POV-Ray : Newsgroups : moray.win : Puzzling... Server Time: 25 Jun 2019 20:03:30 GMT
  Puzzling... (Message 1 to 6 of 6)  
From: Thomas de Groot
Subject: Puzzling...
Date: 22 Aug 2006 07:44:16
Message: <44eab5d0@news.povray.org>
Something has been baffling me for some time now: the use of search paths, 
in particular for plugins. I would like to keep my plugins in a separate 
directory so that I do not have to reload them each individually when - for 
whatever reason - Moray has to be upgraded, re-installed or whatever.

However, this does not work. The plugins never appear that way, only if they 
are in Moray\Plugin directory. If this is normal behaviour, it should not be 
made available in the search paths.

I am not sure, but I seem to remember that other seach paths did not work as 
expected... I don't remember which ones  :-(

Thomas


Post a reply to this message

From: Arne Kleinophorst
Subject: Re: Puzzling...
Date: 22 Aug 2006 08:45:08
Message: <44eac414$1@news.povray.org>
The Plugin-Path is in the registry at:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\SoftTronics\Moray For Windows\Config

For me it's:

C:\Tools\Moray3.5\Plugins\

You might change that, but it seems that moray is not happy with 
different plugins in different folders, if that's what you try to achieve.

Greets
Arne



Thomas de Groot schrieb:
> Something has been baffling me for some time now: the use of search paths, 
> in particular for plugins. I would like to keep my plugins in a separate 
> directory so that I do not have to reload them each individually when - for 
> whatever reason - Moray has to be upgraded, re-installed or whatever.
> 
> However, this does not work. The plugins never appear that way, only if they 
> are in Moray\Plugin directory. If this is normal behaviour, it should not be 
> made available in the search paths.
> 
> I am not sure, but I seem to remember that other seach paths did not work as 
> expected... I don't remember which ones  :-(
> 
> Thomas 
> 
>


Post a reply to this message

From: Thomas de Groot
Subject: Re: Puzzling...
Date: 22 Aug 2006 14:39:11
Message: <44eb170f$1@news.povray.org>
"Arne Kleinophorst" <kle### [at] spamdebitelnet> schreef in bericht 
news:44eac414$1@news.povray.org...
> The Plugin-Path is in the registry at:
>
> HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\SoftTronics\Moray For Windows\Config
>
> For me it's:
>
> C:\Tools\Moray3.5\Plugins\
>
> You might change that, but it seems that moray is not happy with different 
> plugins in different folders, if that's what you try to achieve.
>

Yes indeed, that is what I thought possible, as it seemed suggested by the 
path option.

Thomas


Post a reply to this message

From: Arne Kleinophorst
Subject: Re: Puzzling...
Date: 22 Aug 2006 15:32:35
Message: <44eb2393$1@news.povray.org>
Thomas de Groot schrieb:
> "Arne Kleinophorst" <kle### [at] spamdebitelnet> schreef in bericht 
> news:44eac414$1@news.povray.org...
>> The Plugin-Path is in the registry at:
>>
>> HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\SoftTronics\Moray For Windows\Config
>>
>> For me it's:
>>
>> C:\Tools\Moray3.5\Plugins\
>>
>> You might change that, but it seems that moray is not happy with different 
>> plugins in different folders, if that's what you try to achieve.
>>
> 
> Yes indeed, that is what I thought possible, as it seemed suggested by the 
> path option.
> 
> Thomas 
> 
> 

AFAIK this is only possible for the scenes, textures, objects.

However, after another look at the Registry, where all the paths are 
stored in the file selector, it might be possible. You could try to 
enter multiple paths there, but I'm not sure how Moray will handle them.

Greets
Arne


Post a reply to this message

From: Lutz Kretzschmar
Subject: Re: Puzzling...
Date: 22 Aug 2006 16:13:20
Message: <m5bme21icv9tjhmaev8sc8c91qv5p9119c@4ax.com>
Hi Thomas de Groot, you recently wrote in moray.win:

> Something has been baffling me for some time now: the use of search paths, 
> in particular for plugins. I would like to keep my plugins in a separate 
> directory so that I do not have to reload them each individually when - for 
> whatever reason - Moray has to be upgraded, re-installed or whatever.
Yes, the plugin path is handled slightly differently. 

If you want just one search path, you need to set it in View >
Configuration > Advanced > Directory to search for Plugin DLLs.

You can use multiple search paths, but you have to edit the registry
for that. Edit the PluginsPath string in
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\SoftTronics\Moray For Windows Beta\Config
and seperate search paths by semicolons. I think that should work.
I have no idea why I put plugins in the search path.... but I think I
had a good reason at the time :-)

- Lutz
  email : lut### [at] stmuccom
  Web   : http://www.stmuc.com/moray


Post a reply to this message

From: Thomas de Groot
Subject: Re: Puzzling...
Date: 23 Aug 2006 06:48:44
Message: <44ebfa4c@news.povray.org>
"Lutz Kretzschmar" <lut### [at] stmuccom> schreef in bericht 
news:m5bme21icv9tjhmaev8sc8c91qv5p9119c@4ax.com...
>
> If you want just one search path, you need to set it in View >
> Configuration > Advanced > Directory to search for Plugin DLLs.
>
> You can use multiple search paths, but you have to edit the registry
> for that. Edit the PluginsPath string in
> HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\SoftTronics\Moray For Windows Beta\Config
> and seperate search paths by semicolons. I think that should work.
> I have no idea why I put plugins in the search path.... but I think I
> had a good reason at the time :-)
>

Thanks Lutz and Arne!
This answers completely my puzzle. I had not thought about the registry 
editing as the only alternative. But that being said, would it be possible 
to include the possibility to activate plugins from different directories in 
a future Moray version? I would appreciate that :-)

Thomas


Post a reply to this message

Copyright 2003-2008 Persistence of Vision Raytracer Pty. Ltd.