POV-Ray : Newsgroups : moray.win : Rendering animations in Vista? Server Time: 19 Dec 2018 13:28:28 GMT
  Rendering animations in Vista? (Message 1 to 7 of 7)  
From: Tim Cook
Subject: Rendering animations in Vista?
Date: 6 Oct 2010 22:42:13
Message: <4cacfb45$1@news.povray.org>
Running Moray 3.5 and calling POV-Ray 3.5 under Windows Vista 
32-bit...attempting to render an animation from within Moray results in 
only 1 frame being rendered.

Rather urgently need solution to this problem (though I guess I could 
install POV and Moray and make the project on an XP-based computer to 
which I have access, but it's rather slower)

-- 
Tim Cook
http://empyrean.freesitespace.net


Post a reply to this message

From: Thomas de Groot
Subject: Re: Rendering animations in Vista?
Date: 7 Oct 2010 07:28:10
Message: <4cad768a$1@news.povray.org>
"Tim Cook" <z99### [at] gmailcom> schreef in bericht 
news:4cacfb45$1@news.povray.org...
> Running Moray 3.5 and calling POV-Ray 3.5 under Windows Vista 
> 32-bit...attempting to render an animation from within Moray results in 
> only 1 frame being rendered.
>
> Rather urgently need solution to this problem (though I guess I could 
> install POV and Moray and make the project on an XP-based computer to 
> which I have access, but it's rather slower)
>
> -- 
> Tim Cook
> http://empyrean.freesitespace.net

Just to acknowledge reading your message: I am sorry not to be able to help 
you with this: I never did animations, and I run XP, not Vista.

Maybe somebody out there knows an answer?

Thomas


Post a reply to this message

From: Tim Cook
Subject: Re: Rendering animations in Vista?
Date: 7 Oct 2010 14:08:18
Message: <4cadd452$1@news.povray.org>
On 2010-10-07 02:28, Thomas de Groot wrote:
> "Tim Cook"<z99### [at] gmailcom>  schreef in bericht
> news:4cacfb45$1@news.povray.org...
>> Running Moray 3.5 and calling POV-Ray 3.5 under Windows Vista
>> 32-bit...attempting to render an animation from within Moray results in
>> only 1 frame being rendered.
>>
>> Rather urgently need solution to this problem (though I guess I could
>> install POV and Moray and make the project on an XP-based computer to
>> which I have access, but it's rather slower)
>>
>> --
>> Tim Cook
>> http://empyrean.freesitespace.net
>
> Just to acknowledge reading your message: I am sorry not to be able to help
> you with this: I never did animations, and I run XP, not Vista.
>
> Maybe somebody out there knows an answer?

Well, I was able to run the animation on the XP machine, and it was 
surprisingly not that much slower than my current one (not being able to 
access both cores with POV 3.5 is probably the reason for that).

It took ca. 11 seconds per frame for a test animation, with the 
benchmark taking 2290 seconds (on my machine)...based on the benchmark 
time reduced to 70 s on am i7-920 per the benchmark listing site, that 
could cut the time needed to make the animation dropping from 2.75 hours 
to 5 minutes (in theory).  Of course, this is comparing apples to 
oranges, as that's a single-core score vs. a multi-core score on the 
benchmark...but I should probably learn how to operate POV features like 
animation outside of Moray anyhow, and so gain that time advantage.

Have a potential job doing CGI animations for a woodworking shop, and 
they use Rhino for modeling with their CAD/CAM device, so have a 
licensed version of Brazil to play with (and I wouldn't have to convert 
formats or anything, that way).  So that might be the way to go...

-- 
Tim Cook
http://empyrean.freesitespace.net


Post a reply to this message

From: Thomas de Groot
Subject: Re: Rendering animations in Vista?
Date: 8 Oct 2010 07:17:30
Message: <4caec58a@news.povray.org>
You might consider Bishop3D...

Thomas


Post a reply to this message

From: Tim Cook
Subject: Re: Rendering animations in Vista?
Date: 21 Oct 2010 20:49:14
Message: <4cc0a74a@news.povray.org>
On 2010-10-08 02:17, Thomas de Groot wrote:
> You might consider Bishop3D...

I downloaded it and tried it out...and found it rather unintuitive.

Clicking in a viewport does nothing.
Click-dragging in a viewport does nothing.

Those are pretty basic user-interface command operations, why aren't 
they used?  Moray's interface let me get right to playing around with it 
from the get-go when I first tried it out back in 1998, though I didn't 
learn about duplicating objects with ctrl+D until much later.

--
Tim Cook


Post a reply to this message

From: StephenS
Subject: Re: Rendering animations in Vista?
Date: 21 Oct 2010 21:20:00
Message: <web.4cc0ad704e1fdbf9c6a8e84a0@news.povray.org>
Tim Cook <z99### [at] gmailcom> wrote:
....
> Clicking in a viewport does nothing.
> Click-dragging in a viewport does nothing.
>
> Those are pretty basic user-interface command operations, why aren't
> they used?
....
They are, and there are some differences in user-interface.

Stephen S


Post a reply to this message

From: Stephen
Subject: Re: Rendering animations in Vista?
Date: 22 Oct 2010 10:34:38
Message: <4cc168be@news.povray.org>
On 21/10/2010 9:49 PM, Tim Cook wrote:
> On 2010-10-08 02:17, Thomas de Groot wrote:
>> You might consider Bishop3D...
>
> I downloaded it and tried it out...and found it rather unintuitive.
>

I found the UI a bit of a change from Moray, myself.


> Clicking in a viewport does nothing.
> Click-dragging in a viewport does nothing.
>

Double clicking a viewport's label maximises the viewport. Right 
clicking a viewport's label opens up a context menu. Clicking on an 
object selects it and Alt+Click+Drag opens up a dialogue box where you 
can select (via a drop down) the objects in the drag area.

> Those are pretty basic user-interface command operations, why aren't
> they used? Moray's interface let me get right to playing around with it
> from the get-go when I first tried it out back in 1998, though I didn't
> learn about duplicating objects with ctrl+D until much later.
>

I think that Bishop3D is a bit more useful for PovRay users who want to 
use a bit of coding especially in the Animation side of it where you can 
enter formulas into the time lines or upload a text file with values. 
(My interest, so I requested these features) Of course one of the 
biggest plus points is that Bishop3D can import a large subset of Pov 
objects and SDL from *.pov, inc and mat files.
A disadvantage is how it handles meshes. It imports the whole damn thing 
and stores it in the file and memory. Unlike Moray which references the 
mesh via a UDO. But all in all I like it as it is living and changing. I 
believe that Hugo is working on a major new version.


-- 

Best Regards,
	Stephen


Post a reply to this message

Copyright 2003-2008 Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty. Ltd.