POV-Ray : Newsgroups : povray.advanced-users : Using an image_map as a light filter: bug in 3.8? Server Time
29 Mar 2024 04:23:42 EDT (-0400)
  Using an image_map as a light filter: bug in 3.8? (Message 1 to 6 of 6)  
From: Bald Eagle
Subject: Using an image_map as a light filter: bug in 3.8?
Date: 21 Jun 2019 17:35:00
Message: <web.5d0d4d574f89eb5b4eec112d0@news.povray.org>
I was just trying to make a simple scene to project some light through an image
map, and started pulling my hair out.

The image map casts a black shadow onto my plane.  Nothing I tried to do changed
this. (changing filter values, moving things around, changing the ordering of
directives)

I have a lot of hair, and causing myself undue difficulty in writing the
simplest of scenes is not unusual, but ...


a)  I found surprisingly few scenes and examples trying to search for a reason /
solution.

and

b) when I simply switch from #version 3.8; to #version 3.7;
it works fine - just as expected.

Did something get changed in 3.8 that needs to be done to have this work "the
old way"? or is this truly a bug that crept in?

Here's the scene with some visual markers - just plop some image you have stored
locally in place of my surface map of the planet Mercury.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
//#version 3.8; // <--- no worky. The POV-Ray is busticated. :(
#version 3.7; //  All is light and happiness.

global_settings {assumed_gamma 1.0}
#include "colors.inc"

camera {
 location <0, 6, -5>
 right x*image_width/image_height
 up y
 look_at <0, 3, 0>
}

//sky_sphere {pigment {rgb 1}}



#declare Filter =

texture {
 pigment {
  image_map {"/home/oem/Documents/POV-Ray-3.8/Maps/mercury-map.jpg"
   once
   filter all 1
  } // end image_map

 translate <-0.5, -0.5, -0.5>
 scale <0.125, 0.125, 1.0>
 translate 0.5
 warp {spherical}
 rotate -y*90
 rotate -x*90
 } // end pigment
} // end texture

#declare Position = <0, 5, 0>;

#declare Sphere = sphere {<0, 0, 0> 1 }
object {Sphere pigment {rgbt <1, 1, 1, 0.8>} no_shadow scale 0.99 translate
Position}

object {Sphere texture {Filter} translate Position}

object {Sphere texture {pigment {rgbt <1, 1, 0, 0.5>} finish {emission 1}}
no_shadow scale 0.1 translate Position}
light_source {Position rgb 1}

plane {y, 0 pigment {checker White Gray90}}


Post a reply to this message

From: Bald Eagle
Subject: Re: Using an image_map as a light filter: bug in 3.8?
Date: 21 Jun 2019 17:50:01
Message: <web.5d0d4ffe377950ae4eec112d0@news.povray.org>
Whoops - I forgot to include:

Persistence of Vision(tm) Ray Tracer
Version 3.8.0-alpha.9861167.unofficial

This is an unofficial version compiled by:
Dick Balaska - qtpovray edition


Post a reply to this message

From: dick balaska
Subject: Re: Using an image_map as a light filter: bug in 3.8?
Date: 23 Jun 2019 20:11:02
Message: <5d101516$1@news.povray.org>
On 6/21/19 5:45 PM, Bald Eagle wrote:
> 
> Whoops - I forgot to include:
> 
> Persistence of Vision(tm) Ray Tracer
> Version 3.8.0-alpha.9861167.unofficial
> 
> This is an unofficial version compiled by:
> Dick Balaska - qtpovray edition
> 
> 

What? Cool, I didn't think anyone actually used it.  That's a pretty old
version by now, about 8 months, 2018-10-09.  I stopped updating when
clipka started rewriting the parser.

-- 
dik
Rendered 1024 of 921600 pixels (0%)


Post a reply to this message

From: Bald Eagle
Subject: Re: Using an image_map as a light filter: bug in 3.8?
Date: 23 Jun 2019 20:50:00
Message: <web.5d101e19377950ae4eec112d0@news.povray.org>
dick balaska <dic### [at] buckosoftcom> wrote:

> What? Cool, I didn't think anyone actually used it.  That's a pretty old
> version by now, about 8 months, 2018-10-09.  I stopped updating when
> clipka started rewriting the parser.


I humbly worship at the shrine of Balaska.   :D

I did an apt-get upgrade just to check, and my next step was to see about
installing POV-Ray from source, but I've never done that in Linux yet.
I've only ever done any of that "make" stuff - and that was with a step-by-step
instruction sheet

I thought you had at one point edited the qt version to make a blue arrow to
render the SDL tab currently being edited - I guess that went away?

Maybe someone can check to see if the weird image_map filtering bug still exists
in the most current [un]official version.


Post a reply to this message

From: dick balaska
Subject: Re: Using an image_map as a light filter: bug in 3.8?
Date: 23 Jun 2019 21:05:19
Message: <5d1021cf$1@news.povray.org>
On 6/23/19 8:49 PM, Bald Eagle wrote:
> 
> dick balaska <dic### [at] buckosoftcom> wrote:
> 
>> What? Cool, I didn't think anyone actually used it.  That's a pretty old
>> version by now, about 8 months, 2018-10-09.  I stopped updating when
>> clipka started rewriting the parser.
> 
> 
> I humbly worship at the shrine of Balaska.   :D
> 
> I did an apt-get upgrade just to check, and my next step was to see about
> installing POV-Ray from source, but I've never done that in Linux yet.
> I've only ever done any of that "make" stuff - and that was with a step-by-step
> instruction sheet
> 
> I thought you had at one point edited the qt version to make a blue arrow to
> render the SDL tab currently being edited - I guess that went away?

That should be there.  If there is no file "hard" selected, it should
"soft" select the current tab.

http://www.buckosoft.com/qtpovray/render.html

> 
> Maybe someone can check to see if the weird image_map filtering bug still exists
> in the most current [un]official version.
> 
> 


-- 
dik
Rendered 1024 of 921600 pixels (0%)


Post a reply to this message

From: Bald Eagle
Subject: Re: Using an image_map as a light filter: bug in 3.8?
Date: 23 Jun 2019 21:45:00
Message: <web.5d102a4c377950ae4eec112d0@news.povray.org>
dick balaska <dic### [at] buckosoftcom> wrote:

> That should be there.  If there is no file "hard" selected, it should
> "soft" select the current tab.
>
> http://www.buckosoft.com/qtpovray/render.html

Ooooooh.   Gotcha.   It works.   [thumbs up]

I finally at long last found the installation directory
/usr/share/qtpovray-3.8/scenes/

and wanted to make a new workspace over there, but
when I go to do that, I get

"In the following dialog, select the root of your POV-Ray source"

but when I go to /usr/bin and try to select qtpovray, it's greyed out.

What's the trick?


Post a reply to this message

Copyright 2003-2023 Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty. Ltd.