POV-Ray : Newsgroups : moray.win : Moray + Win10 Server Time: 19 Dec 2018 14:34:37 GMT
  Moray + Win10 (Message 1 to 9 of 9)  
From: Tim Cook
Subject: Moray + Win10
Date: 17 Dec 2017 17:46:14
Message: <5a36ad66$1@news.povray.org>
So I've encountered a few issues running Moray under Windows 10, which 
may or may not be workaround-able.

- 'Render' from within Moray fires up POV 3.5 and starts the render and 
apparently finishes, but locks up POV.  Using 'export' and doing the 
render in POV 3.7 is the current fix I'm using, but I recall being able 
to render the usual way before (from Win10).

- Flaky UV-mapped texture display.  Sometimes it works in regular camera 
view, but not having anything to work with but guesses in the UV editor 
pane in mesh editor mode is...frustrating, to say the least. 
Recommendations?

--
Tim Cook


Post a reply to this message

From: Tim Cook
Subject: Re: Moray + Win10
Date: 17 Dec 2017 19:03:18
Message: <5a36bf76$1@news.povray.org>
On 2017-12-17 11:46, Tim Cook wrote:
> - Flaky UV-mapped texture display.  Sometimes it works in regular camera
> view, but not having anything to work with but guesses in the UV editor
> pane in mesh editor mode is...frustrating, to say the least.
> Recommendations?

Figured out part of the problem...in OpenGL settings, scene lighting has 
to be checked, and alpha blending has to be 1.0.

...for some reason the UV map keeps setting itself to 0.5 alpha blending 
for me.

--
Tim Cook


Post a reply to this message

From: Lutz
Subject: Re: Moray + Win10
Date: 29 Jan 2018 17:55:01
Message: <web.5a6f5f284bacea43680725ff0@news.povray.org>
Tim Cook <z99### [at] gmailcom> wrote:
> On 2017-12-17 11:46, Tim Cook wrote:
> > - Flaky UV-mapped texture display.  Sometimes it works in regular camera
> > view, but not having anything to work with but guesses in the UV editor
> > pane in mesh editor mode is...frustrating, to say the least.
> > Recommendations?
>
> Figured out part of the problem...in OpenGL settings, scene lighting has
> to be checked, and alpha blending has to be 1.0.
>
> ...for some reason the UV map keeps setting itself to 0.5 alpha blending
> for me.

This seems weird, I don't think this is by design :-)


Post a reply to this message

From: Havana7
Subject: Re: Moray + Win10
Date: 24 Feb 2018 18:00:00
Message: <web.5a91a7754bacea433e499bc60@news.povray.org>
Tim Cook <z99### [at] gmailcom> wrote:
> So I've encountered a few issues running Moray under Windows 10, which
> may or may not be workaround-able.
>
> - 'Render' from within Moray fires up POV 3.5 and starts the render and
> apparently finishes, but locks up POV.  Using 'export' and doing the
> render in POV 3.7 is the current fix I'm using, but I recall being able
> to render the usual way before (from Win10).
>
How can I export from Moray 3.5 to PovRay 3.7?

Thanks


Post a reply to this message

From: Thomas de Groot
Subject: Re: Moray + Win10
Date: 25 Feb 2018 08:03:25
Message: <5a926dcd@news.povray.org>
On 24-2-2018 18:57, Havana7 wrote:
> Tim Cook <z99### [at] gmailcom> wrote:
>> So I've encountered a few issues running Moray under Windows 10, which
>> may or may not be workaround-able.
>>
>> - 'Render' from within Moray fires up POV 3.5 and starts the render and
>> apparently finishes, but locks up POV.  Using 'export' and doing the
>> render in POV 3.7 is the current fix I'm using, but I recall being able
>> to render the usual way before (from Win10).
>>
> How can I export from Moray 3.5 to PovRay 3.7?
> 

A long time ago I did that last, but just export the scene to POV-Ray 
(version 3.5) and edit it in version 3.7 before rendering. Last time I 
did this was for version 3.6; it may be that more heavy editing is 
needed for 3.7...

-- 
Thomas


Post a reply to this message

From: Havana7
Subject: Re: Moray + Win10
Date: 26 Feb 2018 12:10:01
Message: <web.5a93f81c4bacea433e499bc60@news.povray.org>
Tim Cook <z99### [at] gmailcom> wrote:
> So I've encountered a few issues running Moray under Windows 10, which
> may or may not be workaround-able.
>
> - 'Render' from within Moray fires up POV 3.5 and starts the render and
> apparently finishes, but locks up POV.  Using 'export' and doing the
> render in POV 3.7 is the current fix I'm using, but I recall being able
> to render the usual way before (from Win10).

How do you export the scene from Moray to PovRay? In the File Menu i have olny
Export to UDO Wireframe.

Thanks?


Post a reply to this message

From: Thomas de Groot
Subject: Re: Moray + Win10
Date: 26 Feb 2018 12:49:59
Message: <5a940277$1@news.povray.org>
On 26-2-2018 13:05, Havana7 wrote:
> Tim Cook <z99### [at] gmailcom> wrote:
>> So I've encountered a few issues running Moray under Windows 10, which
>> may or may not be workaround-able.
>>
>> - 'Render' from within Moray fires up POV 3.5 and starts the render and
>> apparently finishes, but locks up POV.  Using 'export' and doing the
>> render in POV 3.7 is the current fix I'm using, but I recall being able
>> to render the usual way before (from Win10).
> 
> How do you export the scene from Moray to PovRay? In the File Menu i have olny
> Export to UDO Wireframe.
> 
> Thanks?
> 
> 
> 
> 
> 

Sorry. It has been too long ago since I last used Moray for me to 
remember, and I do not have Moray installed any more. However...

Do you have the help files with your copy of Moray? if not, go to 
http://www.stmuc.com/moray/medocs.html. The answer should be there.

-- 
Thomas


Post a reply to this message

From: Rocco
Subject: Re: Moray + Win10
Date: 10 May 2018 17:40:07
Message: <web.5af482e64bacea43f773ae8c0@news.povray.org>
Hello,

I just found this message now. Recently I installed all my toolbox under Windows
10, including POVRay. I can use versions as old as 3.1. I had the same bug of
POVRay "freezing" when it starts the render. I found some workarounds :

- start POVRay in 256-color compatibility mode. When it starts, the splash
screen looks weird and upside down but it works.

OR

- When POVRay is not maximized, uncheck in the Editor menu "Auto-Show Parse
messages".

OR

The problem comes from the message window. It seems to have some
incompatibilities with Windows 10.

When I use POVRay 3.1 or 3.5 in maximized mode, I can still check messages using
the dedicated message window during render without freezing. When it's not
maximized, any message that comes up freezes POV-Ray.

So when export from Moray, be sure POVRay is maximized. At least it works for
me.

Hope it helps.


Post a reply to this message

From: Mauve
Subject: Re: Moray + Win10
Date: 1 Sep 2018 00:45:01
Message: <web.5b89dfff4bacea43917d43dc0@news.povray.org>
"Havana7" <nomail@nomail> wrote:
>
> How do you export the scene from Moray to PovRay? In the File Menu i have olny
> Export to UDO Wireframe.
>
> Thanks?

Crtl-F9, or look under the "Render" menu.

I've been doing this, and it's pretty fast with Sel-Run (Select and Render)
rather than opening and closing the files lots of times, but you don't get to be
able to do texture previews.


Post a reply to this message

Copyright 2003-2008 Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty. Ltd.