POV-Ray : Newsgroups : moray.win : moray unable to launch POV Server Time
21 Jun 2021 11:53:33 EDT (-0400)
  moray unable to launch POV (Message 5 to 14 of 14)  
<<< Previous 4 Messages Goto Initial 10 Messages
From: Stephen
Subject: Re: moray unable to launch POV
Date: 18 Oct 2009 04:30:11
Message: <4adad213$1@news.povray.org>
m_a_r_c wrote:

> web.4adabe4a80868e10b03f96fc0@news.povray.org...
>> no...have tried with both 3.6 and 3.7 32bit and 64bit versions...am 
>> running Win7
>> 64bit...POV itself works fine....so does Moray, I just can't get them to 
>> link
>>
> In fact Moray well fits to POV 3.5
> What I do is to have POV 3.5 installed as direct renderer for Moray.
> If I want to use 3.6 or 3.7 or even MegaPOV features, I open in one of these 
> softs and run the Moray output .ini file which has the same name than the 
> ..mdl file and is in the export directory set in the render settings box.
> 
> Marc 
> 
> 
To put it even stronger than Marc. Moray has issues with any version of 
Pov greater than 3.5. On some OS it will open Pov 3.6 on others it will 
not. I assume that there are compatibility settings that you have tried 
in Win 7.
But the best thing to do is what Marc suggested, install Pov 3.5.


-- 

Best Regards,
	Stephen


Post a reply to this message

From: mkernek
Subject: Re: moray unable to launch POV
Date: 18 Oct 2009 14:50:01
Message: <web.4adb61de80868e104386484f0@news.povray.org>
I had similar problems running under Vista.  In my case, Vista UAC was getting
in the way; I think Moray interaction with POV requires some system privileges.


Matt


Post a reply to this message

From: BillF
Subject: Re: moray unable to launch POV
Date: 17 Feb 2010 19:30:01
Message: <web.4b7c892780868e10c1472ed0@news.povray.org>
Stephen <mca### [at] aolDOTcom> wrote:
> m_a_r_c wrote:

> > web.4adabe4a80868e10b03f96fc0@news.povray.org...
> >> no...have tried with both 3.6 and 3.7 32bit and 64bit versions...am
> >> running Win7
> >> 64bit...POV itself works fine....so does Moray, I just can't get them to
> >> link
> >>
> > In fact Moray well fits to POV 3.5
> > What I do is to have POV 3.5 installed as direct renderer for Moray.
> > If I want to use 3.6 or 3.7 or even MegaPOV features, I open in one of these
> > softs and run the Moray output .ini file which has the same name than the
> > ..mdl file and is in the export directory set in the render settings box.
> >
> > Marc
> >
> >
> To put it even stronger than Marc. Moray has issues with any version of
> Pov greater than 3.5. On some OS it will open Pov 3.6 on others it will
> not. I assume that there are compatibility settings that you have tried
> in Win 7.
> But the best thing to do is what Marc suggested, install Pov 3.5.
>
>
> --
>
> Best Regards,
>  Stephen

I have been trying to get povray, moray, vista, and win7 to play with each other
since first "having" to run vista. But I found that running under win7 - moray
3.5 - and povray 3.5 works well. I find marcs suggestions promising, but
cumbersome. Any other ideas out there?


Post a reply to this message

From: BillF
Subject: Re: moray unable to launch POV
Date: 17 Feb 2010 20:00:00
Message: <web.4b7c90ee80868e10c1472ed0@news.povray.org>
"BillF" <h_h### [at] verizonnet> wrote:
> Stephen <mca### [at] aolDOTcom> wrote:
> > m_a_r_c wrote:

> > > web.4adabe4a80868e10b03f96fc0@news.povray.org...
> > >> no...have tried with both 3.6 and 3.7 32bit and 64bit versions...am
> > >> running Win7
> > >> 64bit...POV itself works fine....so does Moray, I just can't get them to
> > >> link
> > >>
> > > In fact Moray well fits to POV 3.5
> > > What I do is to have POV 3.5 installed as direct renderer for Moray.
> > > If I want to use 3.6 or 3.7 or even MegaPOV features, I open in one of these
> > > softs and run the Moray output .ini file which has the same name than the
> > > ..mdl file and is in the export directory set in the render settings box.
> > >
> > > Marc
> > >
> > >
> > To put it even stronger than Marc. Moray has issues with any version of
> > Pov greater than 3.5. On some OS it will open Pov 3.6 on others it will
> > not. I assume that there are compatibility settings that you have tried
> > in Win 7.
> > But the best thing to do is what Marc suggested, install Pov 3.5.
> >
> >
> > --
> >
> > Best Regards,
> >  Stephen
>
> I have been trying to get povray, moray, vista, and win7 to play with each other
> since first "having" to run vista. But I found that running under win7 - moray
> 3.5 - and povray 3.5 works well. I find marcs suggestions promising, but
> cumbersome. Any other ideas out there?

by the way I am Billf, and a long time user of both Moray and PovRay - tho lond
ago. Need to bone up on both. ----  thanks for the forum, need someone to update
me.

BillF


Post a reply to this message

From: Stephen
Subject: Re: moray unable to launch POV
Date: 18 Feb 2010 01:43:59
Message: <4b7ce1af$1@news.povray.org>
BillF wrote:

>> I have been trying to get povray, moray, vista, and win7 to play with each other
>> since first "having" to run vista. But I found that running under win7 - moray
>> 3.5 - and povray 3.5 works well. I find marcs suggestions promising, but
>> cumbersome. Any other ideas out there?
> 
> by the way I am Billf, and a long time user of both Moray and PovRay - tho lond
> ago. Need to bone up on both. ----  thanks for the forum, need someone to update
> me.
> 
>



the Insert Code plugin which allows you to write SDL in Moray.
The other option is to use Bisgop3D (shareware), as mentioned by 

it for a couple of years now and other than creating meshes it can do as 
much or more than Moray. It is also under development and new features 
are being added. (Sometimes on request)

-- 

Best Regards,
	Stephen


Post a reply to this message

From: MartinB
Subject: Re: moray unable to launch POV
Date: 20 Apr 2011 06:50:01
Message: <web.4daeba0180868e1026e27c9b0@news.povray.org>
Hi there,

 +++ I FOUND A SOLUTION +++

I was also looking for a solution of running Moray 3.5 and POV-Ray 3.x
integrated under Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit.
I discovered that the version of POV-Ray is not the matter. No povray version
did run on my machine properly!

So I checked out the TROUBLESHOOTING from the Win7 Control Panel. Here is what I
did:
PART I (moray):
- I clicked 'Run programs made for previous versions of Windows'
- 'Next' to get to a list of old progs.
- select Moray...
- on the next page clicked on 'Try recommended settings'
- on the next page clicked 'Start the program...'
  Them Moray started and I loaded a scene - fine.
- clicked next and pressed 'Yes, save the settings for this program'
- closed the troubleshooter

PART II (POV-ray):
- I clicked 'Run programs made for previous versions of Windows'
- 'Next' to get to a list of old progs.
- select POV-Ray...
- clicked 'TROUBLESHOOT PROGRAM'
- selected the first three checkboxes (in other words all, except 'I dont see
my...'
- clicked 'next' and selected WinXP SP2 (SP3 might also do)
- clicked 'next' and selected 4th and 5th checkbox:
   'Program does not display properly...'
   'Windows controls appear cut off...'
- on the next page clicked 'Start the program...'
- POV-Ray started fine and the Demo render was successful.
- clicked next and pressed 'Yes, save the settings for this program'
- closed the troubleshooter

NOW I CAN DO THE F9 (Raytrace) in MORAY - YEAH!!

I hope that helps

Regards,

  Martin  :-)


Post a reply to this message

From: Thomas de Groot
Subject: Re: moray unable to launch POV
Date: 21 Apr 2011 03:17:40
Message: <4dafda14@news.povray.org>
Thanks for this info. Very useful. I do not need it presently but who knows 
what the future will bring? I shall save it for (possible) future needs :-)

Thomas


Post a reply to this message

From: dilbert firestorm
Subject: Re: moray unable to launch POV
Date: 10 Jan 2015 04:57:15
Message: <54b0f77b$1@news.povray.org>
On 4/21/2011 2:17 AM, Thomas de Groot wrote:
> Thanks for this info. Very useful. I do not need it presently but who knows
> what the future will bring? I shall save it for (possible) future needs :-)
>
> Thomas
>
>
did it work?

-- 
Dilbert Firestorm

remove *byteme* to email me


Post a reply to this message

From: dilbert firestorm
Subject: Re: moray unable to launch POV
Date: 10 Jan 2015 05:00:15
Message: <54b0f82f$1@news.povray.org>
On 4/20/2011 5:49 AM, MartinB wrote:
> Hi there,
>
>   +++ I FOUND A SOLUTION +++
>
> I was also looking for a solution of running Moray 3.5 and POV-Ray 3.x
> integrated under Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit.
> I discovered that the version of POV-Ray is not the matter. No povray version
> did run on my machine properly!
>
> So I checked out the TROUBLESHOOTING from the Win7 Control Panel. Here is what I
> did:
> PART I (moray):
> - I clicked 'Run programs made for previous versions of Windows'
> - 'Next' to get to a list of old progs.
> - select Moray...
> - on the next page clicked on 'Try recommended settings'
> - on the next page clicked 'Start the program...'
>    Them Moray started and I loaded a scene - fine.
> - clicked next and pressed 'Yes, save the settings for this program'
> - closed the troubleshooter
>
> PART II (POV-ray):
> - I clicked 'Run programs made for previous versions of Windows'
> - 'Next' to get to a list of old progs.
> - select POV-Ray...
> - clicked 'TROUBLESHOOT PROGRAM'
> - selected the first three checkboxes (in other words all, except 'I dont see
> my...'
> - clicked 'next' and selected WinXP SP2 (SP3 might also do)
> - clicked 'next' and selected 4th and 5th checkbox:
>     'Program does not display properly...'
>     'Windows controls appear cut off...'
> - on the next page clicked 'Start the program...'
> - POV-Ray started fine and the Demo render was successful.
> - clicked next and pressed 'Yes, save the settings for this program'
> - closed the troubleshooter
>
> NOW I CAN DO THE F9 (Raytrace) in MORAY - YEAH!!
>
> I hope that helps
>
> Regards,
>
>    Martin  :-)
>
>
>
>

what were the compatibility settings for Moray 3.5 & povray 3.7 under 
win7?

you can click to moray & povray's properties folder.

-- 
Dilbert Firestorm

remove *byteme* to email me


Post a reply to this message

From: Thomas de Groot
Subject: Re: moray unable to launch POV
Date: 10 Jan 2015 07:06:37
Message: <54b115cd$1@news.povray.org>
On 10-1-2015 10:56, dilbert firestorm wrote:
> On 4/21/2011 2:17 AM, Thomas de Groot wrote:
>> Thanks for this info. Very useful. I do not need it presently but who
>> knows
>> what the future will bring? I shall save it for (possible) future
>> needs :-)
>>
>> Thomas
>>
>>
> did it work?
>
I have no idea as I have not used Moray for ages and I won't probably 
until it has gone through the promised overhaul in an undetermined 
future :-)

-- 
Thomas


Post a reply to this message

<<< Previous 4 Messages Goto Initial 10 Messages

Copyright 2003-2021 Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty. Ltd.