POV-Ray : Newsgroups : povray.macintosh : My first render (my first problem) Server Time
16 Sep 2021 06:50:04 EDT (-0400)
  My first render (my first problem) (Message 1 to 9 of 9)  
From: palom
Subject: My first render (my first problem)
Date: 9 Feb 2006 01:35:01
Message: <web.43eae28b65b0bef67a2179180@news.povray.org>
I read up on the documentation and have gained a general knowledge of the
code.  My problem is I cannot render anything.  The documentation merely
says

, "That's it! We close the file and render a small picture of it using
whatever methods you used for your particular platform. If you specified a
preview display it will appear on your screen. If you specified an output
file (the default is file output on), then POV-Ray also created a file."

My render buttons are all grayed out.  I read through some other people's
messages and managed to bring up the render que, then i added one of the
projects and hit start rendering from que which lighted up after i brought
up the que window.  What happened was it merely brought up my code and
beeped.  I tried rendering the demos and such to receive the same results.
If someone could help me as to the way to start rendering, I'm a complete
noob..

I'm running on a PowerBook G4, Version 10.4.4, 1.67 GHz processor, 1GB DDR
SDRAM

whatever you can do to help me would be appreciated...


Post a reply to this message

From: kurtz le pirate
Subject: Re: My first render (my first problem)
Date: 9 Feb 2006 13:06:47
Message: <kurtzlepirate-72F889.19064609022006@news.povray.org>
In article <web.43eae28b65b0bef67a2179180@news.povray.org>,
 "palom" <jor### [at] gmailcom> wrote:

> I read up on the documentation and have gained a general knowledge of the
> code.  My problem is I cannot render anything.  The documentation merely
> says
> 
> , "That's it! We close the file and render a small picture of it using
> whatever methods you used for your particular platform. If you specified a
> preview display it will appear on your screen. If you specified an output
> file (the default is file output on), then POV-Ray also created a file."
> 
> My render buttons are all grayed out.  I read through some other people's
> messages and managed to bring up the render que, then i added one of the
> projects and hit start rendering from que which lighted up after i brought
> up the que window.  What happened was it merely brought up my code and
> beeped.  I tried rendering the demos and such to receive the same results.
> If someone could help me as to the way to start rendering, I'm a complete
> noob..
> 
> I'm running on a PowerBook G4, Version 10.4.4, 1.67 GHz processor, 1GB DDR
> SDRAM
> 
> whatever you can do to help me would be appreciated...


any error(s) in the "messages" windows ?


Post a reply to this message

From: palom
Subject: Re: My first render (my first problem)
Date: 10 Feb 2006 00:00:01
Message: <web.43ec1daded9f3ae97a2179180@news.povray.org>
kurtz le pirate <kur### [at] yahoofr> wrote:
> In article <web.43eae28b65b0bef67a2179180@news.povray.org>,
>  "palom" <jor### [at] gmailcom> wrote:
>
> > I read up on the documentation and have gained a general knowledge of the
> > code.  My problem is I cannot render anything.  The documentation merely
> > says
> >
> > , "That's it! We close the file and render a small picture of it using
> > whatever methods you used for your particular platform. If you specified a
> > preview display it will appear on your screen. If you specified an output
> > file (the default is file output on), then POV-Ray also created a file."
> >
> > My render buttons are all grayed out.  I read through some other people's
> > messages and managed to bring up the render que, then i added one of the
> > projects and hit start rendering from que which lighted up after i brought
> > up the que window.  What happened was it merely brought up my code and
> > beeped.  I tried rendering the demos and such to receive the same results.
> > If someone could help me as to the way to start rendering, I'm a complete
> > noob..
> >
> > I'm running on a PowerBook G4, Version 10.4.4, 1.67 GHz processor, 1GB DDR
> > SDRAM
> >
> > whatever you can do to help me would be appreciated...
>
>
> any error(s) in the "messages" windows ?


hmm its seems to have printed some errors on start-up that i missed... here
they are..

-Possible Parse Error: Could not find file 'functions.inc'

File benchmark.pov line 3

-Parse Error: Cannot open include file functions.inc.

File benchmark.pov line 3

-Parse Warning: Check that the file is in a directory specifed with a +L
switch or 'Library_Path='
..INI item. Standard include files are in the include directory or folder.
Please read your
documentation carefully.

File benchmark.pov line 3

I don't know if that answers your question.. upon render no errors were
printed in the message box... only these that were there upon start-up.
Any ideas?


Post a reply to this message

From: kurtz le pirate
Subject: Re: My first render (my first problem)
Date: 10 Feb 2006 05:33:09
Message: <43ec6be5$1@news.povray.org>

web.43ec1daded9f3ae97a2179180@news.povray.org...
>
> ...
>
> I don't know if that answers your question.. upon render no errors 
> were
> printed in the message box... only these that were there upon 
> start-up.
> Any ideas?
>

yes they are!

this is a common problem with newbies : povary don't know where 
"includes" are.
to do that do :
 - edit -> preferences
 - choose "scenes" tab.
 - clic "add" button. in the navigator window, find the "include" 
folder
   normaly in the povray folder. click "choose".
 - now in the "global include paths" box you have the path to the 
"include"
   folder.

that's all ! now you can render yours scenes and/or the benchmark 
without error.


klp


Post a reply to this message

From: palom
Subject: Re: My first render (my first problem)
Date: 10 Feb 2006 20:25:01
Message: <web.43ed3c5aed9f3ae97a2179180@news.povray.org>
"kurtz_le_pirate" <kur### [at] yahoofr> wrote:

> web.43ec1daded9f3ae97a2179180@news.povray.org...
> >
> > ...
> >
> > I don't know if that answers your question.. upon render no errors
> > were
> > printed in the message box... only these that were there upon
> > start-up.
> > Any ideas?
> >
>
> yes they are!
>
> this is a common problem with newbies : povary don't know where
> "includes" are.
> to do that do :
>  - edit -> preferences
>  - choose "scenes" tab.
>  - clic "add" button. in the navigator window, find the "include"
> folder
>    normaly in the povray folder. click "choose".
>  - now in the "global include paths" box you have the path to the
> "include"
>    folder.
>
> that's all ! now you can render yours scenes and/or the benchmark
> without error.
>
>
> klp

Crazy enough as it is.  I allready had that done, learned about it from
another person who had the same problem.  Mine gives no error, that error
it seems that I wrote out i had fixed when I put the global include path.
It still doesn't render though.  It gives no error at all.  The render
choices in the render menu are completely gray.  I open the Render Que from
the windows menu and then i hit add file, then start render que.  When it
tries to render my file it brings up the code and doesn't do anything..

If you have any ideas please give me a shout..


Post a reply to this message

From: Thorsten Froehlich
Subject: Re: My first render (my first problem)
Date: 10 Feb 2006 21:06:20
Message: <43ed469c$1@news.povray.org>
You have "Allow rendering of .pov files only" enabled but your file does not 
have a proper .pov extension.

	Thortsne


Post a reply to this message

From: ElsieKay
Subject: Re: My first render (my first problem)
Date: 9 May 2006 18:00:00
Message: <web.44611082ed9f3ae9c11819670@news.povray.org>
Thorsten Froehlich <tho### [at] trfde> wrote:
> You have "Allow rendering of .pov files only" enabled but your file does not
> have a proper .pov extension.
>
>  Thortsne

AWESOME! thanks so much to eveyone on this post!  I had the exact same
problem, but it works now!


Post a reply to this message

From: sahraoui
Subject: Re: My first render (my first problem)
Date: 19 Mar 2007 18:35:02
Message: <web.45ff1cfced9f3ae9439ba8f00@news.povray.org>
Thorsten Froehlich <tho### [at] trfde> wrote:
> You have "Allow rendering of .pov files only" enabled but your file does not
> have a proper .pov extension.
>
>  Thortsne

i have the proper extension but I still cannot have an image.
I am using the files supplied with the package. Let's say that I dowloaded
the stuff today and I did not get a chance to get a single image.

thanks


Post a reply to this message

From: Caligula
Subject: Re: My first render (my first problem)
Date: 20 Jun 2007 09:20:01
Message: <web.467928a1ed9f3ae9860209d50@news.povray.org>
Thorsten Froehlich <tho### [at] trfde> wrote:
> You have "Allow rendering of .pov files only" enabled but your file does not
> have a proper .pov extension.
>
>  Thortsne

Wow, I was having the same problem, but I didn't think it was so simple.


Post a reply to this message

Copyright 2003-2021 Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty. Ltd.