POV-Ray : Newsgroups : moray.win : Cannot start POV-Ray. Please start POV-Ray manually and try again. Server Time: 17 Jun 2019 06:42:22 GMT
  Cannot start POV-Ray. Please start POV-Ray manually and try again. (Message 1 to 6 of 6)  
From: Bruno Cabasson
Subject: Cannot start POV-Ray. Please start POV-Ray manually and try again.
Date: 16 Nov 2005 14:45:00
Message: <web.437b453e952fc842f5fba6ef0@news.povray.org>
Hello.

I just installed Moray 3.5. POV-Ray 3.6.1 was already installed and now the
option GUI-Extensions->Moray Communication DLL->Enabled is checked 'on'.
Here are my settings (I changed nothing to default installs):

a) In Moray's rendering otpions, all paths to POV-Ray are OK:

d:\Program Files\Moray For Windows\POVSCN\
d:\Program Files\POV-Ray for Windows v3.6\bin\PVEngine.exe
d:\Program Files\Moray For Windows\MorayPOV.INC

b) I have MorayCtrl.dll in d:\Program Files\Moray For Windows\ as expected.
the vesion is 1.30.0.0.

c) In PVENGINE.ini, I have
[GUIExtensions]
UseExtensions=1
ExtDll15=d:Program FilesMoray For WindowsMorayCtrl.DLL


When POV is not lauched, F9 on Moray launches POV and the render is OK. But,
if I try F9 again, everything blocks, POV and Moray. I get an error box
with

"Cannot start POV-Ray. Please start POV-Ray manually and try again."

If I launch POV before rendering, I have the same.

I tried many things, including re-booting my machine, but nuts ....

I think I made something wrong, because I cannot imagine it does not work.
If you encountered the same problem, please give me the trick! Though it is
less convenient, I can export the model to POV, but I would like to render
the material library. And I also would like to be like all the others....

Regards.


Post a reply to this message

From: Tim Cook
Subject: Re: Cannot start POV-Ray. Please start POV-Ray manually and try again.
Date: 16 Nov 2005 15:03:44
Message: <437b4a50$1@news.povray.org>
Bruno Cabasson wrote:
> I just installed Moray 3.5. POV-Ray 3.6.1 was already installed and now the
> option GUI-Extensions->Moray Communication DLL->Enabled is checked 'on'.

Moray 3.5 doesn't play nicely with POV 3.6.x

-- 
Tim Cook
http://home.bellsouth.net/p/PWP-empyrean

-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version: 3.12
GFA dpu- s: a?-- C++(++++) U P? L E--- W++(+++)>$
N++ o? K- w(+) O? M-(--) V? PS+(+++) PE(--) Y(--)
PGP-(--) t* 5++>+++++ X+ R* tv+ b++(+++) DI
D++(---) G(++) e*>++ h+ !r--- !y--
------END GEEK CODE BLOCK------


Post a reply to this message

From: Marc Jacquier
Subject: Re: Cannot start POV-Ray. Please start POV-Ray manually and try again.
Date: 17 Nov 2005 08:17:41
Message: <437c3ca5$1@news.povray.org>
"Bruno Cabasson" <bru### [at] alcatelalaniaspacefr> a écrit dans le
message de news:web.437b453e952fc842f5fba6ef0@news.povray.org...
>
> I think I made something wrong, because I cannot imagine it does not work.
> If you encountered the same problem, please give me the trick! Though it
is
> less convenient, I can export the model to POV, but I would like to render
> the material library. And I also would like to be like all the others....
>
> Regards.
>
You did nothing wrong but as replied Tim, there is a GUI issue between Moray
and POV 3.6
You can have POV 3.5 installed in a separate folder and use it as a test
version as it works flawless.
ftp://ftp.povray.org/pub/povray/Old-Versions/Official-3.5/

Marc


Post a reply to this message

From: Mike G
Subject: Re: Cannot start POV-Ray. Please start POV-Ray manually and try again.
Date: 4 Oct 2010 08:35:01
Message: <web.4ca9900cd96a259b561919e10@news.povray.org>
"Bruno Cabasson" <bru### [at] alcatelalaniaspacefr> wrote:
> ExtDll15=d:Program FilesMoray For WindowsMorayCtrl.DLL
This line is missing the forward \ \ if thats how you actually put it , that
would be why it didnt work .

I had the same problem moray cannot start povray ,
I added the line
ExtDll15=C:\Program Files\Moray For Windows\MorayCtrl.DLL to PVENGINE.ini and
povray 3.62 works perfectly.

I know this is an old post but for clarity it does indeed work .
Mike G


Post a reply to this message

From: Hearty
Subject: Re: Cannot start POV-Ray. Please start POV-Ray manually and try again.
Date: 5 Jun 2011 18:45:00
Message: <web.4debce98d96a259b22556d3f0@news.povray.org>
"Mike G" <zen### [at] msncom> wrote:
> "Bruno Cabasson" <bru### [at] alcatelalaniaspacefr> wrote:
> > ExtDll15=d:Program FilesMoray For WindowsMorayCtrl.DLL
> This line is missing the forward \ \ if thats how you actually put it , that
> would be why it didnt work .
>
> I had the same problem moray cannot start povray ,
> I added the line
> ExtDll15=C:\Program Files\Moray For Windows\MorayCtrl.DLL to PVENGINE.ini and
> povray 3.62 works perfectly.
>
> I know this is an old post but for clarity it does indeed work .
> Mike G

Hi,

Aaahhhh!!

I gonna be crazy!

I have PovRay 3.5 / 3.6 /3.7 beta and Moray.

I used Moray and PovRay,
in the begining impossible to make Moray
and PovRay 3.6 and 3.7 working,

So I configured Moray to work with PovRay 3.5,
it work perfectly
few days,

and suddenly, after a reboot,
I don't know why
I have the same problem as described above.

Sometime the first render work, but the second wont (?!)
and sometime, nothing want to work...

Since, impossible to make something
between Moray and PovRay.

I tried the solution gave by Mike,
but it's the same,
nothing work.

I mean between Moray and PovRay 3.5 ( or 3.6 and 3.7)

Someone have the explanation and the solution?

Have a nice day,


Post a reply to this message

From: Hearty
Subject: Re: Cannot start POV-Ray. Please start POV-Ray manually and try again.
Date: 6 Jun 2011 19:40:01
Message: <web.4ded2cccd96a259b22556d3f0@news.povray.org>
"Hearty" <nomail@nomail> wrote:
> "Mike G" <zen### [at] msncom> wrote:
> > "Bruno Cabasson" <bru### [at] alcatelalaniaspacefr> wrote:
> > > ExtDll15=d:Program FilesMoray For WindowsMorayCtrl.DLL
> > This line is missing the forward \ \ if thats how you actually put it , that
> > would be why it didnt work .
> >
> > I had the same problem moray cannot start povray ,
> > I added the line
> > ExtDll15=C:\Program Files\Moray For Windows\MorayCtrl.DLL to PVENGINE.ini and
> > povray 3.62 works perfectly.
> >
> > I know this is an old post but for clarity it does indeed work .
> > Mike G
>
> Hi,
>
> Aaahhhh!!
>
> I gonna be crazy!
>
> I have PovRay 3.5 / 3.6 /3.7 beta and Moray.
>
> I used Moray and PovRay,
> in the begining impossible to make Moray
> and PovRay 3.6 and 3.7 working,
>
> So I configured Moray to work with PovRay 3.5,
> it work perfectly
> few days,
>
> and suddenly, after a reboot,
> I don't know why
> I have the same problem as described above.
>
> Sometime the first render work, but the second wont (?!)
> and sometime, nothing want to work...
>
> Since, impossible to make something
> between Moray and PovRay.
>
> I tried the solution gave by Mike,
> but it's the same,
> nothing work.
>
> I mean between Moray and PovRay 3.5 ( or 3.6 and 3.7)
>
> Someone have the explanation and the solution?
>
> Have a nice day,



To continu with my adventure,

I desinsalled POVray 3.5
because finally it didnt want to do anything even render alone...(?)

Reinstalled it,

lunched Moray,
Moray, setup it (like in the first time)
and now it works as well,
and surprise,
for the first time now
it render inside moray !

I didnt know that is possible.

Anyway, that trouble finally
permit me to discover that.

btw, I'm under W7 x64.

;)


Post a reply to this message

Copyright 2003-2008 Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty. Ltd.