POV-Ray : Newsgroups : povray.binaries.images : Recursive image - one command Server Time
13 Aug 2024 19:26:05 EDT (-0400)
  Recursive image - one command (Message 1 to 10 of 10)  
From: Doctor John
Subject: Recursive image - one command
Date: 21 Jan 2003 13:05:59
Message: <3e2d8c07@news.povray.org>
A monitor showing itself showing itself showing itself showing itself
showing ....

Just testing for IRTC so image quality is not brilliant ATM.

One command: povray FirstRun.ini test_recurion.pov
No includes, no image files - everything generated from within itself.

John
--
Run Fast
Run Free
Run Linux


Post a reply to this message


Attachments:
Download 'test_recursion.jpg' (167 KB)

Preview of image 'test_recursion.jpg'
test_recursion.jpg


 

From: gonzo
Subject: Re: Recursive image - one command
Date: 21 Jan 2003 16:40:05
Message: <web.3e2dbd11a51a66aea0c272b50@news.povray.org>
Doctor John wrote:
>A monitor showing itself showing itself showing itself showing itself
>showing ....
>


Cool!

Question: I had a similar idea for a recursive image, but I want each
version to change slightly (adding an object).  I can do this easily enough
by doing four successive renders, but is there a way in the SDL to get POV
to re-render the scene so I can do this with one command? Doing it in 4
means that it can't be duplicated directly from source, and therefore
probably wouldn't be allowed in the IRTC.


Post a reply to this message

From: Tek
Subject: Re: Recursive image - one command
Date: 21 Jan 2003 18:13:39
Message: <3e2dd423$1@news.povray.org>
gonzo <rgo### [at] lansetcom> wrote in message
news:web.3e2dbd11a51a66aea0c272b50@news.povray.org...
> Question: I had a similar idea for a recursive image, but I want each
> version to change slightly (adding an object).  I can do this easily enough
> by doing four successive renders, but is there a way in the SDL to get POV
> to re-render the scene so I can do this with one command? Doing it in 4
> means that it can't be duplicated directly from source, and therefore
> probably wouldn't be allowed in the IRTC.


You could just have a scene file that said things like:

#if ( frame_number = 3 )
    // draw objects that only appear in frame 3
    ...
#end

Then render it as an animation, each time using the previous frame as an
image_map.

--
Tek
http://www.evilsuperbrain.com


Post a reply to this message

From: gonzo
Subject: Re: Recursive image - one command
Date: 21 Jan 2003 19:50:05
Message: <web.3e2de9d6a51a66aea0c272b50@news.povray.org>
Tek wrote:
>
>You could just have a scene file that said things like:
>
>#if ( frame_number = 3 )
>    // draw objects that only appear in frame 3
>    ...
>#end
>
>Then render it as an animation, each time using the previous frame as an
>image_map.


My basic idea was something similar using switch statement in a loop to
setup the objects, but I didn't want 4 images (nitpicky terminology; then
its animation not a recursive still).

So I guess there's no way to call(render) from within a scene file :(
Actually, thinking about it, its rather obvious that a command like that in
a loop would have serious implications for parsing...

Hmmmm, does POV automatically assign frame numbers, or can I render 4 frames
all with the same name, something like
next_frame_number=current_frame_number (have never played with animation...
I don't have the patience...)

RG


Post a reply to this message

From: ABX
Subject: Re: Recursive image - one command
Date: 22 Jan 2003 04:47:21
Message: <q2qs2voj4j79gnc9s42e570thnhf83hg85@4ax.com>
On Tue, 21 Jan 2003 16:35:13 EST, "gonzo" <rgo### [at] lansetcom> wrote:

> I can do this with one command?

Look at http://news.povray.org/povray.advanced-users/29935/

ABX


Post a reply to this message

From: Slashdolt
Subject: Re: Recursive image - one command
Date: 22 Jan 2003 10:18:20
Message: <3e2eb63c$1@news.povray.org>
>... Doing it in 4
> means that it can't be duplicated directly from source, and therefore
> probably wouldn't be allowed in the IRTC.
>

If it simply becomes an image map, that's fine for the IRTC, afaik.

Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.

Slash


Post a reply to this message

From: Doctor John
Subject: Re: Recursive image - one command
Date: 22 Jan 2003 15:07:15
Message: <3e2ef9f3@news.povray.org>
"ABX" <abx### [at] abxartpl> wrote
> I can do this with one command?
>
> Look at http://news.povray.org/povray.advanced-users/29935/
>
> ABX

I can! The fact that the .ini files (note the plural) call povray twice
doesn't take away the fact that there is just one original command.
... and Slash is correct in thinking that the first two passes become image
maps ... thus admissable under IRTC rules.
I attach a test pair to demonstrate what I'm working towards ( Escher,
Magritte ...).

My problem now is to skew the image map in Rotated to make it more obvious
that the 2D map has become 3D.

John
--
Run Fast
Run Free
Run Linux


Post a reply to this message


Attachments:
Download 'Rotated.jpg' (19 KB) Download 'StraightOn.jpg' (18 KB)

Preview of image 'Rotated.jpg'
Rotated.jpg

Preview of image 'StraightOn.jpg'
StraightOn.jpg


 

From: Tek
Subject: Re: Recursive image - one command
Date: 22 Jan 2003 16:12:41
Message: <3e2f0949@news.povray.org>
I'm not sure about the frame numbers. But you could just use:

#if ( frame_number > 0 )
    image_map { tga concat("filename",str(frame_number-1,0,0))
#end

to include the previous frame as an image map (pov defaults to appending the
frame number to the filename). If you really want to delete the earlier frames
after the render you could use a post render command in the inifile (I can't
remember the syntax, it's in the docs somewhere).

--
Tek
http://www.evilsuperbrain.com


gonzo <rgo### [at] lansetcom> wrote in message
news:web.3e2de9d6a51a66aea0c272b50@news.povray.org...
> Tek wrote:
> >
> >You could just have a scene file that said things like:
> >
> >#if ( frame_number = 3 )
> >    // draw objects that only appear in frame 3
> >    ...
> >#end
> >
> >Then render it as an animation, each time using the previous frame as an
> >image_map.
>
>
> My basic idea was something similar using switch statement in a loop to
> setup the objects, but I didn't want 4 images (nitpicky terminology; then
> its animation not a recursive still).
>
> So I guess there's no way to call(render) from within a scene file :(
> Actually, thinking about it, its rather obvious that a command like that in
> a loop would have serious implications for parsing...
>
> Hmmmm, does POV automatically assign frame numbers, or can I render 4 frames
> all with the same name, something like
> next_frame_number=current_frame_number (have never played with animation...
> I don't have the patience...)
>
> RG
>
>


Post a reply to this message

From: Tek
Subject: Re: Recursive image - one command
Date: 22 Jan 2003 16:16:21
Message: <3e2f0a25$1@news.povray.org>
Doh! I just read the other replies to this! The technique explained in the
original thread might be more suited to what you want:
http://news.povray.org/povray.advanced-users/29935/

--
Tek
http://www.evilsuperbrain.com


Post a reply to this message

From: gonzo
Subject: Re: Recursive image - one command
Date: 22 Jan 2003 17:00:11
Message: <web.3e2f143ea51a66aea0c272b50@news.povray.org>
Tek wrote:
>Doh! I just read the other replies to this! The technique explained in the
>original thread might be more suited to what you want:
>http://news.povray.org/povray.advanced-users/29935/
>
>--
>Tek
>http://www.evilsuperbrain.com
>


Yes, I was following that thread already. I haven't messed with ini files
yet, so I'll have to read the docs and take a look.

Thanks everyone!  It seems there is always *some* way to make it work in
POV!

RG


Post a reply to this message

Copyright 2003-2023 Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty. Ltd.