POV-Ray : Newsgroups : povray.newusers : Import of measurement data (ASCII format) in animation Server Time
3 May 2024 13:16:44 EDT (-0400)
  Import of measurement data (ASCII format) in animation (Message 12 to 21 of 34)  
<<< Previous 10 Messages Goto Latest 10 Messages Next 10 Messages >>>
From: Bald Eagle
Subject: Re: Import of measurement data (ASCII format) in animation
Date: 2 Mar 2016 10:25:00
Message: <web.56d704f6a405651b5e7df57c0@news.povray.org>
You can always post your scene files as attachments in:

http://news.povray.org/povray.binaries.scene-files/

I tend to post atttachments in the appropriate sections first, wait until it
shows up on the message digest, and then post a link in the main discussion
thread, to make it convenient to find.

Like this:
http://news.povray.org/povray.binaries.scene-files/message/%3Cweb.56d702f78f8162b55e7df57c0%40news.povray.org%3E/#%3Cwe
b.56d702f78f8162b55e7df57c0%40news.povray.org%3E


Post a reply to this message

From: Bald Eagle
Subject: Re: Import of measurement data (ASCII format) in animation
Date: 2 Mar 2016 10:35:00
Message: <web.56d7073ca405651b5e7df57c0@news.povray.org>
Also,
An invaluable resource:

http://www.f-lohmueller.de/pov_tut/animate/pov_anie.htm
 and be aware that if you click on "Insert" in POV-Ray's menu, you can insert
huge chunks of useful pre-written code, and even add your own.


Post a reply to this message

From: Bald Eagle
Subject: Re: Import of measurement data (ASCII format) in animation
Date: 2 Mar 2016 11:10:00
Message: <web.56d70f6ea405651b5e7df57c0@news.povray.org>
Add these lines to the top of your file:

#version 3.7;
global_settings { assumed_gamma 1.0 }
#include "colors.inc"


For your prism, if you are only making a square, then you only need 5 points
instead of 7.   Your last 2 points are redundant.
 prism {
    linear_sweep
    linear_spline
    0,
    0,
    7,
    <-2,-3>,<2,-3>, <2,0>, <2,3>, <-2, 3>, <-2,0>, <-2,-3>
    pigment { Blue }
  }

If you could attach a copy of your data set, and maybe a diagram of the location
of the points on the plate, it would be easier understand the full scope, and to
head off anything that would need to be rewritten.

I'd build the "plate" as a wire mesh, using spheres as the data points, and then
maybe cylinders or sphere sweeps to connect them in a grid.
Then you could fill in the surface with triangles or smooth_triangles.

This sounds very Paul Bourke -y
Amazing stuff
http://paulbourke.net/miscellaneous/povexamples/


If you're going to make use of the clock variable, then you need to initiate
your renders with an ini file, set up for your animation.
I would suggest copying your files to a special subdirectory, since this will
generate a large collection of separate renders.

Then you need to collect all of your images into a video file so you can animate
it (or you could just use a viewer and "step" through the images one after the
other.
I use VideoMach  ( http://gromada.com/videomach/ ) for most of my work.
Other people have their preferences, based on OS, etc.
Format Factory is useful for converting to other video formats.


Post a reply to this message

From: Stephen
Subject: Re: Import of measurement data (ASCII format) in animation
Date: 2 Mar 2016 11:32:26
Message: <56d7159a$1@news.povray.org>
On 3/2/2016 4:06 PM, Bald Eagle wrote:
> If you could attach a copy of your data set, and maybe a diagram of the location
> of the points on the plate, it would be easier understand the full scope, and to
> head off anything that would need to be rewritten.

Yes, only six points. Driving me mad trying to imagine it. Are the edges 
fixed or free etc. :-)

-- 

Regards
     Stephen


Post a reply to this message

From: Bald Eagle
Subject: Re: Import of measurement data (ASCII format) in animation
Date: 2 Mar 2016 12:35:00
Message: <web.56d72336a405651b5e7df57c0@news.povray.org>
Stephen <mca### [at] aolcom> wrote:

> Yes, only six points. Driving me mad trying to imagine it. Are the edges
> fixed or free etc. :-)

That would affect things, and produce a different visual effect, yes.
I'm currently wondering if the vibrations are purely (co)sine waves and their
harmonics, or if there's some catenary in there...

Getting something smoothly interpolated might require functions and
isosurfaces...   the ball-and-stick/string grid would be pretty cumbersome,
although if you had a lot of splines that were defined using arrays... still
pretty ugly.  I haven't had that much coffee yet, and I'm not sure how much free
time I'd have to work all of that out...   :O

We're almost getting into Finite Element Method territory here.   {shivers}


Post a reply to this message

From: Bald Eagle
Subject: Re: Import of measurement data (ASCII format) in animation
Date: 2 Mar 2016 13:00:01
Message: <web.56d72995a405651b5e7df57c0@news.povray.org>
Scratch all that.
Christian Froeschlin obviously has the winning idea with the bicubic_patch.

[high five!]


Post a reply to this message

From: Bald Eagle
Subject: Re: Import of measurement data (ASCII format) in animation
Date: 2 Mar 2016 21:45:01
Message: <web.56d7a4b7a405651b5e7df57c0@news.povray.org>
Christian,

I just got done editing a lot of code to smoothly stitch together four bicubic
patches, and what I noticed is that the surface of the patches do not coincide
with the control points - which is likely how the data set would applied -
setting the control points from the values in the file.

http://news.povray.org/povray.binaries.images/attachment/%3Cweb.56d7a3881f57d665e7df57c0%40news.povray.org%3E/4smoothbi
cubicpatches%20%5Bnumgrid%20-%20side%5D.png

Is there a way to calculate where the control point needs to be given the
surface coordinate?   I seem to recall some sort of A-Frame looking diagram,
though I'll have to go dig that up and see if there's a way to back-calculate.


Post a reply to this message

From: Stephen
Subject: Re: Import of measurement data (ASCII format) in animation
Date: 3 Mar 2016 05:54:41
Message: <56d817f1$1@news.povray.org>
On 3/2/2016 5:30 PM, Bald Eagle wrote:
> Stephen <mca### [at] aolcom> wrote:
>
>> Yes, only six points. Driving me mad trying to imagine it. Are the edges
>> fixed or free etc. :-)
>
> That would affect things, and produce a different visual effect, yes.
> I'm currently wondering if the vibrations are purely (co)sine waves and their
> harmonics, or if there's some catenary in there...
>
> Getting something smoothly interpolated might require functions and
> isosurfaces...   the ball-and-stick/string grid would be pretty cumbersome,
> although if you had a lot of splines that were defined using arrays... still
> pretty ugly.  I haven't had that much coffee yet, and I'm not sure how much free
> time I'd have to work all of that out...   :O
>
> We're almost getting into Finite Element Method territory here.   {shivers}
>
>

Damn you Moriarty! I an not going down that route. :-)

-- 

Regards
     Stephen


Post a reply to this message

From: Stephen
Subject: Re: Import of measurement data (ASCII format) in animation
Date: 3 Mar 2016 06:00:26
Message: <56d8194a$1@news.povray.org>
On 3/2/2016 5:57 PM, Bald Eagle wrote:
> Scratch all that.
> Christian Froeschlin obviously has the winning idea with the bicubic_patch.
>
> [high five!]
>
>
I don't know. I've tried it before making a water surface. As you found 
out the movement is not linear. There is also the problem with joining 
the patches together and only having six data points. Too much for my 
calcified brain. :-)

-- 

Regards
     Stephen


Post a reply to this message

From: JorgeAE
Subject: Re: Import of measurement data (ASCII format) in animation
Date: 3 Mar 2016 07:50:01
Message: <web.56d83245a405651b7f2c2ccf0@news.povray.org>
"Bald Eagle" <cre### [at] netscapenet> wrote:
> Add these lines to the top of your file:
>
> #version 3.7;
> global_settings { assumed_gamma 1.0 }
> #include "colors.inc"


My code includes these lines, of course. I just had forgotten to copy them here
:)



>
>
> For your prism, if you are only making a square, then you only need 5 points
> instead of 7.   Your last 2 points are redundant.
>  prism {
>     linear_sweep
>     linear_spline
>     0,
>     0,
>     7,
>     <-2,-3>,<2,-3>, <2,0>, <2,3>, <-2, 3>, <-2,0>, <-2,-3>
>     pigment { Blue }
>   }

I am aware of the fact that only four different points are neccessary to define
the rectangle. The reason why I used six Points and not only four is that I
wanted to assign a spline line to each one of the six points. In that way, the
corners of the rectangle plus 2 points in the middle of both long sides would be
translated according to the (position) data I take from the Vibration file.



> If you could attach a copy of your data set, and maybe a diagram of the location
> of the points on the plate, it would be easier understand the full scope, and to
> head off anything that would need to be rewritten.
>

I uploaded three files: the vibration data as txt file, a diagram of the plate
with the real location of the measurement points and a diagram of the plate with
the measurement points located at the Corners, which corresponds to the code I
included here, where I intended to animate a "starting scenario".
(see
http://news.povray.org/povray.binaries.scene-files/thread/%3Cweb.56d82b80a405651b7f2c2ccf0%40news.povray.org%3E/)


Post a reply to this message

<<< Previous 10 Messages Goto Latest 10 Messages Next 10 Messages >>>

Copyright 2003-2023 Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty. Ltd.