POV-Ray : Newsgroups : povray.general : HF_square problem Server Time
4 Aug 2024 14:24:47 EDT (-0400)
  HF_square problem (Message 1 to 6 of 6)  
From: Barron Gillon
Subject: HF_square problem
Date: 9 May 2003 04:43:40
Message: <3ebb6a3c$1@news.povray.org>
Okay, I just started working with HF_Square in the "shapes.inc" (Thanks,
Christopher James Huff), and I'm running into problems...  Specifically,
sometimes it throws an access violation when I try to use the generated
mesh.  Here is the relavent code:

camera {
  location  <0.0, 10, -4.0>
  look_at   <0.0, 10.0,  0.0>
}

light_source {
  <0, 0, 0>            // light's position (translated below)
  color rgb <1, 1, 1>  // light's color
  translate <-30, 30, -30>
}

#declare foo = function {
   pattern {
     wrinkles
   }
 }

HF_Square(foo, true, true, 100, true, "a.ter", 0, 1)

object{
  #include "a.ter"
  texture{terTex}
  translate -.5
  scale 300
}

yes, terTex is defined elsewhere.  Note that it crashes more than half the
time, but not ALL the time.  Lets see...  Relavent info...  I'm using POV
3.5, on WinXP SP1, Athalon XP 1800+, 512 megs ram, ASUS board KT266A
chipset.  I think that covers it.  If anyone else has had problems like
this, please let me know.  Thanks!  Oh...  I seem to have used other mesh2
objects without problems.  Don't know what's wrong with this one.

Barron Gillon


Post a reply to this message

From: ABX
Subject: Re: HF_square problem
Date: 9 May 2003 04:47:11
Message: <ujqmbvo60sgmd4rvgalgp1eaingf74dbch@4ax.com>
On Fri, 9 May 2003 03:43:40 -0500, "Barron Gillon" <gil### [at] purdueedu> wrote:
> it throws an access violation

during rendering or parsing ?
is a.ter on drive ?
if created can be a.ter included without calling HF_Square ?

ABX


Post a reply to this message

From: Barron Gillon
Subject: Re: HF_square problem
Date: 9 May 2003 05:45:08
Message: <3ebb78a4@news.povray.org>
It appears to be during parse time.  I tried calling HF_Square several times
without including a.ter, and it never crashed.  However, it does crash if I
do include a.ter but don't call HF_Square.  I still don't understand why it
only crashes some of the time though.  It sounds like a Windows thing to me.

Barron Gillon


Post a reply to this message

From: ABX
Subject: Re: HF_square problem
Date: 9 May 2003 05:47:38
Message: <r6umbv46qdf54v9ja44b0i89sfrtqa3817@4ax.com>
On Fri, 9 May 2003 04:45:05 -0500, "Barron Gillon" <gil### [at] purdueedu> wrote:
> It appears to be during parse time.  I tried calling HF_Square several times
> without including a.ter, and it never crashed.  However, it does crash if I
> do include a.ter but don't call HF_Square.  I still don't understand why it
> only crashes some of the time though.  It sounds like a Windows thing to me.

Tried detailed memory test ? Drive test ?

ABX


Post a reply to this message

From: Barron Gillon
Subject: Re: HF_square problem
Date: 9 May 2003 15:29:29
Message: <3ebc0199$1@news.povray.org>
I've run scan disk if that's what you mean.  I think it is unlikely to be a
memory or drive problem because aside from this issue povray (and my
computer in general) work just fine.  Are there other tests I should try?


Barron Gillon
-- 
In June 1998, another submarine got caught in fishing nets at Sokcho and its
crew killed themselves.  Such is the fighting spirit of North Korean
soldiers.

"ABX" <abx### [at] abxartpl> wrote in message
news:r6umbv46qdf54v9ja44b0i89sfrtqa3817@4ax.com...
> On Fri, 9 May 2003 04:45:05 -0500, "Barron Gillon" <gil### [at] purdueedu>
wrote:
> > It appears to be during parse time.  I tried calling HF_Square several
times
> > without including a.ter, and it never crashed.  However, it does crash
if I
> > do include a.ter but don't call HF_Square.  I still don't understand why
it
> > only crashes some of the time though.  It sounds like a Windows thing to
me.
>
> Tried detailed memory test ? Drive test ?
>
> ABX


Post a reply to this message

From: Christopher James Huff
Subject: Re: HF_square problem
Date: 9 May 2003 17:29:59
Message: <cjameshuff-26F4F9.17300309052003@netplex.aussie.org>
It sounds like a problem with the mesh parsing code, not with the 
HF_Square() macro. It may be that the macro is outputting bad meshes for 
some reason and that the parse code is crashing instead of reporting an 
error. I didn't do any work on the mesh2 versions of the macros, but 
they seem to work fine in other cases. On the other hand, so does the 
mesh2 code...

-- 
Christopher James Huff <cja### [at] earthlinknet>
http://home.earthlink.net/~cjameshuff/
POV-Ray TAG: chr### [at] tagpovrayorg
http://tag.povray.org/


Post a reply to this message

Copyright 2003-2023 Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty. Ltd.