POV-Ray : Newsgroups : povray.general : qtpovray-3.80.5 for Linux Server Time: 12 Dec 2018 21:55:10 GMT
  qtpovray-3.80.5 for Linux (Message 1 to 10 of 11)  
Goto Latest 10 Messages Next 1 Messages >>>
From: dick balaska
Subject: qtpovray-3.80.5 for Linux
Date: 2 Aug 2018 07:44:43
Message: <5b62b66b$1@news.povray.org>
I have release v3.80.5
Mostly to try the "C" locale hack for hugo.
There's some other fixes too.
Thanks to hugo's woes, I tried cornell.pov, which uses radiosity, which
I don't. This exposed that I was missing displaying the radiosity passes.

Since I silently released a couple of versions between .1 and .5 ,
here's the full changelog:

qtpovray (3.80.5~bionic1) bionic; urgency=low

  * Bug #9 - Clicking the "New" button tries to create a file under the
current
    resource, even if that is a file.
  * Bug 10 - Qt sets the locale, which confuses the povray parser which
expects
    the "C" locale.
  * Bug 11 - qtpovray doesn't display the progressive passes, like in
radiosity
    renders.


 -- Dick Balaska <dic### [at] buckosoftcom>  Thu, 02 Aug 2018 01:14:55 -0400

qtpovray (3.80.4~bionic1) bionic; urgency=low

  * Open image files as images, not useless text
  * Add splash panel with better instructions for newbies
  * Fix bug with closing an editor closes two editors.
  * Fix bug where clicking an error didn't go to the source

 -- Dick Balaska <dic### [at] buckosoftcom>  Tue, 24 Jul 2018 10:55:38 -0400

qtpovray (3.80.3~bionic1) bionic; urgency=low

  * Add .desktop and icon files
  * Cleanup tutorial

 -- Dick Balaska <dic### [at] buckosoftcom>  Sat, 21 Jul 2018 02:17:54 -0400

qtpovray (3.80.2~bionic1) bionic; urgency=low

  * Try to find the POV-Ray help if config is empty.
  * Display the current editor's filename in the title bar.

 -- Dick Balaska <dic### [at] buckosoftcom>  Fri, 20 Jul 2018 05:47:07 -0400

qtpovray (3.80.1~bionic1) bionic; urgency=low

  * Update qtpovray help.
  * Update to povray-3.8.0-alpha.9606898
  * Fix extraneous qWarning()s.

 -- Dick Balaska <dic### [at] buckosoftcom>  Mon, 16 Jul 2018 06:40:44 -0400

qtpovray (3.80.0~bionic1) bionic; urgency=low

  * Initial release.

 -- Dick Balaska <dic### [at] buckosoftcom>  Tue, 19 Jun 2018 20:27:19 -0400

-- 
dik
Rendered 328976 of 330000 (99%)


Post a reply to this message

From: clipka
Subject: Re: qtpovray-3.80.5 for Linux
Date: 2 Aug 2018 08:04:55
Message: <5b62bb27$1@news.povray.org>
Am 02.08.2018 um 09:44 schrieb dick balaska:

>   * Bug 11 - qtpovray doesn't display the progressive passes, like in
> radiosity
>     renders.

Does this also include mosaic preview?
Also, does the user get progress feedback during photon shooting?

(Gee, I really should try out qtpovray myself.)


Post a reply to this message

From: dick balaska
Subject: Re: qtpovray-3.80.5 for Linux
Date: 2 Aug 2018 10:16:54
Message: <5b62da16$1@news.povray.org>
On 08/02/2018 04:04 AM, clipka wrote:
> Am 02.08.2018 um 09:44 schrieb dick balaska:
> 
>>   * Bug 11 - qtpovray doesn't display the progressive passes, like in
>> radiosity
>>     renders.
> 
> Does this also include mosaic preview?

Uh... no. I haven't done mosaic preview since my Amiga days.
... wow, that is inefficient.  Instead of using the available
DrawFilledRectangle() like radiosity, it builds it's own rect using
DrawPixel().
Fixed for .6


> Also, does the user get progress feedback during photon shooting?

I'm not sure what I'm looking for.  The two samples render real fast on
my machine.  I'm not missing any messages from povray, but that doesn't
really mean anything.

> 
> (Gee, I really should try out qtpovray myself.)
> 

I have been trying to get the Windows edition built.  I am about to say
screw it and just build one big app without the libraries. But that's
too ugly.

+++
Oh, I can't test the locale fix because I can't make it fail.
$ LANG=de_CH qtpovray

(process:27586): Gtk-WARNING **: Locale not supported by C library.
	Using the fallback 'C' locale.

(or LANG=fr_FR.utf8)
-- 
dik
Rendered 328976 of 330000 (99%)


Post a reply to this message

From: jr
Subject: Re: qtpovray-3.80.5 for Linux
Date: 2 Aug 2018 12:55:01
Message: <web.5b62fe6ed3b3f1c11500b2fd0@news.povray.org>
hi,

dick balaska <dic### [at] buckosoftcom> wrote:
> Oh, I can't test the locale fix because I can't make it fail.
> $ LANG=de_CH qtpovray
>
> (process:27586): Gtk-WARNING **: Locale not supported by C library.
>  Using the fallback 'C' locale.
>
> (or LANG=fr_FR.utf8)

works ok for me, no change of locale afaict but no error either.
using 3.80.0 built Jul 12/13th.


regards, jr.


Post a reply to this message

From: Bald Eagle
Subject: Re: qtpovray-3.80.5 for Linux
Date: 2 Aug 2018 16:25:00
Message: <web.5b633005d3b3f1c1c437ac910@news.povray.org>
dick balaska <dic### [at] buckosoftcom> wrote:
> I have release v3.80.5

So I'm assuming to update, I do some sort of sudo apt-get qtpovray kinda thing.

I could also use a quick-start tip to get the extras, insert menu,  etc
installed.

Perhaps the "workspace" or whatever it's called could be made slightly more
usable - I had to fight a bit to switch back and forth between my old Windows
partition, and the new default povray scenes location.

Other than that, the only thing I'd like to see is a short summary of frequently
used command-line +/- options for rendering.  Just because it's a new
environment, and sometimes it helps to see what works really well for others.

With regard to Kenneth's recent query - can I select a portion of a render to
have it re-rendered?  I haven't had a chance to do a lot over the past couple of
days.


Post a reply to this message

From: dick balaska
Subject: qtpovray-3.80.5 for Linux
Date: 2 Aug 2018 21:51:02
Message: <5b637cc6$1@news.povray.org>
On 08/02/2018 12:23 PM, Bald Eagle wrote:
> dick balaska <dic### [at] buckosoftcom> wrote:
>> I have release v3.80.5
> 
> So I'm assuming to update, I do some sort of sudo apt-get qtpovray kinda thing.

You pick it up with your regular updates. It will either find it in a
day or two or on Mint I typed "update" in the menu search widget to
bring up Update Manager. Click Refresh if it's not there already.

> 
> I could also use a quick-start tip to get the extras, insert menu,  etc
> installed.

I'm not sure what you mean.  Tell me where you went that didn't help.

Basically, all roads lead to the qtpovray front page
http://www.buckosoft.com/qtpovray/
which the first thing is a "Download binaries" link
http://www.buckosoft.com/qtpovray/download/
which gives the three lines to install.

> 
> Perhaps the "workspace" or whatever it's called could be made slightly more
> usable - I had to fight a bit to switch back and forth between my old Windows
> partition, and the new default povray scenes location.

The workspace is a paradigm shift for you. If'n you used eclipse, this
would be comfortable.  I'm willing to blow that out a bit to accommodate
y'all, i.e. render any file from any where.  I can't decide which way to
make the default. "Walled garden workspace" or "Free for all".  I'm
leaning towards the first one, that is modern Best Practice.

Sorry about the file locations.  That's just the way it is.  qtpovray on
Linux mirrors povray on Linux. /usr/share/qtpovray-3.8 is equivalent to
/usr/share/povray-3.7


> 
> Other than that, the only thing I'd like to see is a short summary of frequently
> used command-line +/- options for rendering.  Just because it's a new
> environment, and sometimes it helps to see what works really well for others.

I agree.  There is a lack of search in the help; it's just web pages. I
had to look up the Mosaic Preview switch and it was a bit tedious.
I miss the povclipse2 ini editor
http://www.buckosoft.com/povclipse2/g/povclipse2_iniEditing_ImagePage.png
even though I hardly used it.  Maybe I'll write that again.

> 
> With regard to Kenneth's recent query - can I select a portion of a render to
> have it re-rendered?  I haven't had a chance to do a lot over the past couple of
> days.

I missed that.  And that would be a povray (clipka) question. I would
guess "no".

> 
> 
> 


-- 
dik
Rendered 328976 of 330000 (99%)


Post a reply to this message

From: clipka
Subject: Re: qtpovray-3.80.5 for Linux
Date: 3 Aug 2018 07:49:36
Message: <5b640910$1@news.povray.org>
Am 02.08.2018 um 23:51 schrieb dick balaska:

>> With regard to Kenneth's recent query - can I select a portion of a render to
>> have it re-rendered?  I haven't had a chance to do a lot over the past couple of
>> days.
> 
> I missed that.  And that would be a povray (clipka) question. I would
> guess "no".

Actually, I guess it is a qtpovray question:

In POV-Ray for Windows, you can select a region of the preview with the
mouse and it will give you the option to re-render only that portion of
the scene (by quietly passing `+sc`/`+sr`/`+ec`/`+er` information to the
render engine).

You can also shift-select the region and it will give you the option to
add/replace the corresponding command-line switches to/in the
command-line input field, so that later renders will also render that
particular portion.


I think Bald Eagle's question was whether qtpovray also provides a
mechanism to set those switches using only the mouse.


Post a reply to this message

From: dick balaska
Subject: Re: qtpovray-3.80.5 for Linux
Date: 3 Aug 2018 09:30:53
Message: <5b6420cd$1@news.povray.org>
On 08/03/2018 03:49 AM, clipka wrote:
> Am 02.08.2018 um 23:51 schrieb dick balaska:
> 
>>> With regard to Kenneth's recent query - can I select a portion of a render to
>>> have it re-rendered?  I haven't had a chance to do a lot over the past couple of
>>> days.
>>
>> I missed that.  And that would be a povray (clipka) question. I would
>> guess "no".
> 
> Actually, I guess it is a qtpovray question:
> 
> In POV-Ray for Windows, you can select a region of the preview with the
> mouse and it will give you the option to re-render only that portion of
> the scene (by quietly passing `+sc`/`+sr`/`+ec`/`+er` information to the
> render engine).
> 
> You can also shift-select the region and it will give you the option to
> add/replace the corresponding command-line switches to/in the
> command-line input field, so that later renders will also render that
> particular portion.
> 
> 
> I think Bald Eagle's question was whether qtpovray also provides a
> mechanism to set those switches using only the mouse.
> 

I see. No, I never knew that. Does it merge the newly rendered pixels in
to the existing graphic?  I'm going to have to try this out.

-- 
dik
Rendered 328976 of 330000 (99%)


Post a reply to this message

From: Bald Eagle
Subject: Re: qtpovray-3.80.5 for Linux
Date: 3 Aug 2018 10:35:01
Message: <web.5b642ed5d3b3f1c1458c7afe0@news.povray.org>
dick balaska <dic### [at] buckosoftcom> wrote:

> I see. No, I never knew that. Does it merge the newly rendered pixels in
> to the existing graphic?  I'm going to have to try this out.

I tried it last night - this feature isn't implemented (yet) in qtPR.

It ONLY renders those pixels - so that you can quickly fine tune some very
specific geometry or lighting, or texture issue without having to wait for the
whole parametric glass refelections photons radiosity scene to render to that
point.

Merging those pixels with a previous render is a cool idea though - maybe use a
[ctrl][alt][shift] mouse-selected bounding box to do that, or only do it when a
[new] command line switch already is in the equation.


Post a reply to this message

From: Bald Eagle
Subject: Re: qtpovray-3.80.5 for Linux
Date: 3 Aug 2018 10:40:01
Message: <web.5b6430a5d3b3f1c1458c7afe0@news.povray.org>
dick balaska <dic### [at] buckosoftcom> wrote:

> You pick it up with your regular updates. It will either find it in a
> day or two or on Mint I typed "update" in the menu search widget to
> bring up Update Manager. Click Refresh if it's not there already.

apparently that has happened.   There is insert menu joy to be had.

> > I could also use a quick-start tip to get the extras, insert menu,  etc
> > installed.
>
> I'm not sure what you mean.  Tell me where you went that didn't help.

You had asked," Did you install qtpovray-extras? "
perhaps it is automagically done now.

> > Perhaps the "workspace" or whatever it's called could be made slightly more
> > usable - I had to fight a bit to switch back and forth between my old Windows
> > partition, and the new default povray scenes location.
>
> The workspace is a paradigm shift for you. If'n you used eclipse, this
> would be comfortable.  I'm willing to blow that out a bit to accommodate
> y'all, i.e. render any file from any where.  I can't decide which way to
> make the default. "Walled garden workspace" or "Free for all".  I'm
> leaning towards the first one, that is modern Best Practice.
>
> Sorry about the file locations.  That's just the way it is.  qtpovray on
> Linux mirrors povray on Linux. /usr/share/qtpovray-3.8 is equivalent to
> /usr/share/povray-3.7

I'm not so concerned with the default parameters - it's the burping in the
switching mechanism.   I'd have to elaborate - but maybe others can try
switching to a new directory or two.


With this editor, can some sort of "hot-key" be implemented?
I'm forever needing to look up the specific syntax of dumb things, or whole
blocks of code.
I used to use a MUD where you could define 10 hot keys and paste-in a fair bit
of text - THAT would be pretty helpful.  I know - I could use a custom insert
menu, and I do, but hot keys would be 100x faster  :)
Just an idea.


Post a reply to this message

Goto Latest 10 Messages Next 1 Messages >>>

Copyright 2003-2008 Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty. Ltd.