POV-Ray : Newsgroups : povray.tools.general : building povmodeler? Server Time
1 May 2024 18:59:06 EDT (-0400)
  building povmodeler? (Message 3 to 12 of 32)  
<<< Previous 2 Messages Goto Latest 10 Messages Next 10 Messages >>>
From: Ton
Subject: Re: building povmodeler?
Date: 26 Nov 2019 17:45:01
Message: <web.5ddda9f6cdd38c95c17c1320@news.povray.org>
Hi Dick

I assume you use Linux....

please, in your home directory, give the following commands:
mkdir povmodelerton
cd povmodelerton
git clone https://github.com/eticre/povmodeler.git
cd povmodeler
mkdir build
cd build
cmake ..
make -j4
.../povmodeler

I just tried that here, and it all works. If it doesn't, show the output of
make. Make sure you have those libraries.

Cheers
Ton.


Post a reply to this message

From: Ton
Subject: Re: building povmodeler?
Date: 26 Nov 2019 18:15:00
Message: <web.5dddb166cdd38c95c17c1320@news.povray.org>
"Ton" <ton### [at] gmailcom> wrote:
> Hi Dick
>
> I assume you use Linux....
>
> please, in your home directory, give the following commands:
> mkdir povmodelerton
> cd povmodelerton
> git clone https://github.com/eticre/povmodeler.git
> cd povmodeler
> mkdir build
> cd build
> cmake ..
> make -j4
> .../povmodeler
>
> I just tried that here, and it all works. If it doesn't, show the output of
> make. Make sure you have those libraries.
>
> Cheers
> Ton.

Typo alert:
that last line should be
../povmodeler


Post a reply to this message

From: Dick Balaska
Subject: Re: building povmodeler?
Date: 26 Nov 2019 21:12:01
Message: <5ddddb71$1@news.povray.org>
On 11/26/19 5:41 PM, Ton wrote:
> Hi Dick
> 
> I assume you use Linux....
> 
> please, in your home directory, give the following commands:
> mkdir povmodelerton
> cd povmodelerton
> git clone https://github.com/eticre/povmodeler.git
> cd povmodeler
> mkdir build
> cd build
> cmake ..
> make -j4
> .../povmodeler
> 
> I just tried that here, and it all works. If it doesn't, show the output of
> make. Make sure you have those libraries.
> 
> Cheers
> Ton.
> 
> 
> 
> 
/home/dick/povray/github/povmodelerton/povmodeler/pmrendermanager.cpp:48:10: 
fatal error: QtX11Extras/QX11Info: No such file or directory


I have that file.

dick@cyd:~/povray/github/povmodelerton/povmodeler/build$ locate QX11Info
/opt/Qt/5.13.1/Src/qtx11extras/include/QtX11Extras/QX11Info
/opt/Qt/5.13.1/gcc_64/include/QtX11Extras/QX11Info

I tried adding
find_package(Qt5X11Extras REQUIRED)
to CMakeLists.txt

but that says

dick@cyd:~/povray/github/povmodelerton/povmodeler/build$ cmake ..
CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:22 (find_package):
   By not providing "FindQt5X11Extras.cmake" in CMAKE_MODULE_PATH this 
project
   has asked CMake to find a package configuration file provided by
   "Qt5X11Extras", but CMake did not find one.

   Could not find a package configuration file provided by 
"Qt5X11Extras" with
   any of the following names:

     Qt5X11ExtrasConfig.cmake
     qt5x11extras-config.cmake

   Add the installation prefix of "Qt5X11Extras" to CMAKE_PREFIX_PATH or set
   "Qt5X11Extras_DIR" to a directory containing one of the above files.  If
   "Qt5X11Extras" provides a separate development package or SDK, be sure it
   has been installed.


-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
See also 
"/home/dick/povray/github/povmodelerton/povmodeler/build/CMakeFiles/CMakeOutput.log".

-- 
dik
Rendered 29,374,617,600 of 49,882,521,600 pixels (58%)


Post a reply to this message


Attachments:
Download 'us-ascii' (27 KB)

From: Ton
Subject: Re: building povmodeler?
Date: 27 Nov 2019 01:45:00
Message: <web.5dde1a51cdd38c95c17c1320@news.povray.org>
I'm a bit surprised that your qt-include directories are in /opt, but that
should not be a problem.
Could you run the next command:

pkg-config --cflags Qt5Core

My output here is:
-DQT_CORE_LIB -I/usr/include/qt5/QtCore -I/usr/include/qt5
and my include file is located at:
/usr/include/qt5/QtX11Extras/QX11Info

So now the compiler knows how to find that file.

The problem with cmake is that you never know the command line of the compiler,
so you don't have a clue about the include directories it's using.

Cheers
Ton.


Post a reply to this message

From: Dick Balaska
Subject: Re: building povmodeler?
Date: 27 Nov 2019 03:54:29
Message: <5dde39c5$1@news.povray.org>
On 11/27/19 1:40 AM, Ton wrote:
> I'm a bit surprised that your qt-include directories are in /opt, but that
> should not be a problem.
> Could you run the next command:
> 
> pkg-config --cflags Qt5Core
> 
> My output here is:
> -DQT_CORE_LIB -I/usr/include/qt5/QtCore -I/usr/include/qt5
> and my include file is located at:
> /usr/include/qt5/QtX11Extras/QX11Info
> 
> So now the compiler knows how to find that file.
> 
> The problem with cmake is that you never know the command line of the compiler,
> so you don't have a clue about the include directories it's using.

Ah ha.

$ pkg-config --cflags Qt5Core
-I/usr/include/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/QtCore 
-I/usr/include/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5

qmake knows I want to build with /opt/Qt/5.13.1
cmake does not.  It uses the debian installed version, which I think is 
5.9.5.

The debian version does not seem to have qt5X11Extras
$ ls /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/cmake
Qt5  Qt5Concurrent  Qt5Core  Qt5DBus  Qt5Gui  Qt5Network 
Qt5OpenGLExtensions  Qt5PrintSupport  Qt5Sql  Qt5Test  Qt5Widgets  Qt5Xml


I don't see a package to install to fix that.  There *is* a -doc package

$ apt-cache search qtx11
python-pyqt5.qtx11extras - Python 2 bindings for QtX11Extras module
python-pyqt5.qtx11extras-dbg - Python 2 bindings for QtX11Extras module 
(debug extension)
python3-pyqt5.qtx11extras - Python 3 bindings for QtX11Extras module
python3-pyqt5.qtx11extras-dbg - Python 3 bindings for QtX11Extras module 
(debug extension)
qtx11extras5-doc - Qt 5 X11 extras documentation
qtx11extras5-doc-html - Qt 5 X11 extras HTML documentation

-- 
dik
Rendered 29,374,617,600 of 49,882,521,600 pixels (58%)


Post a reply to this message

From: Dick Balaska
Subject: Re: building povmodeler?
Date: 27 Nov 2019 04:09:38
Message: <5dde3d52$1@news.povray.org>
On 11/27/19 3:54 AM, Dick Balaska wrote:

> The debian version does not seem to have qt5X11Extras
> $ ls /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/cmake
> Qt5  Qt5Concurrent  Qt5Core  Qt5DBus  Qt5Gui  Qt5Network 
> Qt5OpenGLExtensions  Qt5PrintSupport  Qt5Sql  Qt5Test  Qt5Widgets  Qt5Xml
> 
> 
> I don't see a package to install to fix that.  There *is* a -doc package
> 
> $ apt-cache search qtx11
> python-pyqt5.qtx11extras - Python 2 bindings for QtX11Extras module
> python-pyqt5.qtx11extras-dbg - Python 2 bindings for QtX11Extras module 
> (debug extension)
> python3-pyqt5.qtx11extras - Python 3 bindings for QtX11Extras module
> python3-pyqt5.qtx11extras-dbg - Python 3 bindings for QtX11Extras module 
> (debug extension)
> qtx11extras5-doc - Qt 5 X11 extras documentation
> qtx11extras5-doc-html - Qt 5 X11 extras HTML documentation
> 

found it:
$ sudo apt install libqt5x11extras5-dev

build is progressing...

-- 
dik
Rendered 29,374,617,600 of 49,882,521,600 pixels (58%)


Post a reply to this message

From: Dick Balaska
Subject: Re: building povmodeler?
Date: 27 Nov 2019 04:18:29
Message: <5dde3f65$1@news.povray.org>
On 11/27/19 4:09 AM, Dick Balaska wrote:

> 
> build is progressing...
> 

Got it built.  I get the same log output as I posted in my previous 
thread "povmodeler blank windows".

$ ./povmodeler
qt5ct: using qt5ct plugin
qt5ct: D-Bus global menu: no
Asking for share context for widget that does not have a window handle
QOpenGLWidget: Cannot be used without a context shared with the toplevel.

...

Next I have to get it to build in qtcreator, so I can debug it.

(I have built and run other qt opengl apps.)

-- 
dik
Rendered 29,374,617,600 of 49,882,521,600 pixels (58%)


Post a reply to this message

From: Ton
Subject: Re: building povmodeler?
Date: 27 Nov 2019 19:00:00
Message: <web.5ddf0d0ccdd38c95c17c1320@news.povray.org>
Dick Balaska <dic### [at] buckosoftcom> wrote:
> On 11/27/19 4:09 AM, Dick Balaska wrote:
>
> >
> > build is progressing...
> >
>
> Got it built.  I get the same log output as I posted in my previous
> thread "povmodeler blank windows".
>
> $ ./povmodeler
> qt5ct: using qt5ct plugin
> qt5ct: D-Bus global menu: no
> Asking for share context for widget that does not have a window handle
> QOpenGLWidget: Cannot be used without a context shared with the toplevel.
>
> ...
>
> Next I have to get it to build in qtcreator, so I can debug it.
>
> (I have built and run other qt opengl apps.)
>
> --
> dik
> Rendered 29,374,617,600 of 49,882,521,600 pixels (58%)

Well done, Dick!
Why you don't have the graphics, I don't know. My Qt version here is 5.13, and
it works. It would be hard to imagine 5.13 works, and 5.9 doesn't.
qtcreator uses the same commands (cmake and make) like you used in the
commandline, so that should just work. I'll try later today.

Cheers
Ton.


Post a reply to this message

From: Dick Balaska
Subject: Re: building povmodeler?
Date: 28 Nov 2019 02:19:34
Message: <5ddf7506$1@news.povray.org>
On 11/27/19 6:55 PM, Ton wrote:
> Dick Balaska <dic### [at] buckosoftcom> wrote:

>> ...
>>
>> Next I have to get it to build in qtcreator, so I can debug it.
>>
>> (I have built and run other qt opengl apps.)
>>
>> --
>> dik
>> Rendered 29,374,617,600 of 49,882,521,600 pixels (58%)
> 
> Well done, Dick!
> Why you don't have the graphics, I don't know. My Qt version here is 5.13, and
> it works. It would be hard to imagine 5.13 works, and 5.9 doesn't.
> qtcreator uses the same commands (cmake and make) like you used in the
> commandline, so that should just work. I'll try later today.
> 
> Cheers
> Ton.
> 
> 
> 

It built first shot in qtcreator!  And it runs fine, go figure.

It's um, very mouse-main-menu oriented.  It seems like a lot of work to 
do a little.

-- 
dik
Rendered 29,714,688,000 of 49,882,521,600 pixels (59%)


Post a reply to this message

From: Bald Eagle
Subject: Re: building povmodeler?
Date: 28 Nov 2019 10:30:00
Message: <web.5ddfe714cdd38c94eec112d0@news.povray.org>
Dick Balaska <dic### [at] buckosoftcom> wrote:

> It built first shot in qtcreator!  And it runs fine, go figure.

Can you provide instructions so I can replicate?

> It's um, very mouse-main-menu oriented.  It seems like a lot of work to
> do a little.

I figured - but that's why we code.  Though some things are very hard to do
_without_ a modeler....


ALSO:
I just did an apt-get upgrade, and while I was helping out jr, I noticed that
qtpovray editor now loses my cursor for a while until I arrow-key up and down.
If I just click on a line, I get a yellow highlight but I have no idea where in
the line the cursor is.   :(


Post a reply to this message

<<< Previous 2 Messages Goto Latest 10 Messages Next 10 Messages >>>

Copyright 2003-2023 Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty. Ltd.