POV-Ray : Newsgroups : povray.general : Running pov 3.1 on windows 10 Server Time
15 Oct 2021 16:40:25 EDT (-0400)
  Running pov 3.1 on windows 10 (Message 1 to 10 of 10)  
From: srh
Subject: Running pov 3.1 on windows 10
Date: 19 Mar 2021 23:56:18
Message: <60557262$1@news.povray.org>
I have pov 3.6 and 3.7 running on windows 10.  I tried installing pov 3.1, but it will
not render - it just becomes unresponsive.  Is 3.1 just not compatible with windows 10
or is there some setting that needs adjusting?  Any info on this will be appreciated.
-- 
srh



----Android NewsGroup Reader----
https://piaohong.s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/usenet/index.html


Post a reply to this message

From: Alain Martel
Subject: Re: Running pov 3.1 on windows 10
Date: 20 Mar 2021 10:50:38
Message: <60560bbe$1@news.povray.org>

> I have pov 3.6 and 3.7 running on windows 10.  I tried installing pov 3.1, but it
will not render - it just becomes unresponsive.  Is 3.1 just not compatible with
windows 10 or is there some setting that needs adjusting?  Any info on this will be
appreciated.
> 

Why do you want to use version 3.1 ? It's over 20 years old. Even 
version 3.6 is obsolete.

It's so old that you ma want to run it in compatibility mode. Try 
running it as a Windows Vista application. If you run Windows 10 32 bit 
version, you may be able to chose an older version, like Windows 98.

Right click the shortcut.






Note that all versions up to 3.6 where single thread, and those older 
than 3.6 where strictly 32 bits.


Post a reply to this message

From: srh
Subject: Re: Running pov 3.1 on windows 10
Date: 20 Mar 2021 12:07:42
Message: <60561dce@news.povray.org>
Alain Martel <kua### [at] videotronca> Wrote in message:r

on windows 10.  I tried installing pov 3.1, but it will not render - it jus
t becomes unresponsive.  Is 3.1 just not compatible with windows 10 or is t
here some setting that needs adjusting?  Any info on this will be appreciat
ed.> Why do you want to use version 3.1 ? It's over 20 years old. Even vers
ion 3.6 is obsolete.It's so old that you ma want to run it in compatibility
 mode. Try running it as a Windows Vista application. If you run Windows 10
 32 bit version, you may be able to chose an older version, like Windows 98




le thread, and those older than 3.6 where strictly 32 bits.


I tried compatibility mode already (good suggestion, tho) and that did not 
work..as to why, I have some other programs that work with povray...but onl
y the older versions....thanks for your response.
-- 
srh



----Android NewsGroup Reader----
https://piaohong.s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/usenet/index.html


Post a reply to this message

From: Chris Cason
Subject: Re: Running pov 3.1 on windows 10
Date: 20 Mar 2021 18:42:37
Message: <60567a5d@news.povray.org>
On 21/03/2021 03:07, srh wrote:
> I tried compatibility mode already (good suggestion, tho) and that did not work..as
to why, I have some other programs that work with povray...but only the older
versions....thanks for your response.

Are you trying to run the windows version of 3.1? If so, try the DOS 
version instead (however note that as far as I am aware this will not 
work in 64-bit versions of windows 10).

If you really absolutely need version 3.1 and later versions won't work 
even with an appropriate #version 3.1 directive added to their output 
files then you may have to set up a virtual machine with windows 95 or 
something and run it in there. It might even be worth booting a live 
linux ISO and seeing if the Linux 3.1 console version works.

If all else fails you could try building a new console exe from the source.

-- Chris


Post a reply to this message

From: srh
Subject: Re: Running pov 3.1 on windows 10
Date: 20 Mar 2021 20:27:58
Message: <6056930e$1@news.povray.org>
Chris Cason <del### [at] deletethistoopovrayorg> Wrote in message:r
> On 21/03/2021 03:07, srh wrote:> I tried compatibility mode already (good
suggestion, tho) and that did not work..as to why, I have some other programs that
work with povray...but only the older versions....thanks for your response.Are you
trying to run the windows version of 3.1? If so, try the DOS version instead (however
note that as far as I am aware this will not work in 64-bit versions of windows 10).If
you really absolutely need version 3.1 and later versions won't work even with an
appropriate #version 3.1 directive added to their output files then you may have to
set up a virtual machine with windows 95 or something and run it in there. It might
even be worth booting a live linux ISO and seeing if the Linux 3.1 console version
works.If all else fails you could try building a new console exe from the source.--
Chris


I want a windows version, as the programs I want to work with won't work in a dos
emulator (like dosbox)...will look into a virtual windows 95 set up...if all else
fails, I will do the #version 3.1 directive, but it will entail a lot of extra work. 
Thanks for your response...and as far as building a new console exe, that is probably
beyond my time budget...too much to catch up on as far as compilers go....Thanks again
for responding.
-- 
srh



----Android NewsGroup Reader----
https://piaohong.s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/usenet/index.html


Post a reply to this message

From: Mike Horvath
Subject: Re: Running pov 3.1 on windows 10
Date: 17 May 2021 05:07:22
Message: <60a2324a$1@news.povray.org>
I was wondering if pov 10 will work on windows 3.2?


Mike


Post a reply to this message

From: Mike Horvath
Subject: Re: Running pov 3.1 on windows 10
Date: 17 May 2021 05:13:56
Message: <60a233d4$1@news.povray.org>
On 5/17/2021 5:07 AM, Mike Horvath wrote:
> I was wondering if pov 10 will work on windows 3.2?
> 
> 
> Mike


3.11 I mean. Typo.


Mike


Post a reply to this message

From: Alain Martel
Subject: Re: Running pov 3.1 on windows 10
Date: 17 May 2021 12:52:37
Message: <60a29f55$1@news.povray.org>

> On 5/17/2021 5:07 AM, Mike Horvath wrote:
>> I was wondering if pov 10 will work on windows 3.2?

That should be POV-Ray 3.7 or 3.8.

>>
>>
>> Mike
> 
> 
> 3.11 I mean. Typo.
> 
> 
> Mike

It should, but only if you get the 32 bits version AND Win32s is installed.

Also, POV-Ray 3.1 should run in Windows 10, both 32 and 64 bits versions.
Even versions 2.x should work, unless you have the 16 bits executable in 
Windows 10 64 bits.


Post a reply to this message

From: Tor Olav Kristensen
Subject: Re: Running pov 3.1 on windows 10
Date: 17 May 2021 20:15:00
Message: <web.60a3068546def6238e52cc8789db30a9@news.povray.org>
srh <the### [at] yahoocom> wrote:
> I have pov 3.6 and 3.7 running on windows 10.  I tried installing pov 3.1, but it
will not render - it just becomes u
nresponsive.  Is 3.1 just not compatible with windows 10 or is there some setting that
needs adjusting?  Any info on th
is will be appreciated.

You could run Ubuntu 20.04 LTS in a virtual machine, install Wine in it and then
use it to install POV-Ray v3.1g, v3.5 and/or v3.7.

v3.1g and v3.5 seem to run fine in Wine. There are some problems with rendering
of the user interface in v3.7 but apart from that it seems to work ok.
(Maximizing or rescaling the POV-Ray window sometimes fixes the user interface.

Its the irony of fate that old versions of Windows programs now runs better in
newer versions of Linux than in newer versions of Windows.

After installation the POV-Ray versions become available under Wine in the start
menu.

I've attached a screenshot of those 3 POV-Ray versions running in Wine on my
Lubuntu desktop.

--
Tor Olav
http://subcube.com
https://github.com/t-o-k


Post a reply to this message


Attachments:
Download 'three versions of pov-ray running in wine.png' (2066 KB)

Preview of image 'three versions of pov-ray running in wine.png'
three versions of pov-ray running in wine.png


 

From: Alain Martel
Subject: Re: Running pov 3.1 on windows 10
Date: 18 May 2021 19:09:18
Message: <60a4491e$1@news.povray.org>

> srh <the### [at] yahoocom> wrote:
>> I have pov 3.6 and 3.7 running on windows 10.  I tried installing pov 3.1, but it
will not render - it just becomes 
> unresponsive.  Is 3.1 just not compatible with windows 10 or is there some setting
that needs adjusting?  Any info on 
> this will be appreciated.
> 

You should try the compatibility settings.
Have a shortcut to your 3.1 executable.



There, you can try the automatic compatibility resolution. That's the 
big button near the top.



Under Windows 10, 64 bits, the list is : Windows Vista, Vista SP1, Vista 
SP2, Windows 7 and Windows 8.
If you have Windows 10, 32 bits, it should also include Windows XP and 
maybe Windows 2000.



Post a reply to this message

Copyright 2003-2021 Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty. Ltd.