POV-Ray : Newsgroups : povray.beta-test : 3.7 beta fails with out of memory - ok under 3.6 Server Time
26 Feb 2024 17:03:09 EST (-0500)
  3.7 beta fails with out of memory - ok under 3.6 (Message 1 to 8 of 8)  
From: Adrian
Subject: 3.7 beta fails with out of memory - ok under 3.6
Date: 26 Oct 2006 09:45:00
Message: <web.4540bb887869682474e8604f0@news.povray.org>
Try rendering http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Glasses_800_edit.png
at 1920x1200  with the 3.7 beta.
Fails with out of memory error at the start.
Fine under 3.6 though - I could really use the SMP/SSE2 on this one !.


Adrian.


Post a reply to this message

From: Chris Cason
Subject: Re: 3.7 beta fails with out of memory - ok under 3.6
Date: 26 Oct 2006 15:34:08
Message: <45410db0@news.povray.org>
Adrian wrote:
> Try rendering http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Glasses_800_edit.png
> at 1920x1200  with the 3.7 beta.
> Fails with out of memory error at the start.
> Fine under 3.6 though - I could really use the SMP/SSE2 on this one !.

Does it work at lower resolutions?

Try running with -d to turn off the preview display, see if that helps.

-- Chris


Post a reply to this message

From: Adrian
Subject: Re: 3.7 beta fails with out of memory - ok under 3.6
Date: 27 Oct 2006 05:35:01
Message: <web.4541d26d8f1b3f6c74e8604f0@news.povray.org>
Chris Cason <del### [at] deletethistoopovrayorg> wrote:
> Adrian wrote:
> > Try rendering http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Glasses_800_edit.png
> > at 1920x1200  with the 3.7 beta.
> > Fails with out of memory error at the start.
> > Fine under 3.6 though - I could really use the SMP/SSE2 on this one !.
>
> Does it work at lower resolutions?
>
> Try running with -d to turn off the preview display, see if that helps.
>
> -- Chris

Chris,

   First thing I should have said is that this is under windows XP

   Initiated 3.7 SSE2 beta  and set lowest resolution  (160x120 no AA)

   I instantly get Fatal error in renderer:   Out of memory

Adrian.


Post a reply to this message

From: jva
Subject: Re: 3.7 beta fails with out of memory - ok under 3.6
Date: 27 Oct 2006 08:05:00
Message: <web.4541f51c8f1b3f6c267ff8960@news.povray.org>
I tried rendering the scene at 512x384 and got the same out of memory error.
It disappeared whenever I switched of focal blur (BlurOK=0) and proceeded to
render fully. The other options didn't seem to make a difference for as far
as I could see.

Jeroen.

Chris Cason <del### [at] deletethistoopovrayorg> wrote:
> Adrian wrote:
> > Try rendering http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Glasses_800_edit.png
> > at 1920x1200  with the 3.7 beta.
> > Fails with out of memory error at the start.
> > Fine under 3.6 though - I could really use the SMP/SSE2 on this one !.
>
> Does it work at lower resolutions?
>
> Try running with -d to turn off the preview display, see if that helps.
>
> -- Chris


Post a reply to this message

From: Adrian
Subject: Re: 3.7 beta fails with out of memory - ok under 3.6
Date: 27 Oct 2006 09:50:00
Message: <web.45420e778f1b3f6c8be19fb80@news.povray.org>
"jva" <nomail@nomail> wrote:
> I tried rendering the scene at 512x384 and got the same out of memory error.
> It disappeared whenever I switched of focal blur (BlurOK=0) and proceeded to
> render fully. The other options didn't seem to make a difference for as far
> as I could see.
>
> Jeroen.
>
> Chris Cason <del### [at] deletethistoopovrayorg> wrote:
> > Adrian wrote:
> > > Try rendering http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Glasses_800_edit.png
> > > at 1920x1200  with the 3.7 beta.
> > > Fails with out of memory error at the start.
> > > Fine under 3.6 though - I could really use the SMP/SSE2 on this one !.
> >
> > Does it work at lower resolutions?
> >
> > Try running with -d to turn off the preview display, see if that helps.
> >
> > -- Chris


   So I guess that you agree this is a bug then ?.

Adrian.


Post a reply to this message

From: jva
Subject: Re: 3.7 beta fails with out of memory - ok under 3.6
Date: 27 Oct 2006 14:10:01
Message: <web.45424a798f1b3f6c1bd6cd0c0@news.povray.org>
"Adrian" <awp### [at] craycom> wrote:
>    So I guess that you agree this is a bug then ?.
>
> Adrian.

I'm not sure: I don't know whether and to what extent focal blur impacts
memory usage - the scene uses a fair bit even without blur. Still, it seems
definitely related to switching the feature on: when I comment out the
'aperture' or the 'blur_samples' line in the camera definition (thereby
switching off focal blur), the scene renders fine again.

However, it now seems there might be a problem: the minimal scene below cut
from the original glass scene uses hardly any memory at all and gives the
same problem whenever focal blur is on. It runs fine in povray 3.6 though.

Hope this helps, Jeroen.

//minimal scene
global_settings {
  max_trace_level 30
  radiosity {
    count 200 error_bound 0.1 recursion_limit 2 nearest_count 8 brightness 1
    normal on
  }
}

camera{
    location <-60,94,-100> angle 28 look_at <-30,90,-40>
    focal_point <-31.5,82,-43>
    aperture 2
    confidence 0.99
    variance 0
    blur_samples 100
}

sphere{
  0,1
  texture{
    pigment{
      gradient y scale 2 translate -y
      color_map{ [0.5 rgb <1,1,1>] [1 rgb <150,200,255>/255] }
    }
    finish{ambient 12 diffuse 0}
  }
  scale 10000
  no_shadow
}


Post a reply to this message

From: Chris Cason
Subject: Re: 3.7 beta fails with out of memory - ok under 3.6
Date: 28 Oct 2006 06:08:32
Message: <45432c20@news.povray.org>
jva wrote:
> However, it now seems there might be a problem: the minimal scene below cut
> from the original glass scene uses hardly any memory at all and gives the
> same problem whenever focal blur is on. It runs fine in povray 3.6 though.
> 
> Hope this helps, Jeroen.

Yes, it did thanks. until the next beta you can work around it by keeping
samples to 64 or less. the actual problem was the list of containing
interiors was not being cleared between each ray sampled in the grid, and
this eventually caused an overflow. I'm glad it did, too, because the
accumulated interiors can also slow down the render unnecessarily, which is a
bug that had not been reported.

-- Chris


Post a reply to this message

From: Adrian
Subject: Re: 3.7 beta fails with out of memory - ok under 3.6
Date: 30 Oct 2006 10:35:01
Message: <web.45461b4a8f1b3f6c1e4bb4ba0@news.povray.org>
Chris Cason <del### [at] deletethistoopovrayorg> wrote:
> jva wrote:
> > However, it now seems there might be a problem: the minimal scene below cut
> > from the original glass scene uses hardly any memory at all and gives the
> > same problem whenever focal blur is on. It runs fine in povray 3.6 though.
> >
> > Hope this helps, Jeroen.
>
> Yes, it did thanks. until the next beta you can work around it by keeping
> samples to 64 or less. the actual problem was the list of containing
> interiors was not being cleared between each ray sampled in the grid, and
> this eventually caused an overflow. I'm glad it did, too, because the
> accumulated interiors can also slow down the render unnecessarily, which is a
> bug that had not been reported.
>
> -- Chris

All,

     I tried setting BlurOk=0 and rendering the image, but there's something
wrong.... its strangely dark and renders quickly.
Any other suggestions for getting this image to render under the 3.7 SMP SSE
beta ?.

Adrian.


Post a reply to this message

Copyright 2003-2023 Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty. Ltd.