POV-Ray : Newsgroups : povray.animations : Bring animations into Povray from a separate program? Server Time
25 Oct 2021 13:09:00 EDT (-0400)
  Bring animations into Povray from a separate program? (Message 1 to 7 of 7)  
From: PossibleTaco
Subject: Bring animations into Povray from a separate program?
Date: 20 Apr 2021 18:20:00
Message: <web.607f52b54ba5363a44122350495b05b0@news.povray.org>
Hi there! I'm brand new to povray and I've had fun messing around with it! I
have a couple of questions though;
Any way to do an animation in another program like Blender, export it as an FBX,
and bring it into povray?

Or alternatively, does anyone have any tips for getting povray to work in
blender? Does it just not work in 2.9? I can't even get the default scene to
render.


Post a reply to this message

From: Bald Eagle
Subject: Re: Bring animations into Povray from a separate program?
Date: 20 Apr 2021 19:20:00
Message: <web.607f61307974d9ed1f9dae3025979125@news.povray.org>
"PossibleTaco" <nomail@nomail> wrote:
> Hi there! I'm brand new to povray and I've had fun messing around with it! I
> have a couple of questions though;
> Any way to do an animation in another program like Blender, export it as an FBX,
> and bring it into povray?
>
> Or alternatively, does anyone have any tips for getting povray to work in
> blender? Does it just not work in 2.9? I can't even get the default scene to
> render.

Likely Maurice will chime with his expert opinion.

But until then:

https://wiki.povray.org/content/HowTo:Use_POV-Ray_with_Blender

http://mmyllyma.mbnet.fi/combine_blender_pov.html

Other than that, your search engine is your friend.


Post a reply to this message

From: PossibleTaco
Subject: Re: Bring animations into Povray from a separate program?
Date: 22 Apr 2021 22:00:00
Message: <web.6082295b7974d9ed44122350495b05b0@news.povray.org>
"Bald Eagle" <cre### [at] netscapenet> wrote:
> "PossibleTaco" <nomail@nomail> wrote:
> > Hi there! I'm brand new to povray and I've had fun messing around with it! I
> > have a couple of questions though;
> > Any way to do an animation in another program like Blender, export it as an FBX,
> > and bring it into povray?
> >
> > Or alternatively, does anyone have any tips for getting povray to work in
> > blender? Does it just not work in 2.9? I can't even get the default scene to
> > render.
>
> Likely Maurice will chime with his expert opinion.
>
> But until then:
>
> https://wiki.povray.org/content/HowTo:Use_POV-Ray_with_Blender
>
> http://mmyllyma.mbnet.fi/combine_blender_pov.html
>
> Other than that, your search engine is your friend.

I've done some research on it, and everything says I should be able to render
the default scene but I haven't had any luck with that. It's probably a small
detail I'm overlooking.


Post a reply to this message

From: Bald Eagle
Subject: Re: Bring animations into Povray from a separate program?
Date: 23 Apr 2021 07:20:00
Message: <web.6082ac707974d9ed1f9dae3025979125@news.povray.org>
"PossibleTaco" <nomail@nomail> wrote:
but I haven't had any luck with that. It's probably a small
> detail I'm overlooking.

What version of Blender, how are you trying to convert it, what example/test
scene are you using, what is the povray output file, and what errors/lack of
results are you seeing?


Post a reply to this message

From: Mr
Subject: Re: Bring animations into Povray from a separate program?
Date: 23 Apr 2021 09:20:00
Message: <web.6082c6827974d9ed6adeaecb3f378f2@news.povray.org>
"Bald Eagle" <cre### [at] netscapenet> wrote:
> "PossibleTaco" <nomail@nomail> wrote:
> but I haven't had any luck with that. It's probably a small
> > detail I'm overlooking.
>
> What version of Blender, how are you trying to convert it, what example/test
> scene are you using, what is the povray output file, and what errors/lack of
> results are you seeing?


Hi, sorry for the late response, I missed the question. As title got abridged
from most meaningful terms in my viewer ! Anyway first thing to know is what OS
you're using, is it a Mac? Second is the error message in terminal ? (On windows
go first to the menu Window > Toggle System Console)

I suspect something but I would really need the feedback to see how things work
out of the box and so that I can
improve the add-on. you could right click select, copy, and paste this content.
If its seems too long to put here try on such a site: https://pastebin.com/ or
even just send it to me via any means you see fit.

What I suspect is that you didn't point the binary in user preferences, but
there is supposed to be automatic setup on some platform, before you get into
fixing, can you let me know more?

Thanks, Maurice.


Post a reply to this message

From: PossibleTaco
Subject: Re: Bring animations into Povray from a separate program?
Date: 23 Apr 2021 21:30:00
Message: <web.608373b57974d9ed44122350495b05b0@news.povray.org>
"Mr" <nomail@nomail> wrote:
> "Bald Eagle" <cre### [at] netscapenet> wrote:
> > "PossibleTaco" <nomail@nomail> wrote:
> > but I haven't had any luck with that. It's probably a small
> > > detail I'm overlooking.
> >
> > What version of Blender, how are you trying to convert it, what example/test
> > scene are you using, what is the povray output file, and what errors/lack of
> > results are you seeing?
>
>
> Hi, sorry for the late response, I missed the question. As title got abridged
> from most meaningful terms in my viewer ! Anyway first thing to know is what OS
> you're using, is it a Mac? Second is the error message in terminal ? (On windows
> go first to the menu Window > Toggle System Console)
>
> I suspect something but I would really need the feedback to see how things work
> out of the box and so that I can
> improve the add-on. you could right click select, copy, and paste this content.
> If its seems too long to put here try on such a site: https://pastebin.com/ or
> even just send it to me via any means you see fit.
>
> What I suspect is that you didn't point the binary in user preferences, but
> there is supposed to be automatic setup on some platform, before you get into
> fixing, can you let me know more?
>
> Thanks, Maurice.

I think you're right about the Binary thing, what am I supposed to link that to?
I'm pretty new to this, sorry for any dumb question.

Okay so I'm using Windows 10
The scene I'm using is the default scene, I don't change anything, I just switch
the engine. (I've tried adding in the povray primitives, and using materials and
stuff with no luck).
Here's the error I get:
https://pastebin.com/6M4ffv2U

Hope this helps!


Post a reply to this message

From: Mr
Subject: Re: Bring animations into Povray from a separate program?
Date: 24 Apr 2021 02:30:00
Message: <web.6083b8377974d9ed6adeaecb3f378f2@news.povray.org>
"PossibleTaco" <nomail@nomail> wrote:
> "Mr" <nomail@nomail> wrote:
> > "Bald Eagle" <cre### [at] netscapenet> wrote:
> > > "PossibleTaco" <nomail@nomail> wrote:
> > > but I haven't had any luck with that. It's probably a small
> > > > detail I'm overlooking.
> > >
> > > What version of Blender, how are you trying to convert it, what example/test
> > > scene are you using, what is the povray output file, and what errors/lack of
> > > results are you seeing?
> >
> >
> > Hi, sorry for the late response, I missed the question. As title got abridged
> > from most meaningful terms in my viewer ! Anyway first thing to know is what OS
> > you're using, is it a Mac? Second is the error message in terminal ? (On windows
> > go first to the menu Window > Toggle System Console)
> >
> > I suspect something but I would really need the feedback to see how things work
> > out of the box and so that I can
> > improve the add-on. you could right click select, copy, and paste this content.
> > If its seems too long to put here try on such a site: https://pastebin.com/ or
> > even just send it to me via any means you see fit.
> >
> > What I suspect is that you didn't point the binary in user preferences, but
> > there is supposed to be automatic setup on some platform, before you get into
> > fixing, can you let me know more?
> >
> > Thanks, Maurice.
>
> I think you're right about the Binary thing, what am I supposed to link that to?
> I'm pretty new to this, sorry for any dumb question.
>
> Okay so I'm using Windows 10
> The scene I'm using is the default scene, I don't change anything, I just switch
> the engine. (I've tried adding in the povray primitives, and using materials and
> stuff with no luck).
> Here's the error I get:
> https://pastebin.com/6M4ffv2U
>
> Hope this helps!

Did you install pov from the official stable 3.7 installer ? normally the
following step would not be necessary if you did (even if you then add an
unofficial version to use in the same directory), but consider your last message
a bug report.

Such simple feedback does help a lot, sorry for the inconvenience, meanwhile,
just provide the first two fields of user paths (Blender main Menu Edit >
Preferences, addons tab button is the window from this picture in the wiki:
https://wiki.povray.org/content/File:Pov_start01.png ). The first two fields
respectively to be filled with the complete
path to 64 bits executable binary name, for instance pvengine64.exe ; and
complete path of "include" folder in second field.
You can also reach me @neopover on facebook or direct email.


Post a reply to this message

Copyright 2003-2021 Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty. Ltd.