POV-Ray : Newsgroups : povray.animations : How do I animate? Server Time
28 Jul 2024 20:34:01 EDT (-0400)
  How do I animate? (Message 7 to 16 of 16)  
<<< Previous 6 Messages Goto Initial 10 Messages
From: Spock
Subject: Re: How do I animate?
Date: 21 Aug 1999 14:21:34
Message: <37beee2e@news.povray.org>
Not sure if we are all talking about the same thing here,
but I normally have a separate ini file for each animation
(of course they all look similar but not the same) and I
just run the ini file instead of the pov file to produce the
animation.  If I had a setup stage I would create a new
ini file with different information and run that instead.

Here is the ini file from my latest bubble animation which
I call (not too surprisingly) "Bubbles11.ini":

    Antialias=on
    ;Quality=0
    Input_File_Name=Bubbles11.pov
    Initial_Frame=1
    Final_Frame=120
    Initial_Clock=0
    Final_Clock=1
    Width=1152
    Height=864
    ;Subset_Start_Frame=16
    ;Subset_End_Frame=120
    Cyclic_Animation=on
    Pause_when_Done=off

I would still like to play with your flocking algorithm
to see what variations on a theme I can come up with
but I will likely re-write it in Java (mostly by way of
learning what it does :-)

Greg M. Johnson <"gregj;-)56590"@aol.c;-)om> wrote in message
news:37bee886@news.povray.org...
> Huh! I was sure that I was using a sort of cave-man's approach, something
> a bit obtuse and unnecessary, by altering POVRAY.INI each time.  I thought
> I saw an example years ago where someone was creating a separate INI file
> for each animation, and so thought I was not using the standard practice.
>
> Is this "secondary INI file" algorithm in the docs?  I suspect not?
>
> Bob Hughes wrote:
>
> > Batch file is the only method that comes to mind for me, to set the
> > povray.ini to the one you need. This is no good though since it
> > requires a change yourself as well anyway. The lack of INI keywords in
> > POV or INC files (or other way around) is a well known limitation, for
> > those that know about it already. Writing out to a povray.ini from the
> > POV file, no, this wouldn't go right from within a scene parsing.
> > There's my "no help", except I would think just selecting a secondary
> > INI manually having all the overriding choices in each would be okay
> > for those not absent-minded (like me... unlike me...whatever).
> >
> > Bob
> >
> > > Spock said:
> > >  I would separate the generation from the
> > > rendering by using two completely different systems
> > > and leave your ini file set up for rendering only.
> > >
> > > Greg M. Johnson <"gregj;-)56590"@aol.c;-)om> wrote in message
> > > news:37beb57a@news.povray.org...
> > > > I know how to animate using the POVRAY.INI file.  The problem is
> > that I
> > > > have one file that I want to ONLY RUN ONCE!!!!! as it generates my
> > INC
> > > > of positions for my animation.  Then I have a file that I want to
> > run
> > > > several times as it ticks through the frames.
> > > >
> > > > Twice this morning, I have forgotten to edit my POVRAY.INI file
> > back to
> > > > make pov only run more than one frame.  Thus, after a long
> > computation,
> > > > it rewrites the whole thing over from scratch!
> > > >
> > > > Q: Is there someway within the file to set up the number of
> > frames?  Do
> > > > I have to edit POVRAY.INI each time?
> > > >
> > > > The docs again on this issue seem to be preaching to the coders.
> > >:-p
> > > > I see  phrases that I'm used to editing in my POVRAY.INI file, but
> > no
> > > > indication of where to type or use the phrases.
> > > >
> > >
> > >
>


Post a reply to this message

From: Remco de Korte
Subject: Re: How do I animate?
Date: 22 Aug 1999 05:49:32
Message: <37BFC7C2.E2B97ACB@xs4all.nl>
Greg M. Johnson wrote:
> 

I don't know if this answers your question or helps you with your problem but
first of all: I never edit the povray.ini-file, I make inifiles for each
seperate animation. Then if you want to do the basic calculation only once, in
the first frame just put in an #if-statement (#if (clock=0)....#end).

Hope this helps,

Remco


Post a reply to this message

From: Spock
Subject: Re: How do I animate?
Date: 22 Aug 1999 08:41:06
Message: <37bfefe2@news.povray.org>
Time to eat my words (yum).  I rewrote your flocking
algorithm in Java and it was tough.  Simple little things
like subtracting two vectors or normalizing a vector
are not supported in the language (like they are in POV)
so you have to write them yourself.

Not only that but you lose access to some of the great
utility inc files like Colefax's clock mod or splines.

I guess my respect for the POV language has gone up a
notch or two.  Just had to try the alternative to be sure.

Spock <spo### [at] homecom> wrote in message news:37bec13f@news.povray.org...
> I really like the whole flocking thing you are doing so
> (of course) I grabbed the source when you posted it.
>
> I was surprised to see how you were using POV as a
> generic programming language to generate frames.  I
> might have chosen one of the more conventional ways
> to do this (C, C++, Java, VB, etc.) for the extra power
> these languages provide.  I expect there will be folks
> who disagree with me, but I think the POV language
> is best suited to scene description, not complex math
> for animations.  You have proven that it works, but it
> still seems like a strange match to me.


Post a reply to this message

From: Greg M  Johnson
Subject: Re: How do I animate?
Date: 22 Aug 1999 11:16:39
Message: <37c01457@news.povray.org>
SO, are YOU going to post YOUR code?  I'm especially interested in the .java
so I can make my own future modifications!

Spock wrote:

> Time to eat my words (yum).  I rewrote your flocking
> algorithm in Java and it was tough.  Simple little things
> like subtracting two vectors or normalizing a vector
> are not supported in the language (like they are in POV)
> so you have to write them yourself.
>
> Not only that but you lose access to some of the great
> utility inc files like Colefax's clock mod or splines.
>
> I guess my respect for the POV language has gone up a
> notch or two.  Just had to try the alternative to be sure.
>
> Spock <spo### [at] homecom> wrote in message news:37bec13f@news.povray.org...
> > I really like the whole flocking thing you are doing so
> > (of course) I grabbed the source when you posted it.
> >
> > I was surprised to see how you were using POV as a
> > generic programming language to generate frames.  I
> > might have chosen one of the more conventional ways
> > to do this (C, C++, Java, VB, etc.) for the extra power
> > these languages provide.  I expect there will be folks
> > who disagree with me, but I think the POV language
> > is best suited to scene description, not complex math
> > for animations.  You have proven that it works, but it
> > still seems like a strange match to me.


Post a reply to this message

From: Jon A  Cruz
Subject: Re: How do I animate?
Date: 22 Aug 1999 16:44:29
Message: <37C061C1.BCCF3881@geocities.com>
Spock wrote:

> Time to eat my words (yum).  I rewrote your flocking
> algorithm in Java and it was tough.  Simple little things
> like subtracting two vectors or normalizing a vector
> are not supported in the language (like they are in POV)
> so you have to write them yourself.
>
> Not only that but you lose access to some of the great
> utility inc files like Colefax's clock mod or splines.
>
> I guess my respect for the POV language has gone up a
> notch or two.  Just had to try the alternative to be sure.

There are a few different Vector math packages that can be used, including
one that comes with Java3D (I'm liking that more and more these days).
Probably the biggest problem in going to Java is knowing which Java libraries
to use. (<commercial>And if you do a tool in the full-blown Java3D, you get
OpenGL/Direct3D/Mesa support for free.</commercial>)

I'd be interested in looking over what you've done, as in the abstract the OO
programming aspects of Java should make things easier. Then again, it might
be that these algorithms just aren't well suited for that.

However, losing access to the POV-Ray .inc files is probably a big issue,
though.


--
"My new computer's got the clocks, it rocks
But it was obsolete before I opened the box" - W.A.Y.


Post a reply to this message

From: Nieminen Mika
Subject: Re: How do I animate?
Date: 23 Aug 1999 02:52:42
Message: <37c0efba@news.povray.org>
"Greg M. Johnson" <"gregj;-)56590"> wrote:
: Q: Is there someway within the file to set up the number of frames?  Do
: I have to edit POVRAY.INI each time?

  Learn to use the command-line parameters field in rendering settings. I
use it all the time. It's the easiest way to get any setting (except for the
image resolution if it is in the popup menu at the top left).

-- 
main(i,_){for(_?--i,main(i+2,"FhhQHFIJD|FQTITFN]zRFHhhTBFHhhTBFysdB"[i]
):5;i&&_>1;printf("%s",_-70?_&1?"[]":" ":(_=0,"\n")),_/=2);} /*- Warp -*/


Post a reply to this message

From: Cliff Bowman
Subject: Re: How do I animate?
Date: 23 Aug 1999 05:22:38
Message: <37c10415.42240531@news.povray.org>
On Sat, 21 Aug 1999 09:46:42 -0400, "Greg M. Johnson"
<"gregj;-)56590"@aol.c;-)om> wrote:

>I know how to animate using the POVRAY.INI file.  The problem is that I
>have one file that I want to ONLY RUN ONCE!!!!! as it generates my INC
>of positions for my animation.  Then I have a file that I want to run
>several times as it ticks through the frames.
>
>Twice this morning, I have forgotten to edit my POVRAY.INI file back to
>make pov only run more than one frame.  Thus, after a long computation,
>it rewrites the whole thing over from scratch!
>
>Q: Is there someway within the file to set up the number of frames?  Do
>I have to edit POVRAY.INI each time?
>
>The docs again on this issue seem to be preaching to the coders.  >:-p
>I see  phrases that I'm used to editing in my POVRAY.INI file, but no
>indication of where to type or use the phrases.
>
I'll assume that you're using Windows as you've got INI files - or
that if you're not they work much like thw Windows INI files.

There's been a helpful suggestion re using the clock variable to
determine if the scene needs rendering along the lines of:

#switch (clock)
#case (0)
// First and possibly only pass - proceed
#break
#else
// Oops - we're getting animated - STOP!
fall over here please (this statement can't be parsed and will halt
rendering)
#end

but there's another solution too - multiple sections (named within []
brackets) which can be selected in the "INI Section combo-box" (don't
know if it has a real name) originally positioned under the "New,
Open, Save" toolbar buttons.

For example:

[CD-i 352x288, All noAA]
;Cyclic_Animation=on
Width=352
Height=288
Antialias=Off
Jitter=off
Output_to_File=On
Pre_Frame_Command=
Pre_Frame_Return=
Post_Frame_Command=
Post_Frame_Return=
Post_Scene_Command=
Post_Scene_Return=f                 ;;If error, crash
Pause_When_Done=Off
Continue_Trace=On                ;;Lets you resume
Test_Abort=On                    ;;Lets you interrupt
Initial_Frame = 0
Final_Frame = 899
Initial_Clock = 0.0
Final_Clock = 899
Quality=9
;Set automatic bounding to work on 5 objects or more (default is 25 or
more)
+MB5

[CD-i 352x288, 11 noAA]
;Cyclic_Animation=on
Width=352
Height=288
Antialias=Off
Jitter=off
Output_to_File=On
Pre_Frame_Command=
Pre_Frame_Return=
Post_Frame_Command=
Post_Frame_Return=
Post_Scene_Command=
Post_Scene_Return=f                 ;;If error, crash
Pause_When_Done=Off
Continue_Trace=On                ;;Lets you resume
Test_Abort=On                    ;;Lets you interrupt
Initial_Frame = 13
Final_Frame = 100
Initial_Clock = 13
Final_Clock = 100
Quality=9
;Set automatic bounding to work on 5 objects or more (default is 25 or
more)
+MB5


You could set up your preferred animating and non-animating INI
sections into one (probably largish) INI file that way - I've a slew
of settings for the one animation my life seems to revolve around...


Hope this helps,

Cheers,


Cheers,

Cliff Bowman
Why not pay my 3D Dr Who site a visit at http://www.who3d.cwc.net/


Post a reply to this message

From: Bob Hughes
Subject: Re: How do I animate?
Date: 23 Aug 1999 15:12:51
Message: <37c19d33@news.povray.org>
Yes, this is what I meant by the "secondary ini". The batch file way
that might work out best would be to run it as a preparse through the
ini file (See Shell-out to Operating System in the DOC
[Pre_Scene_Command or Pre_Frame_Command] and check for the already
done file. "exists.exe" is probably there in your POV-Ray folder and
you could use that I suppose to do the checking.
Of course I'm only here due to the interest in your pov script flock,
I don't have any of this file checking done here myself ;)

Bob

Spock <spo### [at] homecom> wrote in message
news:37beee2e@news.povray.org...
> Not sure if we are all talking about the same thing here,
> but I normally have a separate ini file for each animation
> (of course they all look similar but not the same) and I
> just run the ini file instead of the pov file to produce the
> animation.  If I had a setup stage I would create a new
> ini file with different information and run that instead.
>
> Here is the ini file from my latest bubble animation which
> I call (not too surprisingly) "Bubbles11.ini":
>
>     Antialias=on
>     ;Quality=0
>     Input_File_Name=Bubbles11.pov
>     Initial_Frame=1
>     Final_Frame=120
>     Initial_Clock=0
>     Final_Clock=1
>     Width=1152
>     Height=864
>     ;Subset_Start_Frame=16
>     ;Subset_End_Frame=120
>     Cyclic_Animation=on
>     Pause_when_Done=off
>
> I would still like to play with your flocking algorithm
> to see what variations on a theme I can come up with
> but I will likely re-write it in Java (mostly by way of
> learning what it does :-)
>
> Greg M. Johnson <"gregj;-)56590"@aol.c;-)om> wrote in message
> news:37bee886@news.povray.org...
> > Huh! I was sure that I was using a sort of cave-man's approach,
something
> > a bit obtuse and unnecessary, by altering POVRAY.INI each time.  I
thought
> > I saw an example years ago where someone was creating a separate
INI file
> > for each animation, and so thought I was not using the standard
practice.
> >
> > Is this "secondary INI file" algorithm in the docs?  I suspect
not?
> >
> > Bob Hughes wrote:
> >
> > > Batch file is the only method that comes to mind for me, to set
the
> > > povray.ini to the one you need. This is no good though since it
> > > requires a change yourself as well anyway. The lack of INI
keywords in
> > > POV or INC files (or other way around) is a well known
limitation, for
> > > those that know about it already. Writing out to a povray.ini
from the
> > > POV file, no, this wouldn't go right from within a scene
parsing.
> > > There's my "no help", except I would think just selecting a
secondary
> > > INI manually having all the overriding choices in each would be
okay
> > > for those not absent-minded (like me... unlike me...whatever).
> > >
> > > Bob
> > >
> > > > Spock said:
> > > >  I would separate the generation from the
> > > > rendering by using two completely different systems
> > > > and leave your ini file set up for rendering only.
> > > >
> > > > Greg M. Johnson <"gregj;-)56590"@aol.c;-)om> wrote in message
> > > > news:37beb57a@news.povray.org...
> > > > > I know how to animate using the POVRAY.INI file.  The
problem is
> > > that I
> > > > > have one file that I want to ONLY RUN ONCE!!!!! as it
generates my
> > > INC
> > > > > of positions for my animation.  Then I have a file that I
want to
> > > run
> > > > > several times as it ticks through the frames.
> > > > >
> > > > > Twice this morning, I have forgotten to edit my POVRAY.INI
file
> > > back to
> > > > > make pov only run more than one frame.  Thus, after a long
> > > computation,
> > > > > it rewrites the whole thing over from scratch!
> > > > >
> > > > > Q: Is there someway within the file to set up the number of
> > > frames?  Do
> > > > > I have to edit POVRAY.INI each time?
> > > > >
> > > > > The docs again on this issue seem to be preaching to the
coders.
> > > >:-p
> > > > > I see  phrases that I'm used to editing in my POVRAY.INI
file, but
> > > no
> > > > > indication of where to type or use the phrases.
> > > > >
> > > >
> > > >
> >
>
>


Post a reply to this message

From: Bob Hughes
Subject: Re: How do I animate?
Date: 23 Aug 1999 15:27:09
Message: <37c1a08d@news.povray.org>
Cliff Bowman  wrote in message

> There's been a helpful suggestion re using the clock variable to
> determine if the scene needs rendering along the lines of:
>
> #switch (clock)
> #case (0)
> // First and possibly only pass - proceed
> #break
> #else
> // Oops - we're getting animated - STOP!
> fall over here please (this statement can't be parsed and will halt
> rendering)
> #end
>
> but there's another solution too - multiple sections (named within
[]
> brackets) which can be selected in the "INI Section combo-box"
(don't
> know if it has a real name) originally positioned under the "New,
> Open, Save" toolbar buttons.
>

Bob says:
Yes, the "Secondary INI"  :-)
In the menu of POV for Windows you edit it through Tools/Edit
secondary ini.
I like that #switch (clock) idea, however I wonder if cyclic
animations use zero for the starting number of not... yes, it does
appear to be 0 after all.

Bob

> For example:
>
> [CD-i 352x288, All noAA]
> ;Cyclic_Animation=on
> Width=352
> Height=288
> Antialias=Off
> Jitter=off
> Output_to_File=On
> Pre_Frame_Command=
> Pre_Frame_Return=
> Post_Frame_Command=
> Post_Frame_Return=
> Post_Scene_Command=
> Post_Scene_Return=f                 ;;If error, crash
> Pause_When_Done=Off
> Continue_Trace=On                ;;Lets you resume
> Test_Abort=On                    ;;Lets you interrupt
> Initial_Frame = 0
> Final_Frame = 899
> Initial_Clock = 0.0
> Final_Clock = 899
> Quality=9
> ;Set automatic bounding to work on 5 objects or more (default is 25
or
> more)
> +MB5
>
> [CD-i 352x288, 11 noAA]
> ;Cyclic_Animation=on
> Width=352
> Height=288
> Antialias=Off
> Jitter=off
> Output_to_File=On
> Pre_Frame_Command=
> Pre_Frame_Return=
> Post_Frame_Command=
> Post_Frame_Return=
> Post_Scene_Command=
> Post_Scene_Return=f                 ;;If error, crash
> Pause_When_Done=Off
> Continue_Trace=On                ;;Lets you resume
> Test_Abort=On                    ;;Lets you interrupt
> Initial_Frame = 13
> Final_Frame = 100
> Initial_Clock = 13
> Final_Clock = 100
> Quality=9
> ;Set automatic bounding to work on 5 objects or more (default is 25
or
> more)
> +MB5
>
>
> You could set up your preferred animating and non-animating INI
> sections into one (probably largish) INI file that way - I've a slew
> of settings for the one animation my life seems to revolve around...
>
>
> Hope this helps,
>
> Cheers,
>
>
> Cheers,
>
> Cliff Bowman
> Why not pay my 3D Dr Who site a visit at http://www.who3d.cwc.net/


Post a reply to this message

From: Cliff Bowman
Subject: Re: How do I animate?
Date: 25 Aug 1999 13:23:00
Message: <37c40174.4678579@news.povray.org>
On Mon, 23 Aug 1999 14:26:18 -0500, "Bob Hughes" <inv### [at] aolcom>
wrote:

>Cliff Bowman  wrote in message
>
[snip]
>>
>> but there's another solution too - multiple sections (named within
>[]
>> brackets) which can be selected in the "INI Section combo-box"
>(don't
>> know if it has a real name) originally positioned under the "New,
>> Open, Save" toolbar buttons.
>>
>
>Bob says:
>Yes, the "Secondary INI"  :-)
>In the menu of POV for Windows you edit it through Tools/Edit
>secondary ini.
Ooooer - so there is. Never seen that before (never noticed). I
generally go "Render...Edit settings/Render". the tools menu would be
faster/easier by at least a mouse click (well - every click matters
when it's subtracting from render time!).


Cheers,

Cliff Bowman
Why not pay my 3D Dr Who site a visit at http://www.who3d.cwc.net/


Post a reply to this message

<<< Previous 6 Messages Goto Initial 10 Messages

Copyright 2003-2023 Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty. Ltd.