POV-Ray : Newsgroups : povray.general : Need help with 'normal' Server Time
13 Aug 2024 01:16:31 EDT (-0400)
  Need help with 'normal' (Message 1 to 5 of 5)  
From: Aaron Shaver
Subject: Need help with 'normal'
Date: 18 Dec 1998 01:10:16
Message: <3679E418.E296DBAF@usa.net>
I'm making a basic scene with some village huts in a valley in front of
a mountain.  I can't seem to put a normal like 'bumps' or 'dents' on the
roofs of the huts.

The hut is made up of three objects CSG'd together.  I can do normals on
the heightfield used for the valley, I added some bumps to texurize it. 
But the cone (roof) doesn't respond, I tried all different sizes and
scales (i.e. bumps 0.002 to bumps 2).  Is it because it is in the CSG
'object { }' ??

I've read the POV doc and checked the syntax, please help!  The source
code is attached.

-- 
( Aaron Shaver - aar### [at] usanet )
( SkinnyBo - EFnet IRC )
( Owner, RapidFire Entertainment )
( http://members.xoom.com/rfeo )


Post a reply to this message


Attachments:
Download 'us-ascii' (3 KB)

From: Cookie Monster
Subject: Re: Need help with 'normal'
Date: 18 Dec 1998 02:40:44
Message: <367a06fc.0@news.povray.org>
Maybe you should try this :
object { VillageHut
 translate <2, .11, 3>
 texture { T_Wood17
  normal { bumps 0.8 scale 0.0002}
  finish {
   ambient 0.1
   diffuse 0.6
 }
   }
}
put a high value for the bumps and try to scale it around 0.0002, then you
could change bumps value for a fine tune.

POVingly
Coo### [at] cyberdudecom


>I'm making a basic scene with some village huts in a valley in front of
>a mountain.  I can't seem to put a normal like 'bumps' or 'dents' on the
>roofs of the huts.
>
>The hut is made up of three objects CSG'd together.  I can do normals on
>the heightfield used for the valley, I added some bumps to texurize it.
>But the cone (roof) doesn't respond, I tried all different sizes and
>scales (i.e. bumps 0.002 to bumps 2).  Is it because it is in the CSG
>'object { }' ??
>
>I've read the POV doc and checked the syntax, please help!  The source
>code is attached.
>
>--
>( Aaron Shaver - aar### [at] usanet )
>( SkinnyBo - EFnet IRC )
>( Owner, RapidFire Entertainment )
>( http://members.xoom.com/rfeo )


Post a reply to this message

From: Daniel Connelly
Subject: Re: Need help with 'normal'
Date: 18 Dec 1998 10:09:18
Message: <367A701E.AB0FB962@puff.stanford.edu>
Aaron Shaver wrote:
> 
> I'm making a basic scene with some village huts in a valley in front of
> a mountain.  I can't seem to put a normal like 'bumps' or 'dents' on the
> roofs of the huts.
> 
> The hut is made up of three objects CSG'd together.  I can do normals on
> the heightfield used for the valley, I added some bumps to texurize it.
> But the cone (roof) doesn't respond, I tried all different sizes and
> scales (i.e. bumps 0.002 to bumps 2).  Is it because it is in the CSG
> 'object { }' ??
> 
> I've read the POV doc and checked the syntax, please help!  The source
> code is attached.
> 



I don't have POV access right now, but I suspect the problem is that
the wood textures you are using are compound (ie layered) textures.  With
compound
textures, the construct :

texture {
  CompoundTexture
  normal { ... }
}

no longer functions as expected, as the normal will only affect the last
texture in the compound list.  Thus you may need to look at the definition
of CompoundTexture and customize each component separately.

Dan


Post a reply to this message

From: raven
Subject: Re: Rendering - HELP !
Date: 19 Dec 1998 16:00:21
Message: <367c13e5.0@news.povray.org>
Hallo,
I work with Rhinoceros as registerd user and with the Rhino I use for
designing MoRay as registered user too. For rendering I use your very great
program POVRay 3.0. This one is indeed very excellent in WIN NT4.0, all is
O.K. But I have a little problem with rendering time. Now I render a scene
with 349 objects, 7 spotlites and 4 AreaLights. On the bootom bar in MoRay I
read these values: 66572 V (69%), 107636 E (63%), in "Advanced" window I
have set: Memory in kB to use for Vertices: 3000, Memory in kB to use for
Edges: 2000, Minimum number of lines to draw before refreshing 1000, Maximum
number of lines to draw before refreshing 2000. The picture has size: 2048 x
1536, Antialiasing on, Radiosity On. My machine: Pentium II - 266 MHz,
grafic card ATI - 8 MB, 192 MB RAM, size of Virtual Memory 250 MB, Free disc
memory - 800 MB. I am rendering this picture 3 days and 7 hours and is ready
74 % only. On the bottom bar is remark 0 PPS.
Please, would you be so very kind to send me some information about my
setting and advice if it is all O.K.? Or I make some fault (error)?
Please, please.
All the best for you,
raven
stu### [at] iolcz


Post a reply to this message

From: Nieminen Mika
Subject: Re: Rendering - HELP !
Date: 20 Dec 1998 09:13:18
Message: <367d05fe.0@news.povray.org>
raven <stu### [at] iolcz> wrote:
: For rendering I use your very great
: program POVRay 3.0.

  It's not my program ;)

: But I have a little problem with rendering time.

  Raytracing IS slow, you know.

: Now I render a scene
: with 349 objects, 7 spotlites and 4 AreaLights.

  The number of lights affect very strongly the rendering times. More light
sources, slower rendering. Specially with area lights.
  Try to reduce, if possible, the number of area lights and the number of
light sources in general. When you use area lights, make them spotlights
(area spotlights are legal in povray) if the light only illuminates certain
area of the scene. When an area light is also a spotlight, povray will make
area light calculations only in the illumination cone of the light and nowhere
else. This can significantly increase rendering speed.
  I suppose you have used adaptive area lights, don't you?

: On the bootom bar in MoRay I
: read these values: 66572 V (69%), 107636 E (63%), in "Advanced" window I
: have set: Memory in kB to use for Vertices: 3000, Memory in kB to use for
: Edges: 2000, Minimum number of lines to draw before refreshing 1000, Maximum
: number of lines to draw before refreshing 2000.

  These options have absolutely nothing to do with povray, and changing them
will not affect povray rendering time in any way. They are only internal
settings of moray (they affect the wireframe seen in moray). Povray doesn't
use meshes (vertices, edges, etc) unless you specifically add a triangle
mesh to the scene.

: The picture has size: 2048 x
: 1536, Antialiasing on, Radiosity On.

  Radiosity is another cpu-hog. Check your radiosity settings. Changing them
may increase rendering speed noticeably without loosing quality very much.
For example a slightly bigger error_bound and a bigger distance_maximum
may speed up rendering a lot, but may also produce less-quality radiosity
and even visible errors.
  See also if you can turn radiosity completely off and use shadowless dim
light sources to fake radiosity effects instead. In many cases you can
achieve very acceptable results this way.

: My machine: Pentium II - 266 MHz,
: grafic card ATI - 8 MB, 192 MB RAM, size of Virtual Memory 250 MB, Free disc
: memory - 800 MB. I am rendering this picture 3 days and 7 hours and is ready
: 74 % only.

  I don't think it's any mistake you have done. This is a normal behaviour
since you have lots of area lights and radiosity, and that surely takes
time to render.

-- 
main(i){char*_="BdsyFBThhHFBThhHFRz]NFTITQF|DJIFHQhhF";while(i=
*_++)for(;i>1;printf("%s",i-70?i&1?"[]":" ":(i=0,"\n")),i/=2);} /*- Warp. -*/


Post a reply to this message

Copyright 2003-2023 Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty. Ltd.