you open the 
application, the basics should be obvious - there's a text editor, a 
"Render" menu, etc. For more details, you can read chapter 1 "POV-Ray 
for Mac OS" in the documentation that you can open from the "POV-Ray 
Documentation in HTML" file. Obviously something is wrong with your copy 
of POV-Ray or your computer.

When you say "it loaded the script editor", I assume you're not talking 
about POV-Ray's scene editor (because that's what's supposed to open), 
but about /Applications/AppleScript/Script Editor?

> My issues is, that I have no idea how to start rendering 
> something on Mac. Should I just drop a pov-ray text file on the app?

That's one way to do it. That should open the file in POV-Ray's editor, 
and you can then render it using the "Render" menu.


  -Christian


Post a reply to this message

From: Yvo Smellenbergh
Subject: Re: Povray 3.6 in Mac OS X 10.4.1
Date: 3 Jun 2005 11:24:33
Message: <1gxlbky.r6qiao9bqbicN%yvo.s@gmx.net>
Clemens Schwaighofer <gul### [at] gullevekorg> wrote:

[...]

> 
> I know, I know. My issues is, that I have no idea how to start rendering
> something on Mac. Should I just drop a pov-ray text file on the app?
Pov_Ray is just the same as MacMegaPOV, except that MacMegaPOV looks a
bit different.
If you say that you can use MacMegaPOV, then you should be able to run
POV_Ray as well.
You need to open a scene file (MacMegaPOV allows for selecting one
without opening).
Both versions look a bit different but they do the same.

> There is no "first steps for mac" readme.
 
> So, can someone point me out how to use POV-ray in Mac?
I suggest that you start from scratch:
Download the archive, expand the archive and mount the image, copy the
folder "POV-Ray 3.6" to your hard drive.
Open this folder and double click the the "POV-Ray Mac 3.6" alias and
the program will start (don't launch from the image because that will
not work).
Select your include path via "File" >> "preferences.." tab "Scenes".
(select the include folder in the "POV-Ray 3.6" folder).

Now, open a file and select "render xx.pov" from the render menu.
This should work. 
If not, stick to MacMegaPOV :-) ;-)

Yvo

-- 
-----------------------------------
MegaPOV at:  http://megapov.inetart.net
MacMegaPOV at:  http://users.skynet.be/smellenbergh
E-mail: yvo### [at] gmxnet


Post a reply to this message

From: junior dball
Subject: Re: Povray 3.6 in Mac OS X 10.4.1
Date: 20 Jun 2005 05:30:01
Message: <web.42b68bd97954c76ff47b0bc30@news.povray.org>
Greetings,
I read that post and i can't figure out if i can reply here or somewhere
else.So i'll do it here.
I run POV-Ray with Xgrid on a Mac OS X server and all works fine,so i
decided to try some distributed rendering.
The client of Xgrid is in command line version,so i have some problems to
understand how does it works.i read an 'how to' guide to xgrid but it was
useless.
How can i submit a job and make it works?i think the problem is in the
syntax used to set commands and arguments in the command line.Can anyone
help me?
Thanks


Post a reply to this message

Goto Latest 10 Messages Next 2 Messages >>>

Copyright 2003-2021 Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty. Ltd.