POV-Ray : Newsgroups : povray.windows : error: could not locate file (interface bug?) Server Time
5 Jul 2024 05:57:26 EDT (-0400)
  error: could not locate file (interface bug?) (Message 1 to 10 of 11)  
Goto Latest 10 Messages Next 1 Messages >>>
From: Wlodzimierz ABX Skiba
Subject: error: could not locate file (interface bug?)
Date: 27 Feb 2001 11:21:33
Message: <3a9bd40d@news.povray.org>
I have designed macro with file name as text parameter.
   #macro MyMacro(FileName) /* work with stuff */ #end
and than I call
   MyMacro("stuff.txt")
and it works fine
than I want put full path to file
   MyMacro("c:\test\stuff.txt")
and it works fine, too
but when I right clock and chose from context menu : Open "c:\test\stuff.txt"
than there is message in status bar at bottom of the window : could not locate
file
I'm talking about official POV-Ray 3.1g.watcom.win32 under NT4 Serv
I can work with this but I just want notice bug and/or something like limitation

ABX


Post a reply to this message

From: Ron Parker
Subject: Re: error: could not locate file (interface bug?)
Date: 27 Feb 2001 11:35:50
Message: <slrn99nlr8.u5n.ron.parker@fwi.com>
On Tue, 27 Feb 2001 17:21:21 +0100, Wlodzimierz ABX Skiba wrote:
>   MyMacro("c:\test\stuff.txt")

I don't think \t means what you think it means.

-- 
Ron Parker   http://www2.fwi.com/~parkerr/traces.html
My opinions.  Mine.  Not anyone else's.


Post a reply to this message

From: Wlodzimierz ABX Skiba
Subject: Re: error: could not locate file (interface bug?)
Date: 28 Feb 2001 02:53:21
Message: <3a9cae71$1@news.povray.org>
Ron Parker wrote in message ...
> On Tue, 27 Feb 2001 17:21:21 +0100, Wlodzimierz ABX Skiba wrote:
> >   MyMacro("c:\test\stuff.txt")
> I don't think \t means what you think it means.


thanks Ron but currently it was my mistake in example
I agree that \t has meaning but in my real example was :
parse_model("c:\spline\spline.txt",yes)
and there is nothing in documentation:Text formating about \s
and as I said this syntax works fine as script and returns proper result but it
returns wrong string for interface,
I tried parse_model("c:\\spline\\spline.txt",yes) to check \\ and it still works
as script but I can't open file with context menu

ABX


Post a reply to this message

From: Bob H 
Subject: Re: error: could not locate file (interface bug?)
Date: 28 Feb 2001 09:38:06
Message: <3a9d0d4e@news.povray.org>
Must be a NTFS thing.
Check around at: http://www.winmain.com/
There's a user forum for CodeMax.
Anyone know if the new version can be plugged into POV-Ray?

Bob H.


Post a reply to this message

From: Wlodzimierz ABX Skiba
Subject: Re: error: could not locate file (interface bug?)
Date: 28 Feb 2001 11:08:59
Message: <3a9d229b@news.povray.org>
Bob H. wrote in message <3a9d0d4e@news.povray.org>...
> Must be a NTFS thing.

no. I just tested this with win 95 and this still not work.

> Check around at: http://www.winmain.com/
> There's a user forum for CodeMax.

I'll check.

> Anyone know if the new version can be plugged into POV-Ray?


not me

ABX


Post a reply to this message

From: Tony[B]
Subject: Re: error: could not locate file (interface bug?)
Date: 28 Feb 2001 12:46:29
Message: <3a9d3975@news.povray.org>
I think you have to tell it which program to open the file with.


Post a reply to this message

From: Thorsten Froehlich
Subject: Re: error: could not locate file (interface bug?)
Date: 28 Feb 2001 18:09:25
Message: <3a9d8525$1@news.povray.org>
In article <3a9bd40d@news.povray.org> , "Wlodzimierz ABX Skiba" 
<abx### [at] abxartpl> wrote:

> I have designed macro with file name as text parameter.
>    #macro MyMacro(FileName) /* work with stuff */ #end
> and than I call
>    MyMacro("stuff.txt")
> and it works fine
> than I want put full path to file
>    MyMacro("c:\test\stuff.txt")
> and it works fine, too

The fact that is works fine is nice, but you are using an _unsupported
feature_ here.  If you read the documentation you will find that only
those directories which are specified as include directories will be
searched, and you specify the whole path.

> but when I right clock and chose from context menu : Open "c:\test\stuff.txt"
> than there is message in status bar at bottom of the window : could not locate
> file

Of course, because there is no such include path that combined with your
part of the path will result in a valid path.


    Thorsten


Post a reply to this message

From: Pabs
Subject: Re: error: could not locate file (interface bug?)
Date: 28 Feb 2001 22:30:25
Message: <3a9dc251@news.povray.org>
"Bob H." wrote:

> Check around at: http://www.winmain.com/

When did codemax become free & with source ?????
I couldn't find a licence thou.
--
Bye,
Pabs


Post a reply to this message

From: Pabs
Subject: Re: error: could not locate file (interface bug?)
Date: 28 Feb 2001 22:47:13
Message: <3a9dc641@news.povray.org>
Pabs wrote:

> "Bob H." wrote:
>
> > Check around at: http://www.winmain.com/
>
> When did codemax become free & with source ?????
> I couldn't find a licence thou.

Ah its in the zip file on the first page of the docs
Summary -
 use unlimited copies for development
distrib runtime dlls with apps u develop only _NOT_ by themselves and
_not_ with a bundle of controls sold for a profit
modified codemax controls must be named differently (files too) & bear
this notice 'Portions Copyright 1997-2000 Barry Allyn.  All rights
reserved.'
no selling/profiting from codemax "In other words, only WinMain Software
may profit from CodeMax"
no warranty

--
Bye,
Pabs


Post a reply to this message

From: Wlodzimierz ABX Skiba
Subject: Re: error: could not locate file (interface bug?)
Date: 1 Mar 2001 03:23:57
Message: <3a9e071d@news.povray.org>
Thorsten Froehlich wrote in message <3a9d8525$1@news.povray.org>...
> The fact that is works fine is nice, but you are using an _unsupported
> feature_ here.  If you read the documentation you will find that only
> those directories which are specified as include directories will be
> searched, and you specify the whole path.

thanks for explanation

> > but when I right clock and chose from context menu : Open
"c:\test\stuff.txt"
> > than there is message in status bar at bottom of the window : could not
locate
> > file
>
> Of course, because there is no such include path that combined with your
> part of the path will result in a valid path.


well, have you checked this ?
I added +Lc:\ to the settings and changed calling to
parse_model("spline\spline.txt",yes)
and it still is parsed ok but still not work as context menu Open
"spline\spline.txt"

ABX


Post a reply to this message

Goto Latest 10 Messages Next 1 Messages >>>

Copyright 2003-2023 Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty. Ltd.