POV-Ray : Newsgroups : povray.windows : some question about windows cmd Server Time: 17 Jan 2019 03:12:04 GMT
  some question about windows cmd (Message 1 to 10 of 18)  
Goto Latest 10 Messages Next 8 Messages >>>
From: 944291641
Subject: some question about windows cmd
Date: 18 Mar 2018 15:05:00
Message: <web.5aae7f0929bb444d8d9f08a40@news.povray.org>
when i use windows cmd to execute my pov program,it cannot find some file in the
path of pov program:
for example:
my cmd is:"start pvengine /render G:\\patht_to_code\\model.ini"
and code like this:
+ source
  t1.pov // it contain "#include "TOMLEAF.inc"" ,but no means
  TOMLEAF.inc
  something else

could anyone help me? thanks a million!


Post a reply to this message

From: Stephen
Subject: Re: some question about windows cmd
Date: 18 Mar 2018 17:54:32
Message: <5aaea7d8$1@news.povray.org>
On 18/03/2018 15:00, 944291641 wrote:
> when i use windows cmd to execute my pov program,it cannot find some file in the
> path of pov program:
> for example:
> my cmd is:"start pvengine /render G:\\patht_to_code\\model.ini"
> and code like this:
> + source
>    t1.pov // it contain "#include "TOMLEAF.inc"" ,but no means
>    TOMLEAF.inc
>    something else
> 
> could anyone help me? thanks a million!
> 
> 

Try implicitly defining the path to the *.pov file in the ini file and 
the include file.
Also you could define the location of library files in povray.ini. Like:
Library_Path="G:\Libraries\Documents\POV-Ray\v3.7\include"


-- 

Regards
     Stephen


Post a reply to this message

From: 944291641
Subject: Re: some question about windows cmd
Date: 19 Mar 2018 00:55:01
Message: <web.5aaf096b47c4fa638d9f08a40@news.povray.org>
Stephen <mca### [at] aolcom> wrote:
> On 18/03/2018 15:00, 944291641 wrote:
> > when i use windows cmd to execute my pov program,it cannot find some file in the
> > path of pov program:
> > for example:
> > my cmd is:"start pvengine /render G:\\patht_to_code\\model.ini"
> > and code like this:
> > + source
> >    t1.pov // it contain "#include "TOMLEAF.inc"" ,but no means
> >    TOMLEAF.inc
> >    something else
> >
> > could anyone help me? thanks a million!
> >
> >
>
> Try implicitly defining the path to the *.pov file in the ini file and
> the include file.
> Also you could define the location of library files in povray.ini. Like:
> Library_Path="G:\Libraries\Documents\POV-Ray\v3.7\include"
>
>
> --
>
> Regards
>      Stephen

it work! thank you very much Stephen!


Post a reply to this message

From: Stephen
Subject: Re: some question about windows cmd
Date: 19 Mar 2018 05:57:37
Message: <5aaf5151$1@news.povray.org>
On 19/03/2018 00:50, 944291641 wrote:
> Stephen <mca### [at] aolcom> wrote:
>> On 18/03/2018 15:00, 944291641 wrote:
>>> when i use windows cmd to execute my pov program,it cannot find some file in the
>>> path of pov program:
>>> for example:
>>> my cmd is:"start pvengine /render G:\\patht_to_code\\model.ini"
>>> and code like this:
>>> + source
>>>     t1.pov // it contain "#include "TOMLEAF.inc"" ,but no means
>>>     TOMLEAF.inc
>>>     something else
>>>
>>> could anyone help me? thanks a million!
>>>
>>>
>>
>> Try implicitly defining the path to the *.pov file in the ini file and
>> the include file.
>> Also you could define the location of library files in povray.ini. Like:
>> Library_Path="G:\Libraries\Documents\POV-Ray\v3.7\include"
>>
>>
>> --
>>
>> Regards
>>       Stephen
> 
> it work! thank you very much Stephen!
> 
> 

Phew! I'm glad. :-)

I ran into the same problem myself, last week.
It was from using machine generated code that I was rendering manually 
from a different directory than where it was created.

-- 

Regards
     Stephen


Post a reply to this message

From: Alain
Subject: Re: some question about windows cmd
Date: 20 Mar 2018 23:41:56
Message: <5ab19c44@news.povray.org>
Le 18-03-19 à 01:57, Stephen a écrit :
> On 19/03/2018 00:50, 944291641 wrote:
>> Stephen <mca### [at] aolcom> wrote:
>>> On 18/03/2018 15:00, 944291641 wrote:
>>>> when i use windows cmd to execute my pov program,it cannot find some 
>>>> file in the
>>>> path of pov program:
>>>> for example:
>>>> my cmd is:"start pvengine /render G:\\patht_to_code\\model.ini"
>>>> and code like this:
>>>> + source
>>>>     t1.pov // it contain "#include "TOMLEAF.inc"" ,but no means
>>>>     TOMLEAF.inc
>>>>     something else
>>>>
>>>> could anyone help me? thanks a million!
>>>>
>>>>
>>>
>>> Try implicitly defining the path to the *.pov file in the ini file and
>>> the include file.
>>> Also you could define the location of library files in povray.ini. Like:
>>> Library_Path="G:\Libraries\Documents\POV-Ray\v3.7\include"
>>>
>>>
>>> -- 
>>>
>>> Regards
>>>       Stephen
>>
>> it work! thank you very much Stephen!
>>
>>
> 
> Phew! I'm glad. :-)
> 
> I ran into the same problem myself, last week.
> It was from using machine generated code that I was rendering manually 
> from a different directory than where it was created.
> 

When using those machine generated scenes, check if it contains any hard 
coded paths and other full files paths.
Those are totally non-portable, even within a single machine.


Post a reply to this message

From: Stephen
Subject: Re: some question about windows cmd
Date: 22 Mar 2018 08:33:52
Message: <5ab36a70$1@news.povray.org>
On 20/03/2018 23:42, Alain wrote:
>> I ran into the same problem myself, last week.
>> It was from using machine generated code that I was rendering manually 
>> from a different directory than where it was created.
>>
> 
> When using those machine generated scenes, check if it contains any hard 
> coded paths and other full files paths.
> Those are totally non-portable, even within a single machine.

For once I cannot agree with you, Alain.
If I am using image_maps or df3s and don't use the full file paths. I 
would gave to copy the images or df3s into the current directory. In the 
past when I did not use the full file paths. I ended up with multiple 
copies of the same file in scores of locations. Considering the number 
of image maps Poser can use. It is a waste of space and be confusing.

-- 

Regards
     Stephen


Post a reply to this message

From: clipka
Subject: Re: some question about windows cmd
Date: 22 Mar 2018 11:11:28
Message: <5ab38f60$1@news.povray.org>
Am 22.03.2018 um 09:33 schrieb Stephen:
> On 20/03/2018 23:42, Alain wrote:
>>> I ran into the same problem myself, last week.
>>> It was from using machine generated code that I was rendering
>>> manually from a different directory than where it was created.
>>>
>>
>> When using those machine generated scenes, check if it contains any
>> hard coded paths and other full files paths.
>> Those are totally non-portable, even within a single machine.
> 
> For once I cannot agree with you, Alain.
> If I am using image_maps or df3s and don't use the full file paths. I
> would gave to copy the images or df3s into the current directory. In the
> past when I did not use the full file paths. I ended up with multiple
> copies of the same file in scores of locations. Considering the number
> of image maps Poser can use. It is a waste of space and be confusing.

A smart approach to this might be to use variables for the file name,
and place them at the top of the scene file (or even in the INI file).
That way you can quickly see whether the scene uses files from a
location other than the scene directory (and you can quickly change it
if necessary, without having to sift through the entire scene file and
possibly a couple of include files).


Post a reply to this message

From: Stephen
Subject: Re: some question about windows cmd
Date: 22 Mar 2018 13:09:57
Message: <5ab3ab25$1@news.povray.org>
On 22/03/2018 11:11, clipka wrote:
> Am 22.03.2018 um 09:33 schrieb Stephen:
>> On 20/03/2018 23:42, Alain wrote:
>>>> I ran into the same problem myself, last week.
>>>> It was from using machine generated code that I was rendering
>>>> manually from a different directory than where it was created.
>>>>
>>>
>>> When using those machine generated scenes, check if it contains any
>>> hard coded paths and other full files paths.
>>> Those are totally non-portable, even within a single machine.
>>
>> For once I cannot agree with you, Alain.
>> If I am using image_maps or df3s and don't use the full file paths. I
>> would gave to copy the images or df3s into the current directory. In the
>> past when I did not use the full file paths. I ended up with multiple
>> copies of the same file in scores of locations. Considering the number
>> of image maps Poser can use. It is a waste of space and be confusing.
> 
> A smart approach to this might be to use variables for the file name,
> and place them at the top of the scene file (or even in the INI file).
> That way you can quickly see whether the scene uses files from a
> location other than the scene directory (and you can quickly change it
> if necessary, without having to sift through the entire scene file and
> possibly a couple of include files).
> 

That sounds a good idea if you are hand coding your scenes. Although it 
seems like a lot of work for little benefit if your scene is exported 
with the paths included. PoseRay has that option and that is what I do 
for my own rendering. For sharing scenes I don't use that option and the 
image maps are exported to the directory that the mesh2 is saved in. So 
the set can be zipped together.
The problem I mentioned above was a missing file (a df3). And was 
quickly rectified when Pov said it wasn't where the SDL said it was. I 
must have cut and pasted instead of copy and pasting.

Thanks for your thoughts.


-- 

Regards
     Stephen


Post a reply to this message

From: Alain
Subject: Re: some question about windows cmd
Date: 22 Mar 2018 20:52:55
Message: <5ab417a7@news.povray.org>
Le 18-03-22 à 04:33, Stephen a écrit :
> On 20/03/2018 23:42, Alain wrote:
>>> I ran into the same problem myself, last week.
>>> It was from using machine generated code that I was rendering 
>>> manually from a different directory than where it was created.
>>>
>>
>> When using those machine generated scenes, check if it contains any 
>> hard coded paths and other full files paths.
>> Those are totally non-portable, even within a single machine.
> 
> For once I cannot agree with you, Alain.
> If I am using image_maps or df3s and don't use the full file paths. I 
> would gave to copy the images or df3s into the current directory. In the 
> past when I did not use the full file paths. I ended up with multiple 
> copies of the same file in scores of locations. Considering the number 
> of image maps Poser can use. It is a waste of space and be confusing.
> 

My approach to that is to have a central repository that is refered to 
from the master ini file.
You already have a central repository for the inc files, just create one 
for the image maps, one for the machine generated meshes,...
Then, you have a single place to look for.


Post a reply to this message

From: Stephen
Subject: Re: some question about windows cmd
Date: 22 Mar 2018 21:30:18
Message: <5ab4206a$1@news.povray.org>
On 22/03/2018 20:55, Alain wrote:
> Le 18-03-22 à 04:33, Stephen a écrit :
>> On 20/03/2018 23:42, Alain wrote:
>>>> I ran into the same problem myself, last week.
>>>> It was from using machine generated code that I was rendering 
>>>> manually from a different directory than where it was created.
>>>>
>>>
>>> When using those machine generated scenes, check if it contains any 
>>> hard coded paths and other full files paths.
>>> Those are totally non-portable, even within a single machine.
>>
>> For once I cannot agree with you, Alain.
>> If I am using image_maps or df3s and don't use the full file paths. I 
>> would gave to copy the images or df3s into the current directory. In 
>> the past when I did not use the full file paths. I ended up with 
>> multiple copies of the same file in scores of locations. Considering 
>> the number of image maps Poser can use. It is a waste of space and be 
>> confusing.
>>
> 
> My approach to that is to have a central repository that is refered to 
> from the master ini file.
> You already have a central repository for the inc files, just create one 
> for the image maps, one for the machine generated meshes,...
> Then, you have a single place to look for.

I would hazard a guess that you do not frequently use modellers to 
generate your scenes. If you do, like me, you have to work with what 
they give you. I look forward to when the Pov team can start working on 
the replacement for Moray, as promised all those years ago. Then we 
might get a program that is both functional and sophisticated.
I am not whinging btw. Just giving my opinion.

-- 

Regards
     Stephen


Post a reply to this message

Goto Latest 10 Messages Next 8 Messages >>>

Copyright 2003-2008 Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty. Ltd.