POV-Ray : Newsgroups : povray.newusers : Testing Command Line Options Server Time
5 Sep 2024 00:18:51 EDT (-0400)
  Testing Command Line Options (Message 1 to 7 of 7)  
From: jfmiller
Subject: Testing Command Line Options
Date: 24 Jul 2002 15:32:40
Message: <3d3f00d8@news.povray.org>
Is there a way to determine what quality setting is being used to render an
image?  I'd like to be able to test it and if it is below 5 replace some
slow rendering Function surfaces with simple objects.

In a related question, I'm using a parametric surface which renderd very
slowly does anyone have any suggestions on how to optimize the process?

JFMILLER


Post a reply to this message

From: Christopher James Huff
Subject: Re: Testing Command Line Options
Date: 24 Jul 2002 17:07:01
Message: <chrishuff-D44EE1.15595224072002@netplex.aussie.org>
In article <3d3f00d8@news.povray.org>,
 "jfmiller" <jfm### [at] hotmailcom> wrote:

> Is there a way to determine what quality setting is being used to render an
> image?  I'd like to be able to test it and if it is below 5 replace some
> slow rendering Function surfaces with simple objects.

No. You could do something very similar by just declaring a variable at 
the beginning of the scene file though.


> In a related question, I'm using a parametric surface which renderd very
> slowly does anyone have any suggestions on how to optimize the process?

Write some code to generate a mesh from the parametric equations. The 
mesh will render much faster than the parametric object, but will parse 
much more slowly, and you might have faceting problems if you use too 
low-res of a mesh. There is an include file somewhere called 
parametric.inc that does this.

-- 
Christopher James Huff <chr### [at] maccom>
POV-Ray TAG e-mail: chr### [at] tagpovrayorg
TAG web site: http://tag.povray.org/


Post a reply to this message

From: Warp
Subject: Re: Testing Command Line Options
Date: 24 Jul 2002 17:20:15
Message: <3d3f1a0f@news.povray.org>
Christopher James Huff <chr### [at] maccom> wrote:
> Write some code to generate a mesh from the parametric equations. The 
> mesh will render much faster than the parametric object, but will parse 
> much more slowly, and you might have faceting problems if you use too 
> low-res of a mesh.

  On the other hand, you can save the mesh to a file to reuse it later.

-- 
#macro N(D)#if(D>99)cylinder{M()#local D=div(D,104);M().5,2pigment{rgb M()}}
N(D)#end#end#macro M()<mod(D,13)-6mod(div(D,13)8)-3,10>#end blob{
N(11117333955)N(4254934330)N(3900569407)N(7382340)N(3358)N(970)}//  - Warp -


Post a reply to this message

From: ingo
Subject: Re: Testing Command Line Options
Date: 25 Jul 2002 08:59:54
Message: <Xns92569936B2CBCseed7@povray.org>
in news:chr### [at] netplexaussieorg Christopher 
James Huff wrote:

> There is an include file somewhere called 
> parametric.inc that does this.
> 

http://members.home.nl/seedseven/

Ingo


Post a reply to this message

From: Philippe Lhoste
Subject: Re: Testing Command Line Options
Date: 25 Jul 2002 09:52:05
Message: <3d400285@news.povray.org>
"Christopher James Huff" <chr### [at] maccom> wrote:
> In article <3d3f00d8@news.povray.org>,
>  "jfmiller" <jfm### [at] hotmailcom> wrote:
>
> > Is there a way to determine what quality setting is being used to render
an
> > image?  I'd like to be able to test it and if it is below 5 replace some
> > slow rendering Function surfaces with simple objects.
>
> No. You could do something very similar by just declaring a variable at
> the beginning of the scene file though.

Or you duplicate the value in a variable, using the Declare constant
argument (5.2.3.1  Constant).

--
--=#=--=#=--=#=--=#=--=#=--=#=--=#=--=#=--=#=--
Philippe Lhoste (Paris -- France)
Professional programmer and amateur artist
http://jove.prohosting.com/~philho/
--=#=--=#=--=#=--=#=--=#=--=#=--=#=--=#=--=#=--


Post a reply to this message

From: jfmiller
Subject: Re: Testing Command Line Options
Date: 25 Jul 2002 17:19:59
Message: <3d406b7f$1@news.povray.org>
"Christopher James Huff" <chr### [at] maccom> wrote in message
news:chr### [at] netplexaussieorg...
> In article <3d3f00d8@news.povray.org>,
>  "jfmiller" <jfm### [at] hotmailcom> wrote:
>
> > Is there a way to determine what quality setting is being used to render
an
> > image?  I'd like to be able to test it and if it is below 5 replace some
> > slow rendering Function surfaces with simple objects.
>
> No. You could do something very similar by just declaring a variable at
> the beginning of the scene file though.

I have this already, but I keep forgetting to reset it.  I was hoping to be
able to automate the process.  Is there any way to pass information from an
the commandline or .ini file to the file being rendered?

Thanks for the help.

JFMILLER


Post a reply to this message

From: Warp
Subject: Re: Testing Command Line Options
Date: 25 Jul 2002 20:26:21
Message: <3d40972d@news.povray.org>
jfmiller <jfm### [at] hotmailcom> wrote:
> Is there any way to pass information from an
> the commandline or .ini file to the file being rendered?

  See the section 5.2.3.1 of the POV-Ray documentation.

-- 
#macro M(A,N,D,L)plane{-z,-9pigment{mandel L*9translate N color_map{[0rgb x]
[1rgb 9]}scale<D,D*3D>*1e3}rotate y*A*8}#end M(-3<1.206434.28623>70,7)M(
-1<.7438.1795>1,20)M(1<.77595.13699>30,20)M(3<.75923.07145>80,99)// - Warp -


Post a reply to this message

Copyright 2003-2023 Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty. Ltd.