POV-Ray : Newsgroups : povray.bugreports : 3.7 doesn't run on vista 32-bit, no source code available to build Server Time: 18 Jan 2019 01:22:42 GMT
  3.7 doesn't run on vista 32-bit, no source code available to build (Message 1 to 10 of 20)  
Goto Latest 10 Messages Next 10 Messages >>>
From: jmichae3
Subject: 3.7 doesn't run on vista 32-bit, no source code available to build
Date: 8 Sep 2016 09:10:00
Message: <web.57d12a86b43fb155944c3db40@news.povray.org>
3.7 doesn't run on vista 32-bit, no source code available to build.

the program is GPL'd, which means it is open source and if a binary is given,
the source code must be made available. but I cannot find the sources.

my platform is vista 32 on an amd athlon x2 "64" which really seems to act like
a 32-bit processor with PAE (address extensions), given they way it can allocate
64GB+/disk of virtual memory just like that, whereas XP32 was limited to
4GB/disk.
fixed virtual memory does not alleviate the need for more RAM, but it helps.
auto-allocated virtual memory always fails to work.


Post a reply to this message

From: Le Forgeron
Subject: Re: 3.7 doesn't run on vista 32-bit, no source code available to build
Date: 8 Sep 2016 09:43:35
Message: <57d132c7@news.povray.org>
Le 08/09/2016 à 11:08, jmichae3 a écrit :
> 3.7 doesn't run on vista 32-bit, no source code available to build.
>
> the program is GPL'd, which means it is open source and if a binary is given,
> the source code must be made available. but I cannot find the sources.

The program is GPL, but the Editor for Windows is a totally different 
license.

The GPL sources are on github.

>
> my platform is vista 32 on an amd athlon x2 "64" which really seems to act like
> a 32-bit processor with PAE (address extensions), given they way it can allocate
> 64GB+/disk of virtual memory just like that, whereas XP32 was limited to
> 4GB/disk.
> fixed virtual memory does not alleviate the need for more RAM, but it helps.
> auto-allocated virtual memory always fails to work.
>

This problem should have been reported in povray.windows, IMHO.


Post a reply to this message

From: clipka
Subject: Re: 3.7 doesn't run on vista 32-bit, no source code available to build
Date: 8 Sep 2016 15:12:35
Message: <57d17fe3$1@news.povray.org>
Am 08.09.2016 um 11:08 schrieb jmichae3:
> 3.7 doesn't run on vista 32-bit,

- Which version are you trying?

- Can you be more specific about the symptoms?

The official POV-Ray 3.7.0 _should_ install and run perfectly fine on
any 32- or 64-bit version of Windows XP or later.

The recent development builds are known to be more limited, but should
also run fine on Vista or later, both 32 and 64 bit. (NB, we do not
intend to drop XP support yet; we're just not providing development
builds for XP on a regular basis, as it requires more effort). Also note
that the development builds require an existing installation of official
3.7.0 to be of any use.


> no source code available to build.

> the program is GPL'd, which means it is open source and if a binary is given,
> the source code must be made available. but I cannot find the sources.

Then you should complain to the distributor you received the binaries
from, or let Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty Ltd. know what
distributor failed to comply with the AGPL so that they can pursue legal
actions against them.

If you got the binaries via official channels provided by Persistence of
Vision Raytracer Pty Ltd. themselves, then you should have been well
able to find links to the corresponding source code. For instance, the
download page on the official website, http://www.povray.org/download,
has a section with the obvious title "POV-Ray Source Code", including a
link to the source at GitHub.


There is one caveat, which pertains to the editor component in POV-Ray
for Windows: That component is /not/ part of POV-Ray 3.7.0 as licensed
under the AGPL; it is instead an optional extension, available only
under an old proprietary license, that the AGPL-licensed POV-Ray for
Windows can make good use of if it happens to be present, and which it
will even offer to download in binary form from the official POV-Ray
server, but both technically and legally it can do fine without
(although you won't be able to edit files in POV-Ray itself, and will
have to use the render queue to start a render).


> my platform is vista 32 on an amd athlon x2 "64" which really seems to act like
> a 32-bit processor with PAE (address extensions), given they way it can allocate
> 64GB+/disk of virtual memory just like that, whereas XP32 was limited to
> 4GB/disk.

To POV-Ray, this should look just like any other 32-bit machine, althouh
I could imagine that the installer misidentifies it as a 64-bit machine.
But that should only cause the links to point to the wrong binary.


Post a reply to this message

From: jmichae3
Subject: Re: 3.7 doesn't run on vista 32-bit, no source code available to build
Date: 9 Sep 2016 03:00:00
Message: <web.57d22481f87a5c8c944c3db40@news.povray.org>
Le_Forgeron <lef### [at] freefr> wrote:
> Le 08/09/2016 à 11:08, jmichae3 a écrit :
> > 3.7 doesn't run on vista 32-bit, no source code available to build.
> >
> > the program is GPL'd, which means it is open source and if a binary is given,
> > the source code must be made available. but I cannot find the sources.
>
> The program is GPL, but the Editor for Windows is a totally different
> license.
>
> The GPL sources are on github.
>
> >
> > my platform is vista 32 on an amd athlon x2 "64" which really seems to act like
> > a 32-bit processor with PAE (address extensions), given they way it can allocate
> > 64GB+/disk of virtual memory just like that, whereas XP32 was limited to
> > 4GB/disk.
> > fixed virtual memory does not alleviate the need for more RAM, but it helps.
> > auto-allocated virtual memory always fails to work.
> >
>
> This problem should have been reported in povray.windows, IMHO.

thanks.
[Problem with Shortcut]"The item the pvengine-sse2.ee that this shortcut refers
to has been changed or moved, so this shortcut will no longer work properly. Do
you wwant to make this shortcut?" [yes][no]


Post a reply to this message

From: jmichae3
Subject: Re: 3.7 doesn't run on vista 32-bit, no source code available to build
Date: 9 Sep 2016 03:00:01
Message: <web.57d224d5f87a5c8c944c3db40@news.povray.org>
clipka <ano### [at] anonymousorg> wrote:
> Am 08.09.2016 um 11:08 schrieb jmichae3:
> > 3.7 doesn't run on vista 32-bit,
>
> - Which version are you trying?
>
> - Can you be more specific about the symptoms?
>
> The official POV-Ray 3.7.0 _should_ install and run perfectly fine on
> any 32- or 64-bit version of Windows XP or later.
>
> The recent development builds are known to be more limited, but should
> also run fine on Vista or later, both 32 and 64 bit. (NB, we do not
> intend to drop XP support yet; we're just not providing development
> builds for XP on a regular basis, as it requires more effort). Also note
> that the development builds require an existing installation of official
> 3.7.0 to be of any use.
>
>
> > no source code available to build.
>
> > the program is GPL'd, which means it is open source and if a binary is given,
> > the source code must be made available. but I cannot find the sources.
>
> Then you should complain to the distributor you received the binaries
> from, or let Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty Ltd. know what
> distributor failed to comply with the AGPL so that they can pursue legal
> actions against them.
>
> If you got the binaries via official channels provided by Persistence of
> Vision Raytracer Pty Ltd. themselves, then you should have been well
> able to find links to the corresponding source code. For instance, the
> download page on the official website, http://www.povray.org/download,
> has a section with the obvious title "POV-Ray Source Code", including a
> link to the source at GitHub.
>
>
> There is one caveat, which pertains to the editor component in POV-Ray
> for Windows: That component is /not/ part of POV-Ray 3.7.0 as licensed
> under the AGPL; it is instead an optional extension, available only
> under an old proprietary license, that the AGPL-licensed POV-Ray for
> Windows can make good use of if it happens to be present, and which it
> will even offer to download in binary form from the official POV-Ray
> server, but both technically and legally it can do fine without
> (although you won't be able to edit files in POV-Ray itself, and will
> have to use the render queue to start a render).
>
>
> > my platform is vista 32 on an amd athlon x2 "64" which really seems to act like
> > a 32-bit processor with PAE (address extensions), given they way it can allocate
> > 64GB+/disk of virtual memory just like that, whereas XP32 was limited to
> > 4GB/disk.
>
> To POV-Ray, this should look just like any other 32-bit machine, althouh
> I could imagine that the installer misidentifies it as a 64-bit machine.
> But that should only cause the links to point to the wrong binary.



btw, SSE2 is not in the AMD instruction set aparently, they have their own thing
for that, something like 3dnow.


Post a reply to this message

From: jmichae3
Subject: Re: 3.7 doesn't run on vista 32-bit, no source code available to build
Date: 9 Sep 2016 03:25:00
Message: <web.57d22a99f87a5c8c944c3db40@news.povray.org>
as it turns out, shortcut points to wrong exe. shounld not be the sse version,
just 32.


Post a reply to this message

From: clipka
Subject: Re: 3.7 doesn't run on vista 32-bit, no source code available to build
Date: 9 Sep 2016 06:25:57
Message: <57d255f5$1@news.povray.org>
Am 09.09.2016 um 04:56 schrieb jmichae3:
> btw, SSE2 is not in the AMD instruction set aparently, they have their own thing
> for that, something like 3dnow.

All of AMDs 64-bit processors support SSE2.

3DNow! was an AMD proprietary extension to Intel's MMX instruction set
introduced in 1998. Intel replied with the introduction of SSE a year later.

Due to low popularity of 3DNow!, AMD later turned to adopted the SSE
family of instruction set extensions. AMD even went so far as to
designate SSE and SSE2 as core instructions in their AMD64 instruction
set, and in 2010 abandoned 3DNow! entirely.

Your Athlon X2 CPU absolutely, positively supports SSE2.


Post a reply to this message

From: clipka
Subject: Re: 3.7 doesn't run on vista 32-bit, no source code available to build
Date: 9 Sep 2016 06:42:22
Message: <57d259ce$1@news.povray.org>
Am 09.09.2016 um 05:20 schrieb jmichae3:
> as it turns out, shortcut points to wrong exe. shounld not be the sse version,
> just 32.

No, the SSE2 version should run fine on your machine; but the installer
incorrectly links to `pvengine-sse2.exe`, when in fact the executable is
named `pvengine32-sse2.exe`.

It's a known issue, with a known workaround, but a fixed installer
hasn't been released so far.


Post a reply to this message

From: jmichae3
Subject: Re: 3.7 doesn't run on vista 32-bit, no source code available to build
Date: 9 Sep 2016 13:40:00
Message: <web.57d2bb4bf87a5c8c944c3db40@news.povray.org>
clipka <ano### [at] anonymousorg> wrote:
> Am 09.09.2016 um 05:20 schrieb jmichae3:
> > as it turns out, shortcut points to wrong exe. shounld not be the sse version,
> > just 32.
>
> No, the SSE2 version should run fine on your machine; but the installer
> incorrectly links to `pvengine-sse2.exe`, when in fact the executable is
> named `pvengine32-sse2.exe`.
>
> It's a known issue, with a known workaround, but a fixed installer
> hasn't been released so far.

I could not find that section of code in github. could not find the installer
source.

why not make that change right now?

btw, submitted a minidump, it was bacause of clicking close [X] on upper right
corner of povray 3.7, causes a crash.
got 3.7 to run by double-clicking pvengine32. pvengine32-sse2 causes a minidump
on AMD athlon x2 64.


Post a reply to this message

From: jmichae3
Subject: Re: 3.7 doesn't run on vista 32-bit, no source code available to build
Date: 9 Sep 2016 15:05:01
Message: <web.57d2cf78f87a5c8c944c3db40@news.povray.org>
c:\povray-master\libraries\png\projects\vstudio\readme.txt
c:\povray-master\libraries\tiff\libtiff\tif_error.c
these 2 files would not extract from the povray-master.zip
and because the file structures are so deep, some may be past the 255-character
NTFS filepath length maximum.
I noticed it's safer to extract to root.


Post a reply to this message

Goto Latest 10 Messages Next 10 Messages >>>

Copyright 2003-2008 Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty. Ltd.