POV-Ray : Newsgroups : povray.general : How to parse data only once in whole animation Server Time
3 Aug 2024 10:21:10 EDT (-0400)
  How to parse data only once in whole animation (Message 1 to 10 of 17)  
Goto Latest 10 Messages Next 7 Messages >>>
From: Gawel
Subject: How to parse data only once in whole animation
Date: 30 May 2004 15:35:27
Message: <40ba377f@news.povray.org>
Hajo,
I have large *.inc file with definition of my objects.
Almost 90% time of rendering in every frame takes parsing of data.
However data does not change during rendering.
Is it possible to read data only once ?

thanks in advance

--
Gawel
-------------------------------


Werner Heisenberg


Post a reply to this message

From: Tim Nikias v2 0
Subject: Re: How to parse data only once in whole animation
Date: 30 May 2004 18:06:15
Message: <40ba5ad7@news.povray.org>
> Hajo,
> I have large *.inc file with definition of my objects.
> Almost 90% time of rendering in every frame takes parsing of data.
> However data does not change during rendering.
> Is it possible to read data only once ?
>
> thanks in advance

Depends. If your include-file actually generates the objects via some SDL,
there might be possibilities to write the finished objects to a file and
load that, instead of parsing the objects for every frame. If the parsing is
needed to simply load large meshes or CSG objects, and the include doesn't
generate the objects via Macros or such, well, then there's not much you can
do about it. POV-Ray, though with animation support, wasn't programmed to be
an animation tool. It was programmed to render a single frame, via "clock"
it just automates rendering one frame after another.

Regards,
Tim

-- 
"Tim Nikias v2.0"
Homepage: <http://www.nolights.de>


Post a reply to this message

From: Mike Williams
Subject: Re: How to parse data only once in whole animation
Date: 31 May 2004 00:00:56
Message: <K8qOxEAt3quAFwJB@econym.demon.co.uk>
Wasn't it Gawel who wrote:
>Hajo,
>I have large *.inc file with definition of my objects.
>Almost 90% time of rendering in every frame takes parsing of data.
>However data does not change during rendering.
>Is it possible to read data only once ?

No, but in many cases it's possible to speed things up by saving the
results of any complicated calculations that you are performing during
the parsing. The parser tends to be pretty quick at processing raw
objects, and the things that tend to take up the parsing time are often
the complicated calculations that determine the positioning of those
objects. So save the calculated data from the first frame by #write-ing
it to a file and then just #read it back for the other frames.

The other thing that's likely to take huge amounts of parsing time is
the loading of tens of megabytes of mesh data, and there's no way to
avoid the parsing time for that.

-- 
Mike Williams
Gentleman of Leisure


Post a reply to this message

From: Gawel
Subject: Re: How to parse data only once in whole animation
Date: 31 May 2004 12:51:56
Message: <40bb62ac$1@news.povray.org>
> The other thing that's likely to take huge amounts of parsing time is
> the loading of tens of megabytes of mesh data, and there's no way to
> avoid the parsing time for that.

That's the case. I have large meshes :(.
I found that MegaPov in version 0.7 have
persitent variables and that's what I need but
I can't find this version (0.7).
Below links seems not to work :(
http://www.nathan.kopp.com/download.htm

Do you know where I can find  MegaPov version 0.7?

thanks in advance

Gawel


Post a reply to this message

From: Thorsten Froehlich
Subject: Re: How to parse data only once in whole animation
Date: 31 May 2004 13:28:45
Message: <40bb6b4d$1@news.povray.org>
In article <40bb62fa$1@news.povray.org> , "Gawel" <gaw### [at] SPAMIKgazetapl>
wrote:

> Where can I find this soft ?
> Below links seems not to work :(
> http://www.nathan.kopp.com/download.htm

The link works just fine.  This is not surprising either because it points
to the same server as you are posting to, and as you can post here,
povray.org obviously is not down :-)  You may want to check your web browser
configuration...

    Thorsten

____________________________________________________
Thorsten Froehlich, Duisburg, Germany
e-mail: tho### [at] trfde

Visit POV-Ray on the web: http://mac.povray.org


Post a reply to this message

From: Gawel
Subject: Re: How to parse data only once in whole animation
Date: 31 May 2004 14:53:56
Message: <40bb7f44@news.povray.org>
Well, MegaPov 0.7 is not enough becasue it needs PovRay 3.1 and
this version does not support mesh2 :(. Any other idea ?

Gawel


Post a reply to this message

From: Thorsten Froehlich
Subject: Re: How to parse data only once in whole animation
Date: 31 May 2004 15:26:47
Message: <40bb86f7$1@news.povray.org>
In article <40bb7f44@news.povray.org> , "Gawel" <gaw### [at] SPAMIKgazetapl> 
wrote:

> Well, MegaPov 0.7 is not enough becasue it needs PovRay 3.1 and
> this version does not support mesh2 :(. Any other idea ?

Argh!  It of course needs the rest of the files that come with POV-Ray!  It
is a POV-Ray patch collection, and as such it obviously provides you with a
new POV-Ray executable which you find in the archive you are supposed to
download and which then tells you how to replace the POV-Ray executable from
the official version...

    Thorsten

____________________________________________________
Thorsten Froehlich, Duisburg, Germany
e-mail: tho### [at] trfde

Visit POV-Ray on the web: http://mac.povray.org


Post a reply to this message

From: Gilles Tran
Subject: Re: How to parse data only once in whole animation
Date: 1 Jun 2004 13:14:43
Message: <40bcb983$1@news.povray.org>

news:40bb7f44@news.povray.org...
> Well, MegaPov 0.7 is not enough becasue it needs PovRay 3.1 and
> this version does not support mesh2 :(. Any other idea ?

Actually mesh2 was introduced in the Megapov line of patches, so it's
supported. However, you will have to add "#version unofficial Megapov 0.7"
on the top of each mesh file (not just once in the scene file), otherwise it
won't work.

G.


-- 

**********************
http://www.oyonale.com
**********************
- Graphic experiments
- POV-Ray and Poser computer images
- Posters


Post a reply to this message

From: Gawel
Subject: Re: How to parse data only once in whole animation
Date: 1 Jun 2004 15:24:34
Message: <40bcd7f2$1@news.povray.org>
> > Well, MegaPov 0.7 is not enough becasue it needs PovRay 3.1 and
> > this version does not support mesh2 :(. Any other idea ?
>
> Argh!  It of course needs the rest of the files that come with POV-Ray!
It
> is a POV-Ray patch collection, and as such it obviously provides you with
a
> new POV-Ray executable which you find in the archive you are supposed to
> download and which then tells you how to replace the POV-Ray executable
from
> the official version...

I do not understand you post. Especially your annoyance...

I wrote that I have MegaPov 0.7 and Povray 3.1.
What's more I thought that combintion of those both application does NOT
support mesh2 object.
I also was not able to run MegaPov 0.7 with Povray 3.5. Therefore I did not
see any possibility to solve
my problem. Fortunately Gilles Tran gave my an advice and now I know how to
render mesh2 with MegaPov 0.7
and PovRay 3.1. That's all.


Gawel


Post a reply to this message

From: Gawel
Subject: Re: How to parse data only once in whole animation
Date: 1 Jun 2004 15:27:30
Message: <40bcd8a2$1@news.povray.org>
> Actually mesh2 was introduced in the Megapov line of patches, so it's
> supported. However, you will have to add "#version unofficial Megapov 0.7"
> on the top of each mesh file (not just once in the scene file), otherwise
it
> won't work.

Thanks very much. It solves my problem, although is pity that is does not
take advanatege of
newest version of PovRay.

--
Gawel
-------------------------------


Werner Heisenberg


Post a reply to this message

Goto Latest 10 Messages Next 7 Messages >>>

Copyright 2003-2023 Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty. Ltd.