POV-Ray : Newsgroups : povray.general : Exporting from povray to Blender Server Time: 30 Jul 2014 13:06:35 GMT
  Exporting from povray to Blender (Message 1 to 6 of 6)  
From: aa
Subject: Exporting from povray to Blender
Date: 3 Apr 2008 11:31:41
Message: <47f4ce2d@news.povray.org>
Hello gentlemens,
does someone know if there is a way to export POVray content to the 3D 
modeler Blender.
I have described a scene under POV and I want to rotate it in 3D but real 
time, in order to have a dynamic view of this.
Another way to obtain it will be a script that would change the orientation 
of the scene in different axes and calculate one image per every move but 
obviously it requires a gargantuous amount of computing time!

Please help me or buy me the best actual supercomputer ;-)
thanks in advance

Fab "Bobbyone" CAN habit


Post a reply to this message

From: Thomas de Groot
Subject: Re: Exporting from povray to Blender
Date: 3 Apr 2008 14:10:18
Message: <47f4f35a@news.povray.org>
"aa" <aa [at] emailro> schreef in bericht news:47f4ce2d@news.povray.org...
> Hello gentlemens,
> does someone know if there is a way to export POVray content to the 3D 
> modeler Blender.
> I have described a scene under POV and I want to rotate it in 3D but real 
> time, in order to have a dynamic view of this.

I don't think you can. Except maybe if your scene is made entirely of 
meshes, but from your post I guess you have a classic sdl scene description.

> Another way to obtain it will be a script that would change the 
> orientation of the scene in different axes and calculate one image per 
> every move but obviously it requires a gargantuous amount of computing 
> time!

Not necessarily, except maybe if your scene is so complex that each frame 
takes two weeks to render. Just make an animation in which you move the 
camera around. Read the docs  about this.

Thomas


Post a reply to this message

From: Warp
Subject: Re: Exporting from povray to Blender
Date: 3 Apr 2008 15:01:36
Message: <47f4ff5f@news.povray.org>
In povray.general aa <aa [at] emailro> wrote:
> does someone know if there is a way to export POVray content to the 3D 
> modeler Blender.

  No.

-- 
                                                          - Warp


Post a reply to this message

From: Nicolas Alvarez
Subject: Re: Exporting from povray to Blender
Date: 3 Apr 2008 18:03:31
Message: <47f52a03$1@news.povray.org>
aa escribió:
> Hello gentlemens,
> does someone know if there is a way to export POVray content to the 3D 
> modeler Blender.

http://tag.povray.org/povQandT/filesQandT.html#povtootherformatsdifficulty


Post a reply to this message

From: scott
Subject: Re: Exporting from povray to Blender
Date: 4 Apr 2008 10:52:57
Message: <47f61699@news.povray.org>
>> Hello gentlemens,
>> does someone know if there is a way to export POVray content to the 3D 
>> modeler Blender.
>
> http://tag.povray.org/povQandT/filesQandT.html#povtootherformatsdifficulty

None of the links in that section work.


Post a reply to this message

From: Alain
Subject: Re: Exporting from povray to Blender
Date: 4 Apr 2008 18:15:50
Message: <47f67e66$1@news.povray.org>
aa nous apporta ses lumieres en ce 2008/04/03 08:31:
> Hello gentlemens,
> does someone know if there is a way to export POVray content to the 3D 
> modeler Blender.
> I have described a scene under POV and I want to rotate it in 3D but real 
> time, in order to have a dynamic view of this.
> Another way to obtain it will be a script that would change the orientation 
> of the scene in different axes and calculate one image per every move but 
> obviously it requires a gargantuous amount of computing time!
> 
> Please help me or buy me the best actual supercomputer ;-)
> thanks in advance
> 
> Fab "Bobbyone" CAN habit 
> 
> 
Is your scene composed mainly of meshes? Did you use some outside utility to 
create those meshes? Yes: re-export in a format that Blender can use.
Can you convert the rest into meshes?

Do you use isosurfaces? Parametric objects? Complexe CSGs? Blobs? Then, NO! And, 
no, I definitely can't afford to get you any kind of "super computer".

You may be beter recreating your scene specificaly for Blender.

-- 
Alain
-------------------------------------------------
You know you have been raytracing for too long when the animation you render 
will be finished after yourself.
Urs Holzer


Post a reply to this message

Copyright 2003-2008 Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty. Ltd.