POV-Ray : Newsgroups : povray.unofficial.patches : Mega Photon Bug? Server Time
2 Sep 2024 16:19:10 EDT (-0400)
  Mega Photon Bug? (Message 13 to 22 of 22)  
<<< Previous 10 Messages Goto Initial 10 Messages
From: Nieminen Juha
Subject: Re: Mega Photon Bug?
Date: 13 Jan 2000 04:51:09
Message: <387da00d@news.povray.org>
Mark Wagner <mar### [at] gtenet> wrote:
: As big as the compiler will allow.

  Take into account that the program might _reserve_ the space for the stack
at run time. That is, if you set a 100 Megs stack, the program may need
100 Megs of memory for the stack + the memory for the rest of the things.

-- 
main(i,_){for(_?--i,main(i+2,"FhhQHFIJD|FQTITFN]zRFHhhTBFHhhTBFysdB"[i]
):5;i&&_>1;printf("%s",_-70?_&1?"[]":" ":(_=0,"\n")),_/=2);} /*- Warp -*/


Post a reply to this message

From: Ron Parker
Subject: Re: Mega Photon Bug?
Date: 13 Jan 2000 08:29:15
Message: <387dd32b@news.povray.org>
On 13 Jan 2000 04:51:09 -0500, Nieminen Juha wrote:
>Mark Wagner <mar### [at] gtenet> wrote:
>: As big as the compiler will allow.
>
>  Take into account that the program might _reserve_ the space for the stack
>at run time. That is, if you set a 100 Megs stack, the program may need
>100 Megs of memory for the stack + the memory for the rest of the things.

Not under win32, as I understand it.  Win32 has two numbers governing stack 
size, a reserved amount set aside in the page table at runtime, and a committed
amount that's actually mapped.  As the stack grows, Windows allocates more pages
to it.  Also, for those skilled at hex editing, the reserved and committed stack
space are just numbers in the executable file, so they can be changed rather 
easily without recompiling.

The official POV has a reserve/commit of 80000/10000 (hex). Megapov is set to 
100000/1000 (hex).  So if this is a stack problem, it would hit the official 
version too, though a little higher commit wouldn't hurt megapov in the 
performance department.

-- 
These are my opinions.  I do NOT speak for the POV-Team.
The superpatch: http://www2.fwi.com/~parkerr/superpatch/
My other stuff: http://www2.fwi.com/~parkerr/traces.html


Post a reply to this message

From: Steve
Subject: Re: Mega Photon Bug?
Date: 28 Jan 2000 20:31:08
Message: <slrn8942q6.adm.sjlen@zero-pps.localdomain>
I also have a crash problem with photons, the problem
isn't so much the photons or the scene, but when it runs
out of memory with MegaPov, the only thing I can do is
physically turn the machine off and on again.  

When I run out of mem with official POV, it just gives 
me a nice little message saying that it's run out of
memory, so I do something else instead, or make some
changes to the scene. But MegaPov completely freezes
the box, I've tried this about three times, but 
Linux doesn't like being turned off like that, so I 
havn't tried it recently.  Looking at my sig, it was
in fact five days ago since I tried it. 

Info

RH6.0,  MegaPov, over 64M Ram 1G of swap available.

Scene, David Fontain's torus with a disco ball
inside and lots of photons. 

Can provide the Pov file if required. 

-- 
Cheers
Steve              email mailto:sjl### [at] ndirectcouk

%HAV-A-NICEDAY Error not enough coffee  0 pps. 

web http://www.ndirect.co.uk/~sjlen/

or  http://start.at/zero-pps

  9:17pm  up 5 days,  5:28,  6 users,  load average: 5.39, 5.24, 5.11


Post a reply to this message

From: Nathan Kopp
Subject: Re: Mega Photon Bug?
Date: 29 Jan 2000 00:51:54
Message: <38927ffa@news.povray.org>
I didn't change anything about memory handling, so I don't know why this
would act differently than the official version.  Did you compile your own
official version, or download a binary?

-Nathan

Steve <sjl### [at] zero-ppslocaldomain> wrote...
> When I run out of mem with official POV, it just gives
> me a nice little message saying that it's run out of
> memory, so I do something else instead, or make some
> changes to the scene. But MegaPov completely freezes
> the box, I've tried this about three times, but
> Linux doesn't like being turned off like that, so I
> havn't tried it recently.  Looking at my sig, it was
> in fact five days ago since I tried it.


Post a reply to this message

From: Steve
Subject: Re: Mega Photon Bug?
Date: 30 Jan 2000 00:25:27
Message: <slrn897hhm.3ca.sjlen@zero-pps.localdomain>
On Sat, 29 Jan 2000 00:50:22 -0500, Nathan Kopp <Nat### [at] Koppcom> wrote:
>I didn't change anything about memory handling, so I don't know why this
>would act differently than the official version.  Did you compile your own
>official version, or download a binary?

No, didn't compile, d/l'd the binaries. 

my mem looks like this, in units of KBs.  

[sjlen@zero-pps pov]$ free -k
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:         63136      60884       2252      16692       1312      32616
-/+ buffers/cache:      26956      36180
Swap:       989704      32332     957372

When my current render has finished I'll try rendering something in Megapov
that I know runs out of mem in official POV, and then run it again in 
Pov and see what happens. (as this scene doesn't use any new Megapov features).


Scene below:

#declare phd=1;
#include "colors.inc"
                        
global_settings{
                adc_bailout 0.003922
                ambient_light <1.0,1.0,1.0>
                assumed_gamma 2.2
                max_trace_level 50
                photons{
                        gather 20,100
                        radius 0.1*phd,2,0.1*phd
                        autostop 0
                        //jitter .4
                        expand_thresholds 0.2, 40
                       }
               }
                
#declare Strobe =
          
#declare TheGap=5;
#declare MaxAng=359;
                     
union{
      #local outerctr=0;
                
      #while(outerctr<MaxAng)
        #local ctr=0;
                        
        #while(ctr<MaxAng)
                        
          box{
              <-0.1,-0.1,-0.1>
              <0.1,0.1,0.1>
              translate z*-2.085
              rotate <ctr,outerctr,0>
             }   
          
          #local ctr=ctr+TheGap;
        #end
         #local outerctr=outerctr+TheGap;
      #end

      pigment{Silver}

      finish{
             phong 0.8
             phong_size 50 
             reflection 1.0
             specular 1.0
             roughness 0.0001 
             ambient 0.0   
             diffuse 0.0
            }
     }

object{
       Strobe
       translate<0,5,10>
       scale 0.5
       photons{
               separation 0.01*phd
               refraction off
               reflection on
              }
      translate z*-10
      rotate y*-90
     }

torus{
      10,2
      hollow 
      photons{
               separation 0.01*phd
               refraction off
               reflection on
              }
      pigment{ color White }
      finish { ambient 0
              diffuse .1
              reflection .9  
              specular 0.01 
             } 
    }
             
camera{
       location <0,0,-10>
       look_at <1,0,-10> }

light_source { <0,0,-10> Red
             photons{
                     reflection on
                     refraction off
                    }
             } 

light_source { <0,0,-10> Green rotate 120*y
             photons{
                     reflection on
                     refraction off
                    }
             }

light_source { <0,0,-10> Blue rotate 240*y
             photons{
                     reflection on
                     refraction off
                    }
             }       

///////////////////////////////////////////////


Hope this helps.


-- 
Cheers
Steve              email mailto:sjl### [at] ndirectcouk

%HAV-A-NICEDAY Error not enough coffee  0 pps. 

web http://www.ndirect.co.uk/~sjlen/

or  http://start.at/zero-pps

  3:43am  up 1 day,  2:12,  4 users,  load average: 2.23, 2.22, 2.13


Post a reply to this message

From: Y Tanabe
Subject: Re: Mega Photon Bug?
Date: 30 Jan 2000 02:49:39
Message: <3893ED17.3A149966@kh.rim.or.jp>
Dear Steve san:

I make test your scene file and get report from memory short error.
My application is MPW MrC version(based official mac 3.1g r2).
I set 128MB to application and system vertial memory is on,
(Power mac G3 DT233 memory 160MB VM  set to 320MB).

Report is like this:

Creating bounding slabs.
Scene contains 5185 frame level objects; 0 infinite.

Creating vista buffer.
Creating light buffers...
Creating Photon Maps.
Building Photon Maps.........................................................
Slab building error.
Ran out of application memory; Increase POV-Ray application memory size.
Reclaiming memory
-- [Finish]  File=photonsbug8.pov,Time=00.1.30  4:27:46 PM
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
POV-Ray Mac Memory Cache Statistics
Cache hits:               25467755   Cache misses:               816
Total calls to malloc:    25468571   Cache hit rate:             99%
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Y.Tanabe
Kobe,Japan



Steve wrote:

> On Sat, 29 Jan 2000 00:50:22 -0500, Nathan Kopp <Nat### [at] Koppcom> wrote:
> >I didn't change anything about memory handling, so I don't know why this
> >would act differently than the official version.  Did you compile your own
> >official version, or download a binary?
>
> No, didn't compile, d/l'd the binaries.
>
> my mem looks like this, in units of KBs.
>
> [sjlen@zero-pps pov]$ free -k
>              total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
> Mem:         63136      60884       2252      16692       1312      32616
> -/+ buffers/cache:      26956      36180
> Swap:       989704      32332     957372
>
> When my current render has finished I'll try rendering something in Megapov
> that I know runs out of mem in official POV, and then run it again in
> Pov and see what happens. (as this scene doesn't use any new Megapov features).
>
> Scene below:
> Hope this helps.
>
> --


Post a reply to this message

From: Steve
Subject: Re: Mega Photon Bug?
Date: 30 Jan 2000 18:36:50
Message: <slrn898j5m.4d3.sjlen@zero-pps.localdomain>
On Sun, 30 Jan 2000 16:49:46 +0900, Y.Tanabe <tec### [at] khrimorjp> wrote:
>Dear Steve san:
>
>I make test your scene file and get report from memory short error.
>My application is MPW MrC version(based official mac 3.1g r2).
>I set 128MB to application and system vertial memory is on,
>(Power mac G3 DT233 memory 160MB VM  set to 320MB).
>
>Report is like this:
>
>Creating bounding slabs.
>Scene contains 5185 frame level objects; 0 infinite.
>
>Creating vista buffer.
>Creating light buffers...
>Creating Photon Maps.
>Building Photon Maps.........................................................
>Slab building error.
>Ran out of application memory; Increase POV-Ray application memory size.
>Reclaiming memory
>-- [Finish]  File=photonsbug8.pov,Time=00.1.30  4:27:46 PM
>----------------------------------------------------------------------------
>POV-Ray Mac Memory Cache Statistics
>Cache hits:               25467755   Cache misses:               816
>Total calls to malloc:    25468571   Cache hit rate:             99%
>----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks, I'll have to wait untill my machine has finished rendering it's current
scene before I try this again.  The current render has been going for more than
30 hours, so I don't want the machine to crash just yet. 

-- 
Cheers
Steve              email mailto:sjl### [at] ndirectcouk

%HAV-A-NICEDAY Error not enough coffee  0 pps. 

web http://www.ndirect.co.uk/~sjlen/

or  http://start.at/zero-pps

  2:31pm  up 1 day, 13:01,  4 users,  load average: 2.29, 2.25, 2.10


Post a reply to this message

From: Steve
Subject: Re: Mega Photon Bug?
Date: 31 Jan 2000 13:57:50
Message: <slrn89bmbs.1d5.sjlen@zero-pps.localdomain>
On Sat, 29 Jan 2000 00:50:22 -0500, Nathan Kopp <Nat### [at] Koppcom> wrote:
>I didn't change anything about memory handling, so I don't know why this
>would act differently than the official version.  Did you compile your own
>official version, or download a binary?
>

Right I've now done some extensive experimentation.

I took a scene that will render in Official pov but requires
more memory than I have, so it's just a standard scene with
millions of objects.  In both official and Mega it gives 
me a message telling me that it's run out of memory, no problem.
But when I render a scene with photons and it runs out of memory
while creating the photon data the box freezes completely.

I had to go out (yes actually outside the house) today so I set 
the render running with xmegapov -Imyscene.pov and left it for 
a few hours, it froze, so I thought give it a few hours and it
might sort itself out, but after the screen had cutout I couldn't
even get my display back by pressing the shift key the way I 
normally do.  Before losing the screen and after the freeze 
the mouse pointer wouldn't move, I couldn't Alt-Ctrl-Fn to another
session, I couldn't Alt-Ctrl-Backspace out of X.  

One more thing that I will try is running a scene that has photons,
but runs out of memory before it gets to the point where it starts
to generate the photon data.  I will try this soon, and post the 
results in this thread. 

-- 
Cheers
Steve              email mailto:sjl### [at] ndirectcouk

%HAV-A-NICEDAY Error not enough coffee  0 pps. 

web http://www.ndirect.co.uk/~sjlen/

or  http://start.at/zero-pps

  6:37pm  up  4:09,  2 users,  load average: 1.44, 1.22, 1.14


Post a reply to this message

From: Steve
Subject: Re: Mega Photon Bug?
Date: 31 Jan 2000 18:20:26
Message: <slrn89btnh.1ig.sjlen@zero-pps.localdomain>
On a scene that runns out of memory before starting to 
generate the photon data the machine doesn't freeze.

-- 
Cheers
Steve              email mailto:sjl### [at] ndirectcouk

%HAV-A-NICEDAY Error not enough coffee  0 pps. 

web http://www.ndirect.co.uk/~sjlen/

or  http://start.at/zero-pps

  8:53pm  up  6:26,  2 users,  load average: 1.60, 1.52, 2.03


Post a reply to this message

From: Mark Wagner
Subject: Re: Mega Photon Bug?
Date: 1 Feb 2000 01:33:00
Message: <38967e1c@news.povray.org>
Steve wrote in message ...
>On a scene that runns out of memory before starting to
>generate the photon data the machine doesn't freeze.


Sounds like a recursive call to Error().  Someone who has a debugger might
want to check this out.

Mark


Post a reply to this message

<<< Previous 10 Messages Goto Initial 10 Messages

Copyright 2003-2023 Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty. Ltd.