POV-Ray : Newsgroups : povray.tools.poser : Poseray 3.10.0.403: is this a bug? Server Time: 26 Jan 2020 13:03:39 GMT
  Poseray 3.10.0.403: is this a bug? (Message 1 to 10 of 11)  
Goto Latest 10 Messages Next 1 Messages >>>
From: Thomas de Groot
Subject: Poseray 3.10.0.403: is this a bug?
Date: 17 Dec 2006 15:17:23
Message: <45855f83$1@news.povray.org>
This is what happens here:

1. make a figure in Poser (5 or 6)
2. save it in compressed format (pzz) and export as obj file
3. import in Poseray

Everything goes well until Poseray tries to decompress the Poser file. Then 
the program freezes with the message: I/O error 103. You have to close the 
program.
This does not happen if the Poser figure is saved in uncompressed (pz3) 
format.

Is this a bug? or is it just me?

Thomas


Post a reply to this message

From: Thomas de Groot
Subject: Re: Poseray 3.10.0.403: is this a bug?
Date: 17 Dec 2006 15:19:19
Message: <45855ff7$1@news.povray.org>
*You have to close the program*

Is not part of the error message!

Thomas


Post a reply to this message

From: Thomas de Groot
Subject: Poseray 3.10.3.412: still..... is this a bug?
Date: 17 Dec 2006 15:38:04
Message: <4585645c$1@news.povray.org>
I discovered that I was way behind in my updates of Poseray!!!
However, the same happens with the latest version :-(

Thomas


Post a reply to this message

From: FlyerX
Subject: Re: Poseray 3.10.0.403: is this a bug?
Date: 17 Dec 2006 22:09:09
Message: <4585c005$1@news.povray.org>
Thomas de Groot wrote:
> This is what happens here:
> 
> 1. make a figure in Poser (5 or 6)
> 2. save it in compressed format (pzz) and export as obj file
> 3. import in Poseray
> 
> Everything goes well until Poseray tries to decompress the Poser file. Then 
> the program freezes with the message: I/O error 103. You have to close the 
> program.
> This does not happen if the Poser figure is saved in uncompressed (pz3) 
> format.
> 
> Is this a bug? or is it just me?
> 
> Thomas 
> 
> 
Thomas,

I tried two compressed poser scene files: One with a simple car figure 
and one with V4. Both were decompressed properly by PoseRay. What figure 
did you try? I have Poser 6.0.3.139 for Win32.

PoseRay decompresses the file and saves a temporary copy of it on the 
drive and directory where the pzz is located. Maybe you are running out 
of space where the pzz file is?

Right now I am working on PoseRay to detect some basic material node 
properties so it can load specular maps from a poser file. Just to make 
PoseRay more compatible with V4, Miki and newer models that use more 
advanced materials.

later,

FlyerX


Post a reply to this message

From: fls13
Subject: Re: Poseray 3.10.0.403: is this a bug?
Date: 17 Dec 2006 23:40:01
Message: <web.4585d5094d700f95cec071d00@news.povray.org>
FlyerX <fly### [at] yahoocom> wrote:
>
> I tried two compressed poser scene files: One with a simple car figure
> and one with V4. Both were decompressed properly by PoseRay. What figure
> did you try? I have Poser 6.0.3.139 for Win32.
>
> PoseRay decompresses the file and saves a temporary copy of it on the
> drive and directory where the pzz is located. Maybe you are running out
> of space where the pzz file is?
>
> Right now I am working on PoseRay to detect some basic material node
> properties so it can load specular maps from a poser file. Just to make
> PoseRay more compatible with V4, Miki and newer models that use more
> advanced materials.
>
> later,
>
> FlyerX

Any chance of setting up a forum at your site? I'd like to compare notes
with other Poser-Poseray-Povray users and this forum is a little unweildy.


Post a reply to this message

From: FlyerX
Subject: Re: Poseray 3.10.0.403: is this a bug?
Date: 18 Dec 2006 00:43:28
Message: <4585e430$1@news.povray.org>
fls13 wrote:
> FlyerX <fly### [at] yahoocom> wrote:
>> I tried two compressed poser scene files: One with a simple car figure
>> and one with V4. Both were decompressed properly by PoseRay. What figure
>> did you try? I have Poser 6.0.3.139 for Win32.
>>
>> PoseRay decompresses the file and saves a temporary copy of it on the
>> drive and directory where the pzz is located. Maybe you are running out
>> of space where the pzz file is?
>>
>> Right now I am working on PoseRay to detect some basic material node
>> properties so it can load specular maps from a poser file. Just to make
>> PoseRay more compatible with V4, Miki and newer models that use more
>> advanced materials.
>>
>> later,
>>
>> FlyerX
> 
> Any chance of setting up a forum at your site? I'd like to compare notes
> with other Poser-Poseray-Povray users and this forum is a little unweildy.
> 
> 
> 

Not with the web account I am using. I may look into creating a google 
or yahoo group instead although this group is fine for me and it is 
already setup.

FlyerX


Post a reply to this message

From: fls13
Subject: Re: Poseray 3.10.0.403: is this a bug?
Date: 18 Dec 2006 03:15:00
Message: <web.458607224d700f95a4773ce60@news.povray.org>
>
> Not with the web account I am using. I may look into creating a google
> or yahoo group instead although this group is fine for me and it is
> already setup.
>
> FlyerX

A Yahoo group would be great! :O)


Post a reply to this message

From: Thomas de Groot
Subject: Re: Poseray 3.10.0.403: is this a bug?
Date: 18 Dec 2006 07:57:10
Message: <458649d6@news.povray.org>
"FlyerX" <fly### [at] yahoocom> schreef in bericht 
news:4585c005$1@news.povray.org...
> Thomas de Groot wrote:
>> This is what happens here:
>>
>> 1. make a figure in Poser (5 or 6)
>> 2. save it in compressed format (pzz) and export as obj file
>> 3. import in Poseray
>>
>> Everything goes well until Poseray tries to decompress the Poser file. 
>> Then the program freezes with the message: I/O error 103. You have to 
>> close the program.
>> This does not happen if the Poser figure is saved in uncompressed (pz3) 
>> format.
>>
>> Is this a bug? or is it just me?
>>
>> Thomas
> Thomas,
>
> I tried two compressed poser scene files: One with a simple car figure and 
> one with V4. Both were decompressed properly by PoseRay. What figure did 
> you try? I have Poser 6.0.3.139 for Win32.

Thank you for answering so quick!
I was afraid it would not be that simple :-(
I am using Poser 6.0.3.140 for Win32.
I tried several figures: James and Kate, both in their basic appearance. In 
Poser 5 I tried Ben.

> PoseRay decompresses the file and saves a temporary copy of it on the 
> drive and directory where the pzz is located. Maybe you are running out of 
> space where the pzz file is?

No. That seems out of the question as far as I can tell. There is more than 
enough space on my drive. Poseray freezes immediately at the start of 
decompressing the file, after it has read the obj file and made a list of 
needed materials. A white representation of the figure appears in the view 
window.
As said, the non-compressed figures load fine, so it it is seems to be 
specifically the compression where the glitch occurs.

Ran again Poseray to see what happens exactly. The error message (I/O error 
103) appears in a separate window, headed by "Poseray - name.obj". Does this 
mean that the obj file is the culprit? On the other hand, that same obj file 
is working correctly when the figure is saved as pz3....

> Right now I am working on PoseRay to detect some basic material node 
> properties so it can load specular maps from a poser file. Just to make 
> PoseRay more compatible with V4, Miki and newer models that use more 
> advanced materials.

Looking forward to that!

Thomas


Post a reply to this message

From: Klaus
Subject: Re: Poseray 3.10.0.403: is this a bug?
Date: 17 Jan 2007 12:05:00
Message: <web.45ae10e24d700f95e8ff40960@news.povray.org>
"fls13" <fls### [at] netzeronet> wrote:
> > Not with the web account I am using. I may look into creating a google
> > or yahoo group instead although this group is fine for me and it is
> > already setup.
>
> A Yahoo group would be great! :O)

Nope. Yahoo groups are "ungreat" in many respects. And also waaaay ungeek.

Perhaps you can find a friendly guy who will host a deidicated forum, if
this is what you want. Heck, I might even volunteer myself!

http://poseray.stock-consulting.com/ should be accessible by all DNS servers
within 48 hours from now. Until then,
http://www.stock-consulting.com/poseray/ may be used.

Yup, a new forum needs to be setup by someone. Right. That's a point. Either
FlyerX2000 will do it, or he won't. I offer this just as an option, free to
take or to ignore.

Best regards, Klaus


Post a reply to this message

From: alphaQuad
Subject: Re: Poseray 3.10.0.403: is this a bug?
Date: 30 Sep 2007 18:00:00
Message: <web.46ffe35d4d700f953ad593690@news.povray.org>
dont go there. pure total spam lamers. Wish someone would have said
something before I wasted my time. Spammers rot in hell fools.


"Klaus" <nomail@nomail> wrote:
> "fls13" <fls### [at] netzeronet> wrote:
> > > Not with the web account I am using. I may look into creating a google
> > > or yahoo group instead although this group is fine for me and it is
> > > already setup.
> >
> > A Yahoo group would be great! :O)
>
> Nope. Yahoo groups are "ungreat" in many respects. And also waaaay ungeek.
>
> Perhaps you can find a friendly guy who will host a deidicated forum, if
> this is what you want. Heck, I might even volunteer myself!
>
> http://poseray.stock-consulting.com/ should be accessible by all DNS servers
> within 48 hours from now. Until then,
> http://www.stock-consulting.com/poseray/ may be used.
>
> Yup, a new forum needs to be setup by someone. Right. That's a point. Either
> FlyerX2000 will do it, or he won't. I offer this just as an option, free to
> take or to ignore.
>
> Best regards, Klaus


Post a reply to this message

Goto Latest 10 Messages Next 1 Messages >>>

Copyright 2003-2008 Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty. Ltd.