POV-Ray : Newsgroups : povray.binaries.images : Checker Lanscape Server Time
4 Oct 2024 15:14:57 EDT (-0400)
  Checker Lanscape (Message 1 to 7 of 7)  
From: Spider
Subject: Checker Lanscape
Date: 26 Mar 1999 18:04:11
Message: <36FC1168.16C586A1@bahnhof.se>
Ahh, here I go again. :-)

I've been working on a macro to create a landscape from an array, with several
different realisatoin types..

This landscape is a two parted thing in a rather high resolution for the array.
200x200 poitns for the land, and 300x300 for the sea. The land is parsed with a
few macros to create heights, and shallows on different points, with a equation
to change theese. 
Let me describe it.
First, initzialise the array for the ground. create another, exact duplicate of
this.
in the copy, select a point and "raise" this using the length from this point to
the others, together with a function to "smooth" or in other ways change it.
Then, change the layout so all points are >0. find the highest point, and scale
everything down to the range 0..1 . This will make sure that the diffrerent
functions all have a equal effect on the landscape. After this, add to the big
landscape array. 

Doing this with some points, will make the global landscape have several effects
applied to them. Then, I scale all points down to the range 0..1, and create a
output from this. The output is in the scale 0..1 in x,y and z, just like a
heightfield.

I'm still working on this, but may clean it up for a release someday. Currently
I haven't worked on the smooth_triangle output yet.

the sea is a specific hack, not using the same function as the land, but I will
change this so it has the same possibilities.

This method is rather flexible in the resolution, since all coordinates are
applyable to a "virtual" grid, and therefore I can increase the scale of the
arrays, thus getting a higher resolution(more triangles, or whatever).

statistics: 
Sea array: 300x300. 177 608 triangles in a mesh. This is totally unecessary.
World array: 200x200,  40000 boxes.


Well, this takes the checker plane into 3D... :-)

as you see, the sea mesh is not necessary, but this was a test render...
And more, I can optimize the other out-puts as well, but I don't really have the
time now. Just giving a slight taste of what I'm working on.


-- 
//Spider
        [ spi### [at] bahnhofse ]-[ http://www.bahnhof.se/~spider/ ]
What I can do and what I could do, I just don't know anymore
                "Marian"
        By: "Sisters Of Mercy"


Post a reply to this message

From: Spider
Subject: Image(160k+)
Date: 26 Mar 1999 18:08:19
Message: <36FC1225.6EBB5F49@bahnhof.se>
More stats:

55 727 714b of memory(Wheee)
parse: 2h 37m 25s
trace: 0h 29m 42s
total: 3h 07m 07s

As you see, the code needs work.


-- 
//Spider
        [ spi### [at] bahnhofse ]-[ http://www.bahnhof.se/~spider/ ]
What I can do and what I could do, I just don't know anymore
                "Marian"
        By: "Sisters Of Mercy"


Post a reply to this message


Attachments:
Download 'newground2.jpg' (154 KB)

Preview of image 'newground2.jpg'
newground2.jpg


 

From: Spider
Subject: Re: Checker Lanscape
Date: 26 Mar 1999 19:30:32
Message: <36FC25A6.AAFAB55A@bahnhof.se>
Just to give some perspective.
This was in win95, 64mb SDRAM, POV as SHELL
I did another render, without the water mesh.
it took about 60 mins.


Spider wrote:
> 
> Ahh, here I go again. :-)
> 
> I've been working on a macro to create a landscape from an array, with several
> different realisatoin types..
> 
> This landscape is a two parted thing in a rather high resolution for the array.
> 200x200 poitns for the land, and 300x300 for the sea. The land is parsed with a
> few macros to create heights, and shallows on different points, with a equation
> to change theese.
> Let me describe it.
> First, initzialise the array for the ground. create another, exact duplicate of
> this.
> in the copy, select a point and "raise" this using the length from this point to
> the others, together with a function to "smooth" or in other ways change it.
> Then, change the layout so all points are >0. find the highest point, and scale
> everything down to the range 0..1 . This will make sure that the diffrerent
> functions all have a equal effect on the landscape. After this, add to the big
> landscape array.
> 
> Doing this with some points, will make the global landscape have several effects
> applied to them. Then, I scale all points down to the range 0..1, and create a
> output from this. The output is in the scale 0..1 in x,y and z, just like a
> heightfield.
> 
> I'm still working on this, but may clean it up for a release someday. Currently
> I haven't worked on the smooth_triangle output yet.
> 
> the sea is a specific hack, not using the same function as the land, but I will
> change this so it has the same possibilities.
> 
> This method is rather flexible in the resolution, since all coordinates are
> applyable to a "virtual" grid, and therefore I can increase the scale of the
> arrays, thus getting a higher resolution(more triangles, or whatever).
> 
> statistics:
> Sea array: 300x300. 177 608 triangles in a mesh. This is totally unecessary.
> World array: 200x200,  40000 boxes.
> 
> Well, this takes the checker plane into 3D... :-)
> 
> as you see, the sea mesh is not necessary, but this was a test render...
> And more, I can optimize the other out-puts as well, but I don't really have the
> time now. Just giving a slight taste of what I'm working on.
> 
> --
> //Spider
>         [ spi### [at] bahnhofse ]-[ http://www.bahnhof.se/~spider/ ]
> What I can do and what I could do, I just don't know anymore
>                 "Marian"
>         By: "Sisters Of Mercy"

-- 
//Spider
        [ spi### [at] bahnhofse ]-[ http://www.bahnhof.se/~spider/ ]
What I can do and what I could do, I just don't know anymore
                "Marian"
        By: "Sisters Of Mercy"


Post a reply to this message

From: Spider
Subject: Re: Checker Lanscape ( 60k)
Date: 26 Mar 1999 20:31:02
Message: <36FC33C3.924324B2@bahnhof.se>
Well, Another image, no sea, and the output as a mesh.
a lower resolution on this image, only 150x150 ..
parse:	7m 29s
render:	1m 18s
total:	8m 48s.

9 355 970bytes used.



Spider wrote:
> 
> Ahh, here I go again. :-)
> 
> I've been working on a macro to create a landscape from an array, with several
> different realisatoin types..
> 
> This landscape is a two parted thing in a rather high resolution for the array.
> 200x200 poitns for the land, and 300x300 for the sea. The land is parsed with a
> few macros to create heights, and shallows on different points, with a equation
> to change theese.
> Let me describe it.
> First, initzialise the array for the ground. create another, exact duplicate of
> this.
> in the copy, select a point and "raise" this using the length from this point to
> the others, together with a function to "smooth" or in other ways change it.
> Then, change the layout so all points are >0. find the highest point, and scale
> everything down to the range 0..1 . This will make sure that the diffrerent
> functions all have a equal effect on the landscape. After this, add to the big
> landscape array.
> 
> Doing this with some points, will make the global landscape have several effects
> applied to them. Then, I scale all points down to the range 0..1, and create a
> output from this. The output is in the scale 0..1 in x,y and z, just like a
> heightfield.
> 
> I'm still working on this, but may clean it up for a release someday. Currently
> I haven't worked on the smooth_triangle output yet.
> 
> the sea is a specific hack, not using the same function as the land, but I will
> change this so it has the same possibilities.
> 
> This method is rather flexible in the resolution, since all coordinates are
> applyable to a "virtual" grid, and therefore I can increase the scale of the
> arrays, thus getting a higher resolution(more triangles, or whatever).
> 
> statistics:
> Sea array: 300x300. 177 608 triangles in a mesh. This is totally unecessary.
> World array: 200x200,  40000 boxes.
> 
> Well, this takes the checker plane into 3D... :-)
> 
> as you see, the sea mesh is not necessary, but this was a test render...
> And more, I can optimize the other out-puts as well, but I don't really have the
> time now. Just giving a slight taste of what I'm working on.
> 
> --
> //Spider
>         [ spi### [at] bahnhofse ]-[ http://www.bahnhof.se/~spider/ ]
> What I can do and what I could do, I just don't know anymore
>                 "Marian"
>         By: "Sisters Of Mercy"

-- 
//Spider
        [ spi### [at] bahnhofse ]-[ http://www.bahnhof.se/~spider/ ]
What I can do and what I could do, I just don't know anymore
                "Marian"
        By: "Sisters Of Mercy"


Post a reply to this message


Attachments:
Download 'newground2.jpg' (24 KB)

Preview of image 'newground2.jpg'
newground2.jpg


 

From: Bob Hughes
Subject: Re: Checker Lanscape
Date: 28 Mar 1999 04:19:21
Message: <36FDF415.90F99B9@aol.com>
Suprisingly smooth. I've had much rougher heightfields using 300x300 gif
images. What kind of fractal chaos you got planned for this thing?
I looked at the other image also. Find it difficult to believe the
resolution is so low.

Spider wrote:
> 
> Ahh, here I go again. :-)
> 
> I've been working on a macro to create a landscape from an array, with several
> different realisatoin types..
> 
> This landscape is a two parted thing in a rather high resolution for the array.
> 200x200 poitns for the land, and 300x300 for the sea. The land is parsed with a
> few macros to create heights, and shallows on different points, with a equation
> to change theese.
> Let me describe it.
> First, initzialise the array for the ground. create another, exact duplicate of
> this.
> in the copy, select a point and "raise" this using the length from this point to
> the others, together with a function to "smooth" or in other ways change it.
> Then, change the layout so all points are >0. find the highest point, and scale
> everything down to the range 0..1 . This will make sure that the diffrerent
> functions all have a equal effect on the landscape. After this, add to the big
> landscape array.
> 
> Doing this with some points, will make the global landscape have several effects
> applied to them. Then, I scale all points down to the range 0..1, and create a
> output from this. The output is in the scale 0..1 in x,y and z, just like a
> heightfield.
> 
> I'm still working on this, but may clean it up for a release someday. Currently
> I haven't worked on the smooth_triangle output yet.
> 
> the sea is a specific hack, not using the same function as the land, but I will
> change this so it has the same possibilities.
> 
> This method is rather flexible in the resolution, since all coordinates are
> applyable to a "virtual" grid, and therefore I can increase the scale of the
> arrays, thus getting a higher resolution(more triangles, or whatever).
> 
> statistics:
> Sea array: 300x300. 177 608 triangles in a mesh. This is totally unecessary.
> World array: 200x200,  40000 boxes.
> 
> Well, this takes the checker plane into 3D... :-)
> 
> as you see, the sea mesh is not necessary, but this was a test render...
> And more, I can optimize the other out-puts as well, but I don't really have the
> time now. Just giving a slight taste of what I'm working on.
> 
> --
> //Spider
>         [ spi### [at] bahnhofse ]-[ http://www.bahnhof.se/~spider/ ]
> What I can do and what I could do, I just don't know anymore
>                 "Marian"
>         By: "Sisters Of Mercy"

-- 
 omniVERSE: beyond the universe
  http://members.aol.com/inversez/homepage.htm
 mailto:inv### [at] aolcom?Subject=PoV-News


Post a reply to this message

From: gemelli david
Subject: Re: Checker Lanscape
Date: 29 Mar 1999 03:33:51
Message: <36FF3A5A.5DA6B221@imerir.asso.fr>
I'm curious too ! How did you generate the heights ? For the landscape include file I
did,
I'm using a "Perlin noise"-like method and added the option of declaring control
points but I
am not very pleased by the result.
For the water, do you make like the water_level ? I was looking for a way to add water

where I want and at the height I want but I didn't find it. So, I made it ! The
problem is to
calculate the height of a point on a 3D triangle. The method I'm using is not very
efficient, have
you got such a function in your generator ?

If you want to see an example, look at the image "Height-field and smooth
triangles".16/3/99

Again, excellent result !

            David GEMELLI


Post a reply to this message

From: Spider
Subject: Re: Checker Lanscape -Explaining.
Date: 4 Apr 1999 14:43:56
Message: <3706ADF1.EF5F6177@bahnhof.se>
Whoooa. Got back (home(my puter)) again.
Explanations :-)
The new(planned...) output will be in a unit-sized object, as the HF.
This is for ease of scaling into intersections and so on.
well, internally, I intend to use a factor of 1000, so I don't get problems with
the decimal loss in some functions.

Moreover.
There was a question about the algorithm(fractal)
it isn't fractal based at all, but uses a placed position landscape.

that is, (this is what I am planning) :
point(<1/4, 4/5>, -0.5, "Linear")
This will place a point at 1/4th of the width, and 4/5th of the length(depth) of
the landscape. it will be sunken with 0.5 as the multiplier, and will use a
linear(instead of a logarithmic) curve.

This isn't what I have at the moment, but will come pretty close to the final
version.

As for randomizations and so on, I plan to add a "average" and a "noise"
function, as well as a plasma generation(WHY should you use this instead of a
plasma generator and a HF?)

More questions, or even better... IDEAS !!!


-- 
//Spider
        [ spi### [at] bahnhofse ]-[ http://www.bahnhof.se/~spider/ ]
What I can do and what I could do, I just don't know anymore
                "Marian"
        By: "Sisters Of Mercy"


Post a reply to this message

Copyright 2003-2023 Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty. Ltd.