POV-Ray : Newsgroups : povray.unofficial.patches : MegaPOV 1.0 bug ? Server Time
30 Jun 2024 19:59:09 EDT (-0400)
  MegaPOV 1.0 bug ? (Message 8 to 17 of 17)  
<<< Previous 7 Messages Goto Initial 10 Messages
From: Christoph Hormann
Subject: Re: MegaPOV 1.0 bug ?
Date: 2 Jan 2003 12:54:42
Message: <3E147CE2.B4944BFA@gmx.de>
Pierrick wrote:
> 
> Oh, well... win98-se
> 
> p3 600[mhz] 128[mb] ram.
> 
> I doesn't work with any scene.......

All right, if i understand it correctly you are talking about the WinPOV
feature to select a region in the render window and after confirming the
'render region' dialog it renders the selected part.  

This works perfectly here in MegaPOV too so i can't help much.  Anyone who
can confirm this problem?

Christoph

-- 
POV-Ray tutorials, include files, Sim-POV,
HCR-Edit and more: http://www.tu-bs.de/~y0013390/
Last updated 31 Dec. 2002 _____./\/^>_*_<^\/\.______


Post a reply to this message

From: Pierrick
Subject: Re: MegaPOV 1.0 bug ?
Date: 2 Jan 2003 13:05:54
Message: <3e147f82$1@news.povray.org>
: All right, if i understand it correctly

You do :)

--
Pierrick


Post a reply to this message

From: Pierrick
Subject: Re: MegaPOV 1.0 bug ?
Date: 2 Jan 2003 13:12:51
Message: <3e148123@news.povray.org>
The bug is smaller than I expected, it only wont work if I select a part with the
bottom line included !

--
Pierrick


Post a reply to this message

From: Pierrick
Subject: Re: MegaPOV 1.0 bug ?
Date: 2 Jan 2003 13:14:59
Message: <3e1481a3@news.povray.org>
: The bug is smaller than I expected, it only wont work if I select a part with the
bottom line included !

"part-included" should I say.. O__o

--
Pierrick
http://pierrickz.free.fr/


Post a reply to this message

From: ABX
Subject: Re: MegaPOV 1.0 bug ?
Date: 3 Jan 2003 05:03:59
Message: <sqna1vglp5q945ii9hi46oi3qu7b6iq83i@4ax.com>
On Thu, 2 Jan 2003 19:13:44 +0100, "Pierrick" <nos### [at] hotmailcom>
wrote:
> The bug is smaller than I expected, it only wont work if I select a part with the
bottom line included !

So... it can be connected with End_Row addition by Micha Riser. Would you like
to test your selection rendering with options in command box instead of
selecting in rendering window ?

ABX


Post a reply to this message

From: William Pokorny
Subject: Re: MegaPOV 1.0 bug ?
Date: 3 Jan 2003 09:30:07
Message: <web.3e159d22f0e8480d5020b6e80@news.povray.org>
ABX,
I think I am the culprit here, not Micha. I am on the road at the moment...

But, thinking about this off the top of my head, my guess would be the
windows GUI is using precentages to specify the window to be rendered.
Specifically it might be specifying 100% (1.0) or more for the end row if
the window includes the last row. If so, I think the quick fix would be to
drop the end row 'argument' from the windows gui any time it is >= 1.0 as
POV-Ray defaults to 100% if +ER or +EC is not specified. I admit without
source code in front of me, I am doing some guess work here...

I'll try and download the windows source off the POV-Ray download page later
today and take a look...
Regards, Bill P.

>On Thu, 2 Jan 2003 19:13:44 +0100, "Pierrick" <nos### [at] hotmailcom>
>wrote:
>> The bug is smaller than I expected, it only wont work if I select a part with the
>bottom line included !
>
>So... it can be connected with End_Row addition by Micha Riser. Would you like
>to test your selection rendering with options in command box instead of
>selecting in rendering window ?
>
>ABX
>


Post a reply to this message

From: ABX
Subject: Re: MegaPOV 1.0 bug ?
Date: 3 Jan 2003 09:37:12
Message: <0u7b1v4mlm3ubkbsfojcj3tdv7uk7608k1@4ax.com>
On Fri,  3 Jan 2003 09:24:34 EST, "William Pokorny" <pokorny_attglobal_net>
wrote:
> ABX,
> I think I am the culprit here, not Micha. I am on the road at the moment...

Yes, sorry, my memory failed becouse of other tasks ...

> I'll try and download the windows source off the POV-Ray download page later
> today and take a look...

Good luck :-)

ABX


Post a reply to this message

From: William Pokorny
Subject: Re: MegaPOV 1.0 bug ?
Date: 5 Jan 2003 13:25:04
Message: <web.3e1876f9f0e8480d5020b6e80@news.povray.org>
OK, I got some time today to look at this and here are my thoughts
and proposed changes. I am set up with a compiler only in the unix
environment. Further I won't be home for another 6 days so my
apologies for any typos.

The work around for the current Mega-POV 1.0 windows release
is to shift drag the window, copy to the command line and then
remove the string "+er1.000000" from the end of the text appended
to the command line BEFORE you start the render. Or of course
you can avoid including the last line in your partial renders....

First, on looking over this code again, I think we should add the
same +ER fix to the +EC flag. In povmsrec.cpp we should change:

   if(POVMSUtil_GetFloat(msg, kPOVAttrib_EndColumn, &f) == 0)
   {
      if(f > 0.0 && f <= 1.0)
      {
         opts.Last_Column = -1;
         opts.Last_Column_Percent = f;
      }
      else
         opts.Last_Column = (int)f;
   }

to:

   if(POVMSUtil_GetFloat(msg, kPOVAttrib_EndColumn, &f) == 0)
   {
      if(f > 0.0 && f
                             #ifdef END_ROW_1_PATCH
                             <
                             #else
                             <=
                             #endif
                             1.0)
      {
         opts.Last_Column = -1;
         opts.Last_Column_Percent = f;
      }
      else
         opts.Last_Column = (int)f;
   }

To fix the windows partial render trouble when the last row
or column is included, in pvengine.c we should change:

sprintf (RegionStr," +sc%f +sr%f +ec%f +er%f",
          (float) x1 / (render_width - 1),
          (float) y1 / (render_height - 1),
          (float) x2 / (render_width - 1),
          (float) y2 / (render_height - 1)) ;

to:

sprintf (RegionStr," +sc%f +sr%f  %s %s",
          (float) x1 / (render_width - 1),
          (float) y1 / (render_height - 1),
          (((float) x2 / (render_width - 1)) < 1.0) ?
sprintf("+ec%f",((float) x2 / (render_width - 1))) : "",
          (((float) y2 / (render_height - 1)) < 1.0) ? sprintf("+er%f",
((float) y2 / (render_height - 1))) : "") ;

And the same change should be made to the sprintf just below which
begins with:

sprintf (TempRegionStr,
                            " +sc%f +sr%f +ec%f +er%f",

I think this all will get us to the place where the end row fix, fixes
what it is supposed to fix without breaking the ability to do partial
renders from the windows GUI.
Regards, Bill P.

>On Fri,  3 Jan 2003 09:24:34 EST, "William Pokorny" <pokorny_attglobal_net>
>wrote:
>> ABX,
>> I think I am the culprit here, not Micha. I am on the road at the moment...
>
>Yes, sorry, my memory failed becouse of other tasks ...
>
>> I'll try and download the windows source off the POV-Ray download page later
>> today and take a look...
>
>Good luck :-)
>
>ABX
>


Post a reply to this message

From: ABX
Subject: Re: MegaPOV 1.0 bug ?
Date: 7 Jan 2003 08:47:31
Message: <85ml1vglc7tqdunruqjki2414vjnthjaqu@4ax.com>
On Sun,  5 Jan 2003 13:20:45 EST, "William Pokorny" <pokorny_attglobal_net>
wrote:
> First, on looking over this code again, I think we should add the
> same +ER fix to the +EC flag. In povmsrec.cpp we should change:

Yes, this seems necessary to fix it either, but then I wonder about what did
you mean in the last sentence of
http://news.povray.org/3D75154C.9DCE81AF%40attglobal.net ?

> To fix the windows partial render trouble when the last row
> or column is included, in pvengine.c we should change:

After minor fixes in your code it works and will be fixed.

ABX


Post a reply to this message

From: William Pokorny
Subject: Re: MegaPOV 1.0 bug ?
Date: 7 Jan 2003 09:40:03
Message: <web.3e1ae5c0f0e8480d5020b6e80@news.povray.org>
>> First, on looking over this code again, I think we should add the
>> same +ER fix to the +EC flag. In povmsrec.cpp we should change:
>
>Yes, this seems necessary to fix it either, but then I wonder about what did
>you mean in the last sentence of
>http://news.povray.org/3D75154C.9DCE81AF%40attglobal.net ?

I had convinced myself at the time I wrote it that +EC1 was working. Perhaps
a typo when I tried "+SC1 +EC1" or - who knows. I was certainly confused at
the time because "+SC1 +EC1" does not render just the first column of the
image in any POV release I have with me.

>
>After minor fixes in your code it works and will be fixed.
>
Thanks ABX.


Post a reply to this message

<<< Previous 7 Messages Goto Initial 10 Messages

Copyright 2003-2023 Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty. Ltd.