POV-Ray : Newsgroups : povray.general : Running pov 3.1 on windows 10 Server Time
17 Apr 2021 07:38:43 EDT (-0400)
  Running pov 3.1 on windows 10 (Message 1 to 5 of 5)  
From: srh
Subject: Running pov 3.1 on windows 10
Date: 19 Mar 2021 23:56:18
Message: <60557262$1@news.povray.org>
I have pov 3.6 and 3.7 running on windows 10.  I tried installing pov 3.1, but it will
not render - it just becomes unresponsive.  Is 3.1 just not compatible with windows 10
or is there some setting that needs adjusting?  Any info on this will be appreciated.
-- 
srh



----Android NewsGroup Reader----
https://piaohong.s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/usenet/index.html


Post a reply to this message

From: Alain Martel
Subject: Re: Running pov 3.1 on windows 10
Date: 20 Mar 2021 10:50:38
Message: <60560bbe$1@news.povray.org>
> I have pov 3.6 and 3.7 running on windows 10.  I tried installing pov 3.1, but it
will not render - it just becomes unresponsive.  Is 3.1 just not compatible with
windows 10 or is there some setting that needs adjusting?  Any info on this will be
appreciated.
> 

Why do you want to use version 3.1 ? It's over 20 years old. Even 
version 3.6 is obsolete.

It's so old that you ma want to run it in compatibility mode. Try 
running it as a Windows Vista application. If you run Windows 10 32 bit 
version, you may be able to chose an older version, like Windows 98.

Right click the shortcut.






Note that all versions up to 3.6 where single thread, and those older 
than 3.6 where strictly 32 bits.


Post a reply to this message

From: srh
Subject: Re: Running pov 3.1 on windows 10
Date: 20 Mar 2021 12:07:42
Message: <60561dce@news.povray.org>
Alain Martel <kua### [at] videotronca> Wrote in message:r

on windows 10.  I tried installing pov 3.1, but it will not render - it jus
t becomes unresponsive.  Is 3.1 just not compatible with windows 10 or is t
here some setting that needs adjusting?  Any info on this will be appreciat
ed.> Why do you want to use version 3.1 ? It's over 20 years old. Even vers
ion 3.6 is obsolete.It's so old that you ma want to run it in compatibility
 mode. Try running it as a Windows Vista application. If you run Windows 10
 32 bit version, you may be able to chose an older version, like Windows 98




le thread, and those older than 3.6 where strictly 32 bits.


I tried compatibility mode already (good suggestion, tho) and that did not 
work..as to why, I have some other programs that work with povray...but onl
y the older versions....thanks for your response.
-- 
srh



----Android NewsGroup Reader----
https://piaohong.s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/usenet/index.html


Post a reply to this message

From: Chris Cason
Subject: Re: Running pov 3.1 on windows 10
Date: 20 Mar 2021 18:42:37
Message: <60567a5d@news.povray.org>
On 21/03/2021 03:07, srh wrote:
> I tried compatibility mode already (good suggestion, tho) and that did not work..as
to why, I have some other programs that work with povray...but only the older
versions....thanks for your response.

Are you trying to run the windows version of 3.1? If so, try the DOS 
version instead (however note that as far as I am aware this will not 
work in 64-bit versions of windows 10).

If you really absolutely need version 3.1 and later versions won't work 
even with an appropriate #version 3.1 directive added to their output 
files then you may have to set up a virtual machine with windows 95 or 
something and run it in there. It might even be worth booting a live 
linux ISO and seeing if the Linux 3.1 console version works.

If all else fails you could try building a new console exe from the source.

-- Chris


Post a reply to this message

From: srh
Subject: Re: Running pov 3.1 on windows 10
Date: 20 Mar 2021 20:27:58
Message: <6056930e$1@news.povray.org>
Chris Cason <del### [at] deletethistoopovrayorg> Wrote in message:r
> On 21/03/2021 03:07, srh wrote:> I tried compatibility mode already (good
suggestion, tho) and that did not work..as to why, I have some other programs that
work with povray...but only the older versions....thanks for your response.Are you
trying to run the windows version of 3.1? If so, try the DOS version instead (however
note that as far as I am aware this will not work in 64-bit versions of windows 10).If
you really absolutely need version 3.1 and later versions won't work even with an
appropriate #version 3.1 directive added to their output files then you may have to
set up a virtual machine with windows 95 or something and run it in there. It might
even be worth booting a live linux ISO and seeing if the Linux 3.1 console version
works.If all else fails you could try building a new console exe from the source.--
Chris


I want a windows version, as the programs I want to work with won't work in a dos
emulator (like dosbox)...will look into a virtual windows 95 set up...if all else
fails, I will do the #version 3.1 directive, but it will entail a lot of extra work. 
Thanks for your response...and as far as building a new console exe, that is probably
beyond my time budget...too much to catch up on as far as compilers go....Thanks again
for responding.
-- 
srh



----Android NewsGroup Reader----
https://piaohong.s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/usenet/index.html


Post a reply to this message

Copyright 2003-2021 Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty. Ltd.